€149.63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 31 Aug 2014 Check-out 1 Sep 2014

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

5 stars
176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
119 reviews
Being a tourist in your own city...

Sometimes it's just nice to enjoy the views that Sydney has to offer. And what better place than... See full review

  • m00f
  • 27 Jul 2014
Most Enjoyable Weekend.

Arriving at the Shangri-La on Friday afternoon about 5pm we were given our key and we preceded to... See full review

  • Maxine Weekend Traveller
  • 7 Jul 2014
Asian-influenced pampering in The Rocks

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney introduces hotel patrons to the best the city has to offer. Rooms at Shangri-La afford spectacular views of Darling Harbour and the Sydney Opera House. The hotel is a top choice for global celebrities, discerning business travelers and honeymooners who enjoy the hotel's award-winning service, Pacific Rim cuisine and posh Easter-influenced spa. Sizeable suites are unforgettable.

Highlights
  • Rooms look out on Sydney Opera House
  • Award-winning Altitude Restaurant
  • Top-notch CHI Spa
Rooms

Shangri-La's 563 spacious guest quarters frame Darling Harbour or the Sydney Opera House, making them the most coveted in the city. Interiors rely on views for inspiration while delivering subtle extravagances. Plush beds with velvet throws, thick duvets and violet pillows promise deluxe rest. All rooms offer a pillow menu, full-size executive writing desk and free Wi-Fi.  

 

Features

Guests who stay at Shangri-La will have no doubt they are at a five-star hotel.  Evenings draw Sydney's most affluent residents to the Altitude Restaurant and Blu Horizon Bar on the hotel's 36th floor. Harbour views are perfect for champagne sipping.  Dine on cured southern bluefin tuna with celeriac remoulade and other fresh seafood selections. Shangri-La's casual Cafe Mix and Lobby Lounge serve three meals daily to downtown workers and hungry sightseers.

 

CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La bases its harmonious treatments on Asian philosophies, aiming to heal the mind and spirit. Visit the health club and indoor swimming pool to revitalize.

 

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking facilities (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Monorail Station Darling Drive (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sydney Airport (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
Attractions
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Paddington Markets (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Business center with secretarial services, fax and copying capabilities (fees apply)
  • Meeting facilities with high-tech equipment and features
Policies and Fees
Levels 30-35 of the hotel will be under renovation from 01 Aug until late October. The lobby and the entrance area will also undergo renovation from late July to mid-September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney Rooms

Executive Darling Harbour
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 24th-29th floors, face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region and are between 40-50 sqm in size.
Executive Opera City View
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Opera House City View Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms, located on the 24th-29th floors, are between 40-50 sqm and face East towards Circular Quay, the city and the Sydney Opera House.
Executive Grand Harbour
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room features breathtaking views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the 24th - 29th floor. Room size varies between 45-50 sqm.
Grand Harbour Suite
Experience our newly refurbished Executive Grand Harbour Suite complete with Wifi, media hub facilities with access to the Horizon Club Lounge. The room is 83 square meters and features a 270 degree view of Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Darling Harbour.
Horizon Club Darling
These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region from levels 30-35 of the hotel. Each room comes with access to the Horizon Club Lounge which includes continental breakfast, evening drinks and canapes served between 6-8pm.
Deluxe Opera House City View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Opera House City Rooms INCLUSIVE of Complimentary internet access. These rooms face East towards Circular Quay, the city and Sydney Opera House.
Deluxe Darling Harbour View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Darling Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. These rooms face West towards Darling Harbour and the Blue Mountains region.
Deluxe Grand Harbour View
Experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Grand Harbour Rooms INCLUSIVE of complimentary internet access. Each room faces north and features views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and The Rocks area. These rooms are 45 to 50 square meters in size.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8614 151.2064
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Perfectly located in the historic rocks district overlooking Sydney's most famous icons - the Sydney opera house and harbour bridge. The hotel is within walking distance of the central business district and close to major tourist attractions/ restaurants/ shopping and transport facilities. Major Attractions : Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Botanical Garden, Sky Tower, Circular Quay, Sydney Museum, National Maritime Musem, Powerhouse Museum Activities: Bridge Climb, Sky Walk, Ghost Tours.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Observatory: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 km
  • Customs House: 0.4 km
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.5 km
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.6 km
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 km
  • General Post Office: 0.7 km
  • Government House: 0.8 km
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 km
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.9 km
  • Parliament House: 0.9 km
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.9 km
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.9 km
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 km
  • Sydney Mint: 1 km
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 km
  • Customs House: 0.4 km
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.5 km
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.6 km
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 km
  • General Post Office: 0.7 km
  • Government House: 0.8 km
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 km
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.9 km
  • Parliament House: 0.9 km
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.9 km
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.9 km
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 km
  • Sydney Mint: 1 km
  • Sydney Tower: 1 km
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.1 km
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.1 km
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.1 km
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.2 km
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 km
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 km
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.3 km
  • Great Synagogue: 1.3 km
  • Star City Casino: 1.3 km
  • Town Hall: 1.4 km
  • IMAX Theater: 1.5 km
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.5 km
  • Australian Museum: 1.6 km
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.6 km
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.7 km
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.7 km
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.8 km
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.9 km
  • Powerhouse Museum: 2 km
  • Capitol Theatre: 2 km
  • El Alamein Fountain: 2.1 km
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2.1 km
  • Belmore Park: 2.2 km
  • University of Technology: 2.5 km
  • Wentworth Park: 3 km
  • University of Sydney: 3.4 km
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 3.5 km
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 3.7 km
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 3.8 km

Dining

Blu Horizon Bar
An attraction in its own right, the New York-inspired Blu Horizon Bar exudes urban sophistication. This exclusive cocktail lounge is located high above the city with panoramic views of Darling Harbour, The Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.
Altitude Restaurant
From traditional pub dining along the streets of Sydney's historic Rocks district to superlative experiences at Altitude restaurant on level 36, dining at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney offers a delicious sampling of Australia's culinary past.The floor to ceiling windows at Altitude restaurant allow diners to enjoy the most outstanding Harbour views of any Sydney Restaurant as an appropriate accompaniment to the finest contemporary Australian cuisine. A 16 person private dining room is available for more intimate gatherings.
Cafe Mix
Cafe Mix offers freshly prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets with a selection on Indian, Japanese, Australian, Italian, Chinese, Thai and Malay cuisines and an extensive fresh seafood buffet. A la carte dining is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frquent Travelllerr
Washington, DC
4 Aug 2014

Nice, but poorly trained staff

Room was nice, as to be expected. Wait time checking in and checking out was unacceptably long (10+ minutes). Staff, although very nice, forgot or mixed up drink orders multiple times when dining in the "club." Pool smelled of chlorine horribly-- worse than any public pool ever visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m00f
Sydney, NSW
27 Jul 2014

Being a tourist in your own city...

Sometimes it's just nice to enjoy the views that Sydney has to offer. And what better place than the Shangri-la. Trouble free stay topped off by a lovely meal at Altitude restaurant. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maxine Weekend Traveller
Canberra
7 Jul 2014

Most Enjoyable Weekend.

Arriving at the Shangri-La on Friday afternoon about 5pm we were given our key and we preceded to the Grand Harbour View Room on the 23rd floor. The room and separate bathroom were very clean and from the moment we walked in the views blew us away.Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay and all the water Just breathtaking.From this as our base we walked to the Rocks Markets on Saturday lunch time then walked into the city and did some shopping. We never had to use our car the whole time we were there we were able to walk everywhere. Plenty of Cafes and Bars aound this area. All so handy We loved it had a great weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Quay and jump on a ferry and take a trip across the Harbour to Manly or take a ferry to Darling Harbour. The Shangri-La is so central to everything.Walk around the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Get Away
Sydney Australia
1 Jul 2014

Wonderful Harbour Views

To get the best views you will have to book a Grand Harbour view room or above. The rooms are very spacious with a great bathroom, unfortunately the bed I had was not very comfortable, the mattress needs replacing in room 1911. The restaurant on level 36 (Altitude) has magnificent views, it is a pity the service & food is not of the standard expected of a fine dining establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Sydney for a wonderful dining experience. In customs house on Alfred Street Circular Quay.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuzzyBuster
Adelaide
16 Jun 2014

Faultless

An amazing stay. Faultless. Personalised, fast service. And the only hotel that didn't charge us extra for having a third person stay in our room. The Harbour View rooms are absolutely worth the money. An unparralleled view of one of the most amazing harbours in the world. Slpurge. It's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete from Cronulla
Cronulla, NSW, Australia
14 Jun 2014

Perfect ending to a great night out

The room, the location, the view - just fantastic !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to stay if you are dining at Quay

Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marlon NYC
New York City
12 Jun 2014

Five stars all the way

Great view of the opera house. Excellent prompt service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wiraat
Sydney
25 May 2014

GREAT LOCATION AND AMAZING VIEW

GREAT LOCATION AND AMAZING VIEW FROM EXECUTIVE GRAND HARBOUR SUITE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snapper
Sydney
8 May 2014

Fabulous

I was met by a very friendly lady at reception who decided to upgrade us to the Executive Level. The room was large and had everything you could need. We went to the Blu Bar and the views were amazing, service great and prices were good for a place like this. We had dinner at their Altitude Restaurant. Wow the views cannot get any better than this. The food is not cheap as we picked the degustation but it was sensational; extensive wine list and impeccable service. Great for a special ocassion. I did not have breakfast or try the spa so can't comment on that. Check out was a breeze. Overall there is nothing I could fault about this place and we had a fabulous time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louie Louington
Business
Country NSW Australia
24 Apr 2014

Once again excellent!

Arrived early in the morning with a work colleague, expecting to just drop off our bags, and we given our room straight away. We did ask to change rooms because we needed a different bed configuration and this was done immediately with our bags moved for us. The front of house staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Given great directions for some sightseeing and helpful transport info. Had drinks at the bar which were terrific and breakfast was very well stocked with great variety and staff were happy to help with special requests. I have stayed here previously but the service this time was the best of all my visits. The location, views and beds make the Shangri-La a truly wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sailors Thai in The Rocks.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes