€60.02 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 17 May 2014 Check-out 18 May 2014

Astor House Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
No.15 Huangpu Road,shanghai, Shanghai, 200080
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
11 reviews
A great stay in a classic bit of history

I chose this hotel because of its history, reputation and value, and I was not disappointed.... See full review

  • Gandalf13
  • 31 Oct 2013
Good location

Were offered an upgrade for an extra £60 which we accepted and very pleased we did. Had a view over... See full review

  • Glam
  • 25 Oct 2013
North Bund architectural gem where history is an added attraction

This North Bund landmark opened its doors in 1857 and played a prominent role in Shanghai's development into a bustling port city in the early 1900s. The six-story hotel boasted the city's first electric lights (1882) and phone call (1901) and hosted such dignitaries as Albert Einstein and Charlie Chaplin. Today the neoclassical Baroque building attracts history and architecture buffs as well as travelers who value the prime location across the Waibaidu Bridge from the Bund.

Highlights
  • Historic and architectural gem in Shanghai
  • Three-minute walk to the Bund across Waibaidu Bridge
  • Attractive Bund views -- especially at night -- from top-floor rooms
Rooms

The 130 rooms measure from 269 to 538 square feet and include laptop-sized safe, minibar, and high-speed Internet. Deluxe rooms best capture the hotel's historic charm thanks to wooden floors, carved moldings, and high ceilings. Higher-floor rooms enjoy attractive views of the Bund, especially at night.

Features

Richard's Restaurant and Bar serves an impressive breakfast buffet and specializes in Huaiyang and Sichuan fare at lunch and dinner. A coffee bar is also available. Guests can get a beauty treatment on site or take advantage of in-room massage service. Other recreational facilities include a dancing hall and chess room. A travel desk can help guests book city tours or plane tickets.

Transportation
  • Pudong International Airport (28.8 mi/48 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (12.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Airport shuttle available
  • Nearest subway station: Tiantong Road station on Line 10 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • The Bund (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • People's Square (1.8 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Grand Hall holds up to 80 people

Astor House Hotel Shanghai Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
The room offers 1 double bed or two single beds with amenities like high-speed internet access(surcharge), multi-line phone, voice mail, cable/satellite TV, DVD player, minibar, turndown service, bathrobes and slippers and window opens.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
The room offers 1 queen bed with Classic décor with antique-style furniture, and windows that open. The room amenities rae Satellite TV with premium channels such as CNN and ESPN, DVD player, fax machine and computer.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
The room offers 1 King bed with Classic décor with antique-style furniture, and windows that open. Satellite TV with premium channels such as CNN and ESPN. DVD player. Fax machine and computer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astor House Hotel Shanghai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

31.244 121.4918
Area served
Shanghai.
Nearby airports
Pudong International Airport:60 KM
Area description
Shanghai Bund 0 Mi/0 Km,Shanghai Center 4 Mi/6 Km,Shanghai City Center 2 Mi/3 Km,Shanghai Government House 2 Mi/3 Km,
Shanghai Grand Theatre 2 Mi/3 Km,Shangai Intl Trade Ctr 7 Mi/11 Km,Shanghai Mart 7 Mi/11 Km,The Bund 0 Mi/0 Km
Shanghai Museum 2 Mi/3 Km,Shanghai Nanjing Toil 1 Mi/1.5 Km,Shanghai Opera House 1 Mi/1.5 Km,Shanghai Railway Stn 3 Mi/5 Km

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.6 km
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.7 km
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.2 km
  • Bund Museum: 1.2 km
  • The Bund: 1.2 km
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 1.3 km
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.5 km
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.9 km
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 2.1 km
  • People`s Square: 2.2 km
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 2.3 km
  • Longhua Temple: 2.3 km
  • French Concession: 2.3 km
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 2.4 km
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 2.5 km
  • General Post Office Building: 0.6 km
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.7 km
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.2 km
  • Bund Museum: 1.2 km
  • The Bund: 1.2 km
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 1.3 km
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.5 km
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.9 km
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 2.1 km
  • People`s Square: 2.2 km
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 2.3 km
  • Longhua Temple: 2.3 km
  • French Concession: 2.3 km
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 2.4 km
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 2.5 km
  • Shanghai Museum: 2.5 km
  • Lu Xun Park: 2.6 km
  • City God Temple: 2.8 km
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 3 km
  • Nanjing Road: 3.8 km
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 3.9 km
  • Eastlink Gallery: 4.1 km
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 4.6 km
  • Taikang Lu: 4.6 km
  • Jing'an Temple: 4.9 km
  • Black Apple Gallery: 4.9 km
  • Jing An District: 5 km
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 5.3 km
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 5.6 km
  • Shanghai Expo: 5.9 km
  • Xiang Yang Market: 6 km
  • Shanghai Zoo: 7.3 km
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 7.5 km
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 7.6 km
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 7.9 km
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 9.1 km
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 12.2 km
  • Gubei: 14.9 km
  • Hongqiao: 14.9 km
  • Minghang: 18 km
  • She Shan Basilica: 32.9 km

Dining

The Richard's Coffee Bar
The Richard's Coffee Bar located in the lobby is also well designed for drinks and meals and another choice for business meetings
The Richard's Restaurant
The Richard's Restaurant in the baroque style has a long history, which was special in Shanghai. The restaurant has many fine chefs experienced not only in Shanghainese cuisine but also many other cuisines. The restaurant has a Grand Hall which can
accommodate 22 tables and has 7 private rooms - the perfect place for business dinners, gatherings, weddings and birthday parties.The Richard's Bar with its nostalgic flavour is ideal place for meeting friends and tea-tasting occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

4.1 / 5
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
one of many williams
Business
NYC
15 Nov 2013

be sure they give you a quiet room

amidst modern 21st century Shanghai wonderful feel of old colonial-era hotel and steps to the Bund, helpful staff -- but old windows, noisy traffic -- be absolutely sure your room will be quiet at night. You may need to change room from reserved one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the hop on-hop off bus. it covers three routes and allows great intro to major attractions.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
Gandalf13
Business
Mesa, AZ
31 Oct 2013

A great stay in a classic bit of history

I chose this hotel because of its history, reputation and value, and I was not disappointed. beautiful rooms, spacious bathrooms, a feeling of being in a part of history surrounds you. My only negative was the prices on coffee in the lobby cafe. I think $8 for a double espresso was a bit usurious; the coffee was good, but not that good. I did not eat the breakfast, so can't comment. The bed was a bit hard, but I survived it! I would most definitely recommend this one of a kind hotel in Shanghai, and will return again anytime I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
Glam
Wiltshire UK
25 Oct 2013

Good location

Were offered an upgrade for an extra £60 which we accepted and very pleased we did. Had a view over the Garden Bridge to the Bund. The room was very big and had very comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. Staff very helpful. The hotel is in a very convenient location for the Bund and the ferry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the hop off hop on City tour bus.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
Day1tripper
Montreal, Canada
23 Oct 2013

Needs some work

Based on previous reviews I was expecting more from this hotel--I think it may have had something to do with the fact that we had a "deluxe" room instead of a "executive" room. The worst thing was when we checked in we were told that the room we had booked was very small and not very good, but luckily they had an special offer for a better room for 50% more than the room we had booked. The area of the hotel that we were in was quite dirty, dark, and had spare furniture and junk stored in the hallway. The staff weren't very eager to help, and didn't seem to take pride in their hotel. The entrance was always blocked with vehicles and equipment. The bathroom was modern but the bath had lots of mildew. The only good thing was the close proximity to the Bund and Pudong. For the price, I would have stayed at a Western-run hotel a bit further away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
Mark60
Business
Brisbane
20 Oct 2013

Great location

We got an upgrade which was fantastic. Huge room. Only thing was it was a little noisy. Room was huge and had everything you need. 5 minutes to the Bund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Small bar around the corner is great value.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
Zootpat
Las Vegas, Nevada
23 Jun 2013

great place in Shanghai

Great location, nice staff, classic architecture, historic building, a step back in time with amenities! Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bund is a short walk over the bridge and it is an extraordinary walk in the evening hours

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
Andy from Texas
Houston, Texas
3 May 2013

Great Historic Hotel right off the Bund

This was a great hotel, big room, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. The Hotel is well over 100 years old so it has a nice historic feel including wooden floors in the rooms so don't expect a modern western hotel room. We arrived in Shanghai very early in the morning without much sleep and they allowed us to check-in before 8am without any hesitation or any additional charge, they even made our beds in the afternoon after we napped and then went sightseeing. The location is great just over the bridge from the Bund and easy walking distance to Nanjing road, and the metro which can take you all over the city. The walk from the closest metro station is a little long with luggage (we learned this the hard way) so if you are coming in from Pudong airport on the Maglev I recommend taking a taxi to the hotel it is only about 45RMB ($9.00USD) it will save you time and a lot of hassle trying to lug your luggage all over the crowded metro. Overall it is a great hotel at a great value. definitely a 4 star experience. I will stay there again next time I am in Shanghai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
Pic Dubois
Baltimore
29 Jan 2011

Oldest Hotel in China

An incredible breakfast buffet, high Victorian ceilings, pleasant staff and conveniently located. Room was very warm but public areas and lobby were chilly in January. Our room had no view but a quick duck outside rewarded one with all the view you could want

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
14 Sep 2010

Outstanding Location

Attended the EXPO and explored Shanghai. Other than the heat and humidity, it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bund is the best place in Shanghai

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
21 Jun 2010

Amazing Historical Hotel in Shanghai

I was surprised on how luxurious this hotel is, for a hotel that existed since 1846. Lots of Famous Historical people had stayed here when they visisted Shanghai. Friendly, Knowledgable, and Curteous Staffs. I was able to get a relaxing massage in the middle of the night. Rooms are spacious, it's definately worth the price of the room. Great Location, just off the river boardwalk where lots of joyful people celebrating their stay in Shanghai. Security is most excellent, inside and out, of the hotel. You can go out and enjoy the city in the middle of the night without any worries. Definately recommending anyone to stay here if this is your first time visiting Shanghai or returning for the wonderful culture that Shanghai has to offer. I would definately stay here again when I return to Shanghai next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes