€110.15 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 16 Nov 2014 Check-out 17 Nov 2014

The Square Hotel Copenhagen

4 stars
Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen, 1550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Great Location.

There is construction in The Square across the street (not the hotel) for the next couple of years,... See full review

  • Married to a Dane
  • 2 Oct 2013
cruise europe 2013

Wonderful! Soft bed after a very hard bed on the cruise. Nice Shower, hot water, and solid... See full review

  • KittyInFlorida
  • 31 May 2013
Sleek and chic Danish design on the city square
Airy open spaces and plenty of light fill The Square Hotel Copenhagen, set on the hopping City Hall Square, the "Radhuspladsen." Appealingly urban top to bottom, the white lobby invites conversation in square furniture punctuated by a Copenhagen icon: egg chairs in lipstick red. Wander off to museums, the harbor, the pedestrian shopping street, jazz cafes or the famous Tivoli, all nearby. Opt for a buffet breakfast on the sixth floor overlooking the roofs of the city (fees apply), then step outside to catch a bus to the zoo or a train to Sweden.
Highlights

  • Modern lodging on the city square, walking distance to top attractions
  • Free Internet access throughout The Square Hotel Copenhagen
  • Bike rentals and breakfast buffet on-site (fees apply)
  • About 15 minutes from the airport by train and a five-minute walk from the railway station

Rooms
The hotel scheme of warm dark woods, deep reds and bright white carries throughout the 267 stylish rooms at The Square Hotel Copenhagen. Fans of modern Danish design feel at ease in smoking or nonsmoking rooms with a hair-dryer, a flat-screen cable TV, a desk, a telephone, a minibar and air-conditioning. Superior rooms are more spacious, some with a sofa. Executive rooms offer enviable views of the city square, while suites add robes, slippers, a coffee-maker and an MP3 player. Enjoy Internet access on the house at The Square Hotel Copenhagen.
Features

Trendy and attractive, The Square Hotel Copenhagen has multiple wins in the category of "Denmark's Leading Boutique Hotel" from the World Travel Awards. The hotel also boasts a Green Key certification for environmentally friendly efforts. Request dry cleaning and laundry service on weekdays and use an underground parking garage nearby (fees apply). Use express checkout directly from the room to ensure a swift departure.

Transportation

  • Copenhagen Central Station trains (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Malmo Airport, Sweden (40.8 mi/65.7 km)
  • Angelholm-Helsingborg Airport, Sweden (55.7 mi/89.6 km)

Attractions

  • Tivoli Concert Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Tivoli Gardens (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Danish Design Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek sculpture museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum of Denmark (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Stroget shopping promenade (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Nyhavn waterfront district (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

Business

  • Free Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Lobby computer with Internet access and printer
  • Fax and copy services at the front desk (fees apply)
  • Flexible meeting rooms at the top of the hotel feature city views for up to 20 people

The Square Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Room
The Square Hotel has three types of standard rooms; single, double and twin. The equipment in the rooms is the same, however the size of the beds are different. The single holds a 110 cm wide single beds, The double room holds 1 double bed and the twin room holds 2 twin (single) beds. To request a twin or double room please contact the hotel directly. Also, inform the hotel if extra bed for 3 guests is needed. All rooms are non-smoking.
Superior Room
The Square Hotel has three types of superior rooms; single, double and twin. The superior rooms are bigger than the standard rooms, few with sofa arrangement, which makes it possible to put in an extra bed. The equipment in the rooms is the same but in the double/twin room there is bathtub in the bathroom. The single room holds a 140 cm wide bed. The double room holds 1 double bed and the twin room holds 1 twin bed(2 single beds). To request a twin or double room please contact the hotel directly. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room

Hotel Map

55.6762 12.5669
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 8.6 km, Sturup (MMX) 52.9 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 71.2 km.

Nearby points of interest

  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 km
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.4 km
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.4 km
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.5 km
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.5 km
  • National Museum: 0.5 km
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 km
  • Library Garden: 0.6 km
  • DGI-byen: 0.7 km
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.7 km
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.7 km
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.8 km
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.8 km
  • City Hall Square: 0.9 km
  • Stroget: 1 km
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 km
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.4 km
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.4 km
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.5 km
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.5 km
  • National Museum: 0.5 km
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 km
  • Library Garden: 0.6 km
  • DGI-byen: 0.7 km
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.7 km
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.7 km
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.8 km
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.8 km
  • City Hall Square: 0.9 km
  • Stroget: 1 km
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 1.1 km
  • Indre By: 1.1 km
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 1.2 km
  • Rosenborg Palace: 1.3 km
  • Kongens Nytorv: 1.3 km
  • The David Collection: 1.4 km
  • Charlottenborg: 1.4 km
  • Amalienborg: 1.5 km
  • Islands Brygge: 1.5 km
  • Dyrehaven: 1.6 km
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1.6 km
  • The Marble Church: 1.7 km
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1.7 km
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.8 km
  • Fælledparken: 1.8 km
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.9 km
  • Vestamager: 2 km
  • Christiania: 2.2 km
  • Osterport: 2.2 km
  • University of Copenhagen: 2.2 km
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 2.2 km
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 2.3 km
  • Botanical Garden: 2.5 km
  • Indre Osterbro: 2.6 km
  • Little Mermaid: 2.6 km
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 2.8 km
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 2.8 km
  • Parken Stadium: 3 km
  • Frederiks Bastion: 3 km
  • Valby: 3.9 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
In the centre of the Town Hall Square, in the centre of Copenhagen and in the centre of everything. The Square is situated at Copenhagen's most central square. At the top of the hotel The Square have 2 exclusive meeting rooms, each with room for 20 participants. The meeting rooms have a lovely view over Copenhagen. Enjoy the meeting in exclusive and calm surrondings in the heart of Copenhagen.

Dining

Restaurant
Our unique breakfast restaurant, that serves cold continental breakfast, is noted for its crafty use of daylight and spectacular view of the city's rooftops is located on the sixth floor. Two flexible meeting rooms with space for 20 people all with modern A/V equipment and wireless internet, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Square Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcelo Nobrega
Business
Chicago, IL
5 Nov 2013

They turned me away

I arrived in Denmark with a prepaid reservation at the Square Hotel, through this very website. When I attempted to check-in, I listened incredulous as they told me that although they could see my prepaid reservations, they had no rooms for me. No explanations. They sent me to another hotel much farther away, and a much cheaper hotel. I have traveled hundreds of times, and had never experienced this. I strongly discourage making reservations at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
newbie
Business
USA
14 Sep 2011

they sent us to another hotel

after traveling for 30 hours.. and booking ahead 8 months... The Square Hotel told us they had over booked ! They did provide a taxi, a nice hotel and a bottle of wine, but the new hotel was way on the outskirts of Copenhagen! We would probably not book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the City Square is the place to be...lots to see and close to many attractions & shopping

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denmark00
Business
Gardnerville, Nevada
6 Jul 2012

The Square Hotel Copenhagen

The lobby and rooms are very clean and the employees are OK. They try, but seems they really lack the training they need. They should take a few lessons from the Radisson, where they are the closest thing to perfection I have ever seen. We had room mix ups, bed mix ups, three times before they got it. Stale sour Tuborg beer in lobby. I don't know if it was cleaner or what in lines but horrible. Elevator doors had to be opened by hand and were very heavy and hard to open with luggage or anything in hands. Rooms were very hot on average Copenhagen night and you cannot sleep with all the noise below without ear plugs. All in all. Not a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland - USA
13 Jun 2010

Not so great

Bed was really soft. Went with a girlfriend and we had to share a bed (didn't have any room w/2single beds). Air conditioning was really just air circulation and didn't work very well. The entire hotel was warm. So we kept our windows open but we were right downtown and all night we heard, police sirens, ambulance sirens, screeching cars and loud motorcycles, not to mention all the people talking and yelling. Didn't get any sleep. Did complain and they didn't charge us for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach, FL
4 Nov 2009

good location small rooms

I came for business/pleasure- The bad part was my room was really small, and looked over an alley...I wouldnt classify it as a 4 star hotel. There is no restaurant and you have to pay like 150dkk for breakfast... Mostly I just went to the cafe on the corner under the hotel. The staff were good but they tend to come into the room whenever they please...being very jet lagged I was not impressed to have staff coming in at least 3 or 4 times the next day to check the minibar, etc. The privacy factor was at a poor level. The good part is it is very well located, clean, and the front desk was quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroget...Amazing shopping

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk
31 Aug 2010

City center location

convenient central location for many attractions and public transport links however this is a noisy area with music and other events in the city square outside until late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of good places to eat just outside the hotel. We had a great day at Copenhagen zoo, the bus stop is across the road from the hotel.

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John and Beth
Business
Florida
1 Aug 2012

Post cruise stay

Overall a fair experience. Location is convenient to Tivoli and the train station. After visiting Copenhagen, we would prefer something in the Kongens Nytorv area. Room was cramped. Difficult with two suitcases. I had to carry my wife's across the foot of the bed due to narrowness of room. Mattress was so soft and unstable I didn't dare move. Only provided comforter, no sheet so you are either too warm or cold. We discovered that getting an in room coffee service required an upgrade. Free wi-fi is available, but only in lobby or breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyG300z
Business
San Diego, California
30 Sep 2012

The Square Copenhagen

Hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from the Copenhagen train station and across from Tivoli Gardens and the Town Hall. Room was small and wish they had a coffee maker in the room. 7-11 at the corner so that took care of my caffeine needs. Convenient to metro stations and bus lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Copenhagen Pass, great deal for Airport train, Metro, Bus, Trains, Canal boat tours and lots of attractions including Tivoli Gardens

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cyrus2
Business
somewhere in Kansas
23 Aug 2013

A mold problem?

Distant staff and possible mold problem as well as an air system that caused a mild strep throat. The building may have bad air. Anyone with allergies or having had a chronic mold infection (as I have had) would be advised to go elsewhere. Elevators a long way from main desk so one feels apart from the hotel staff. No breakfast, which is silly considering the establishment's high rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent organic eatery just up the street from the hotel. Delicious, nutritious food and lots of greens--something that one rarely gets at most Danish restaurants that seem only to be able to prepare some version of pork, potatoes, gravy, and bread. Don't go to restaurant in Copenhagen library--much too expensive and the food is to be looked at but not very tasty.

Review of The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick quick
Business
Northern California
17 Sep 2013

Small but nice

The location is not bad, close to the town square. I upgraded the room $25/night to a Queen size bed (Double), and the room is still a little small. The bathroom is small, and I don't know why the bath tub is so high. It's difficult for me to climb in. I guess everything in Copenhagen is expensive, and that's what you'd get for they consider 4 star hotel. For American standard, this is a 3.5 star hotel. There weren't too many TV channel selections. The hotel breakfast is so so. Too bad the hotel restaurant does not serve dinner. There is a nice small supermarket 1 block across the street on the right (the big glass building). The Palace Hotel 2 blocks away has much better breakfast. Next time, I will probably try the Nihaven (?) area. Hint: order the taxi cab 20 to 25 min ahead of time. It's difficult to get a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

17 Nihaven (I think that's the spelling)

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes