€200.23 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Sep 2015 Check-out 10 Sep 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
220 reviews
End of our Tour d' Europa

After spending three weeks in Airbnb places (which were great) we decided to splurge and stay at... See full review

  • Doc M.
  • 31 Aug 2015
Beautiful Building, Excellent Service

This is not the kind of hotel that attracts your rowdy stag do parties, which for me was a bonus.... See full review

  • Rachel
  • 31 Aug 2015
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
General

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Location
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Dining
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Property features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Nearby attractions
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms
Transportation

Classic Amsterdam landmark as elegant and lovely as the city itself

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam location and nearby area

Recommended hotels

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

★★★★
€118
4.0 / 5 58 customer reviews
★★★★
€161
3.9 / 5 68 customer reviews
★★★★★
€174
4.1 / 5 113 customer reviews
★★★★
€169
3.8 / 5 49 customer reviews
★★★★
€127
4.2 / 5 87 customer reviews
★★★★
€190
4.3 / 5 71 customer reviews
★★★★★
€139
4.0 / 5 56 customer reviews
★★★★★
€319
4.6 / 5 14 customer reviews
★★★★
€137
3.8 / 5 84 customer reviews
★★★★★
€196
4.2 / 5 52 customer reviews
★★★★
€199
4.3 / 5 12 customer reviews
★★★★★
€254
5.0 / 5 1 customer reviews

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 km
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 km
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 km
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 km
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 km
  • Waag: 0.3 km
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 km
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 km
  • Old Church: 0.4 km
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 km
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.4 km
  • Red Light District: 0.4 km
  • International Institute of Social History: 0.5 km
  • Central Station: 0.5 km
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.5 km
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 km
  • Schreierstoren: 0.2 km
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 km
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 km
  • Erotic Museum: 0.3 km
  • Waag: 0.3 km
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.4 km
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 km
  • Old Church: 0.4 km
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 km
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.4 km
  • Red Light District: 0.4 km
  • International Institute of Social History: 0.5 km
  • Central Station: 0.5 km
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.5 km
  • Sex Museum: 0.5 km
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.5 km
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 km
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.6 km
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.6 km
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.6 km
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.6 km
  • East India House: 0.6 km
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.6 km
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.6 km
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.7 km
  • Markenplein: 0.7 km
  • Bimhuis: 0.7 km
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.7 km
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.7 km
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.7 km
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.7 km
  • Waterlooplein: 0.7 km
  • Wonder Wood: 0.7 km
  • National Monument: 0.7 km
  • Dam Square: 0.8 km
  • The narrowest house: 0.8 km
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.8 km
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.8 km
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.8 km
  • Droog: 0.8 km
  • New Church: 0.8 km
  • Stopera: 0.9 km
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.9 km
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.9 km

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.
Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
14:00
Check-out:
12:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

  • * includes taxes

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc M.
Couples
Boone
31 Aug 2015

End of our Tour d' Europa

After spending three weeks in Airbnb places (which were great) we decided to splurge and stay at the Amrath. Easy walking distance to anything you would want to see in Amsterdam. We didn't use the hotel restaurant/bar area as there were many choices nearby and right across from the canal. First room we were put into had refrigerator issues, so we were booked into a better room at the same rate (the free stocked wet bar is nice, too). Pool, spa, hot tub are very nice and the front desk staff had many discount coupons for any place we needed to travel. We're already planning a trip back next summer and will stay at the Amrath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel
Single
N/A
31 Aug 2015

Beautiful Building, Excellent Service

This is not the kind of hotel that attracts your rowdy stag do parties, which for me was a bonus. If you want to stay in some faceless chain, then go for it but if you want a treat in an incredibly beautiful and interesting building with spa then this is the one. It's in a great location - only a short walk from the station, plus the station is the transport hub for all the trams so it's easy to get everywhere with a travel pass, and only a ten minute walk from the hotel to all the shops and most of the attractions and restaurants, via a nice walk through the beautiful canals. The staff went above and beyond to provide excellent service - when I arrived I was so tired I managed to leave my bag with all my money, my professional camera equipment and my passport in the hotel lobby but Tyisha from reception realised it was mine and hunted me down to return it, and Glenson from concierge gave me an impromptu guided tour of the hotel's best features to help me take interesting photographs as I love architecture photography. Although it's a beautiful quirky old building, the bathrooms and spa are all modern and spotlessly clean - no ageing grout or broken tiles here and the most luxurious deep bath I've ever had! The beds are incredibly comfortable too. All the staff are friendly and care about doing a good job. If I stay in Amsterdam again I would choose this gorgeous hotel every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NICOLA
Couples
N/A
30 Aug 2015

AMAZING HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION

WE STAYED AT THE GRAND AMRATH FOR 3 NIGHTS FOR OUR 30TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. IT WAS AMAZING. THE ROOM WAS A JUNIOR SUITE AND HUGE WITH COMFORTABLE SOFA, KING SIZE BED AND MODERN BATHROOM. WE ATE OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL AS THERE ARE MANY CAFES AND RESTAURANTS NEARBY, BUT WE DID HAVE HIGH TEA ON OUR LAST DAY WHICH WAS EXCELLENT. WI FI FANTASTIC AND FREE, AND THE STAFF WERE PLEASANT AND HELPFUL. WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonathan f.
Family
N/A
22 Aug 2015

Awesome

Great location service great nice gym rooms very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nardos N.
Couples
N/A
22 Aug 2015

Great hotel. High high ceeling

Very good location , close to train, tram, shopping. High cleaning, big rooms. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarah l.
Couples
MANCHESTER
20 Aug 2015

A pleasant stay

The location was a bit further from the town centre than I'd hoped - no shops or cafés close by. On arrival was immediately offered an upgrade for £25 a night, yet I thought I'd already chosen a good room (deluxe superior in a 5 star hotel??) so I wondered what was wrong with my room. The room was ok, but the at the side of the building and it felt a little like an afterthought to turn it into a bedroom! That said it was clean, comfy and relatively spacious. I didn't eat there. The staff were lovely. A pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maite's advice
Family
N/A
20 Aug 2015

FAMILY TRIP

VERY NICE STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THE POOL IS THE BEST!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas C.
Couples
Fort Worth
19 Aug 2015

first time to Amsterdam

very lovely hotel that I chose mostly due to it's convenience to the central train station. it was much nicer than I expected, we had a very large beautiful canal view room and the staff were all VERY accommodating from the smooth, early check in, the supply of band aids needed for tired, blistered feet, and the concierge going above and beyond helping with phone calls needed for airport transportation. Not one person ever seemed put out to help with any request large or small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gregoriou
Couples
N/A
16 Aug 2015

Was a very good hotel

The hotel was amazing, I will always book here when or if I ever go back To Amsterdam, right in the centre of town and easy to walk to the shops and find your way. The hotel itself was very big and we used the pool sauner as well as jacuzzi, that was a small jacuzzi but it did not bother us. The staff were amazing, always with a friendly smile and hello, the mini bar was free and filled daily with fizzy drinks as well as water and wine, there was a pad on the table were I wrote requests for the staff who read and were happy to fill the fridge with mainly water for example. What I found with the cleanliness is that it was not always 100 as there was a cigarette butt when we walked in the room on the floor. But overall I wou.d recommend this hotel to any one who wants to go to Amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kirk55
Business
N/A
9 Aug 2015

solo business guy

This hotel is situated close to most of the tourist amenities of downtown Amsterdam. It is luxuriously furnished, the art deco adds a lot of charm and character. The hotel's staff are without doubt the best I have encountered and I do a lot of traveling. The hotel's interior can be a bit confusing because it's a converted shipping house. Would I return - maybe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes