€52.67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Jul 2014 Check-out 1 Aug 2014

Sarnic Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:26, Sultanhmet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
JUST RIGHT FOR US

Great location, with superb views of the Blue Mosque (though of course in Istanbul there are superb... See full review

  • Byzantium fans
  • 21 Jul 2013
Friendly well run hotel perfectly placed for main historic sites

Staff very friendly and willing to help. Spent time with us when we first arrived showing us how to... See full review

  • TomW
  • 17 Nov 2012
Charming boutique hotel gets guests cooking

This small hotel is a good base from which to explore one of Istanbul's most historic areas. The Sarnic is just minutes away from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and the Grand Bazaar. The Mosaic Museum and the Basilica Cistern are also within walking distance of the hotel. The Sarnic's building, a mansion constructed in 1915, was transformed into a hotel in 1999. A complete renovation in January 2010 updated floors, curtains, televisions, showers, mattresses, and beds.

Highlights

  • Housed in a mansion built in 1915
  • Turkish cooking class offered in the hotel kitchen
  • Floors, furniture, and other details renovated in January 2010
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and Turkish Delight

Rooms

The former mansion's 21 rooms are decorated with traditional patterns and furniture. Amenities include televisions with international channels, en-suite bathrooms, and air conditioning. Guests, weary from a day of touring or business, enjoy a complimentary treat of Turkish Delight. 

Features

Guests interested in learning to cook Turkish food should reserve a spot in the hotel's cooking class. Classes -- taught in the hotel kitchen -- are limited to 10 students. Students cook a five-course meal together then enjoy the food from the comfort of the hotel's rooftop restaurant. Guests who want to try their new cooking skills at home can buy some of the ingredients at the nearby spice market.

 

The restaurant also serves dinner each night. The menu focuses on Ottoman and classic Turkish cuisine. Guests can sit inside or enjoy food, drinks, and a water pipe on the terrace.

 

The Sarnic is named for a fifth-century Byzantine cistern that sits just behind the hotel. 

Transportation

  • Cankurtaran train station (0.5 mi/0.9 km) 
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Topkapi Palace (0.6 mi/1.0 km)  
  • Hagia Sophia (0.6 mi/1.0 km) 
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.6 mi/1.0 km) 
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (0.8 mi/1.3 km) 
  • Grand Bazaar (1.2 mi/2 km) 
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Galata Tower (3.7 mi/6 km) 
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (4.6 mi/7.4 km) 

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Sarnic Boutique Hotel Rooms

Comfortable Room
The room offers comfortable single with a king size bed or double/twin beds or triple with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Haidryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Room service, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone, Valet service. The hotel has been completely renovated on January 2010, changing floors, curtains, televisions, showers, mattress, beds and other details.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sarnic Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.0038 28.9752
Area served
Sultanahmet (old city),Istanbul
Nearby airports
International Airport: IST Ataturk Airport 15km
Area description
Sarnic Boutique Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sultanahmet - the old peninsula of Istanbul. The Hotel is 2 minutes away from Blue Mosque, 4 minutes away from Haghia Sophia, 10 minutes away from Topkapi Palace, 15 minutes away from Grand Bazaar, 5 minutes away from Basilica Cistern, 1 minute away from Mosaic Museum and walking distances from the,other,historical,places.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.3 km
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 km
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 km
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.7 km
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.8 km
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.8 km
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.9 km
  • Archaeology museum: 1 km
  • Kapali Carsi: 1 km
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 1 km
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 1.2 km
  • Galata Bridge: 1.2 km
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 1.2 km
  • Topkapi Palace: 1.3 km
  • Istanbul University: 1.5 km
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.3 km
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 km
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 km
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.7 km
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.8 km
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.8 km
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.9 km
  • Archaeology museum: 1 km
  • Kapali Carsi: 1 km
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 1 km
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 1.2 km
  • Galata Bridge: 1.2 km
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 1.2 km
  • Topkapi Palace: 1.3 km
  • Istanbul University: 1.5 km
  • Tünel: 1.9 km
  • Miniaturk: 1.9 km
  • Bosphorus Strait: 2 km
  • Galata Tower: 2.5 km
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 2.7 km
  • Maiden`s Tower: 2.8 km
  • Istanbul Modern: 2.9 km
  • Golden Horn: 3.2 km
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 3.8 km
  • Beyoglu: 4.1 km
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 4.1 km
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 4.2 km
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 4.3 km
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 4.4 km
  • Spice Market: 4.5 km
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 4.9 km
  • Kadikoy: 5.7 km
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 5.9 km
  • Yildiz Park: 6 km
  • Ortakoy: 6.4 km
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 7.9 km
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 11.1 km
  • Rumeli Fortress: 11.7 km
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 12.5 km
  • Emirgan Park: 13.4 km
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 15.5 km
  • The Princes' Islands: 18.2 km

Dining

Restaurant
At any time you can sit at our terrace to relax and escape from tiredness of the day, drinking some of our famous cocktails or playing chess. You can taste the well-known Turkish coffee, imported or local drinks and enjoy having water pipe towards Blue Mosque and Marmara Sea. We mostly serve Ottoman and Classic Turkish food. And also you can join and enjoy one of our Cooking Class.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Byzantium fans
London
21 Jul 2013

JUST RIGHT FOR US

Great location, with superb views of the Blue Mosque (though of course in Istanbul there are superb views almost everywhere in the centre). Breakfasts were good - with lots of choice. The staff were friendly, and very helpful when we were trying to sort out public transport to various places. The room was a bit on the small side - but it didn't matter as we were out and about the whole time anyway. The mechanics of the shower were somewhat idiosyncratic - but apart from that no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomW
Leeds UK
17 Nov 2012

Friendly well run hotel perfectly placed for main historic sites

Staff very friendly and willing to help. Spent time with us when we first arrived showing us how to get to nearby sites and attractions. Room comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Position of hotel perfect for getting to main sites eg Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
izzy istanbul
yorkshire
17 Oct 2012

great location

great position close to all the main sites.staff friendly and helpful. hotel a little tired but very clean and tidy.rooms not large but we were there to view the sites not the bedroom ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

when visiting the Topkapi Palace dont queue for tickets go directly to the machines to the left of the kiosks, you can pay cash or card

Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RBCC
Denver, CO
23 Jun 2012

perfect place!

If you would like to get maximum out of your stay in Istanbul this is exactly the right Hotel to stay at. Not only for it's location that we liked it but also with very friendly and willing to help personal, we felt like we were at our own home in Turkey! Sarnic is really highly recomended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE GRAND BAZAAR is just the right place to buy carpets and rugs but don't forget to negotiate the price! it's important

Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
4 Jun 2012

For a four star only fair

Initial room small, but staff spontaneously offered a better room for the second and remaining nights. This was great but it was on the 4th floor with no lift! Would have thought that would have down listed the hotel on its own. On the other hand the staff was courteous, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location in the city

Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Istanbul Traveler
Jacksonville, FL
30 May 2012

Pretty good hotel for people only on holiday

Sarnic was an awesome hotel, and with the rate I got, it was a pretty good value, too. It's close to the Blue Mosque and since the Blue Mosque is across the street from a bunch of other sites (Byzantine Cistern, Hagia Sophia), they are very conveniently accessible to the hotel too. The breakfast is pretty good buffet, and the selection is good for almost any diet. I don't like that it starts at 8AM, because I think that's a late start, especially considering that many sites open at 8. The staff is pretty nice too, and I didn't have any issues with the hotel or my room. However, I saw that other guests did, because of special requests. Lastly, they have complimentary internet access for all guests, but the internet connection is inconsistent, and I couldn't connect for a day and a half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meffe
Genève, Suisse
13 Apr 2012

Great place to stay in Istanbul !

It was very pleasant and nicely situated near both the Blue Mosque and St Sophie. And, the personnel is helpful and nice. A great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia888
Boston, MA, USA
4 Apr 2012

Good location, poor staff

I stayed at the Sarnic with my boyfriend for 4 nights. The location is wonderful as it is right next to the blue mosque and next to everything in the old town. A cute little park is located right down the street too which you can walk through to get to the water. Very close to the Grand Bazaar and Spice market. Also easy trip to the Asia side, just a 30 Lira cab ride. We were placed in the premier part of the hotel for one night which was great, but asked to move for the remaining three nights which was a hassle. When we asked why we were put into this position, the 'concierge' if you could even call him that was extremely rude and unhelpful. He told us that the reason we had to switch because in the room we previously book a women had been sick with a stomach bug. I told the man that this was poor service and a. he should not tell paying guests this about a room they are about to move to and b. that we would appreciate it if he could either let us stay in the first room or put is in a room where someone wasn't sick the day before. He was extremely rude to us and told us basically there was nothing he could do as well as failing to make us feel comfortable for our stay. The rest of the weekend we felt awkward walking into the hotel lobby while he and his staffed starred at us without uttering a word. Aside from this and the EXTREMELY uncomfortable mattress in the second room (the first one was great!!) we had a great time and the hotel like I said is in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAC fc
Buenos Aires
28 Mar 2012

for turits

good hotel ete et et c etec etec etec etec etec ete

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sarnic Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yasir
Los Angeles, California
9 Mar 2012

Awesome Place and Staff

I stayed at Sarnic Hotel with my family for 4 nights and had a really good experience at the place. It is small private kind of a hotel where the staff is super friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast is amazing with very large selection of items and the their restaurant chef is amazing made some good food. The best thing about the hotel is that everything is at walking distance. Blue Mosque is literally across the street. You can access all the historical place really easily from this hotel. All in all i would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes