€68.22 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 29 Mar 2015 Check-out 30 Mar 2015

Edinburgh City Hotel

3 stars
View map of 79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh, EH3 9HZ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh City Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mira away
Business
Manchester
16 Jan 2012

Weekend away

Stayed for three nights in the Edinburgh City Hotel a couple weeks ago. Have to say that we were very pleasantly surprised by this place. Booked a double room last minute, but on arrival staff at reception very gladly gave us a twin room when we asked if any were available. The room was super clean, staff were all helpful and obliging (especially one of the trainees, she took the time to answer all our questions), and the location was absolutely fine. It was very good value for money and I would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucyann
Business
US Ohio
20 Nov 2011

Great location in a great city

My experiences at this hotel were great. The Royal Mile was a short walk and other sights were easily accessible by local buses. The staff was very helpful by answering all my questions. Breakfast was a treat with three fully cooked, Scottish choices. My room was clean and cozy with great internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to explore on your own. Edinburgh is a safe city and everyone is very helpful to tourists.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey Joe Joe
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
2 Nov 2011

Great off the beaten path but close to EVERYTHING

Very easy to find location of this hotel. It's near Tollcross and close to most attractions in Edinburgh. Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile and almost everything inbetween all within short walking distance. Get cafe called Two Thin Laddies at the main intersection of Tollcross (maybe justover a block away). Amazing breakfasts and lunches affordable prices. The hotel is JUST off the beaten path. Very quiet and little foot traffic. Staff was very helpful. I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two Thin Laddies Cafe

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCARD
Business
NEW YORK CITY
18 Sep 2011

First Time in Scotland

I'm a first time traveler to Europe and Edinburgh was a 2-day side trip from London. My girlfriend and I were awed by the city. This hotel was a real pleasant surprise. The room was a bit small but it was impeccably clean (the hotel had just gone through a renovation). The best part for me was the location, quiet section of Edinburgh but within walking distance to the Castle and Royal Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A small place to go to have fresh baked goods and sandwiches, Preachers Patisserie on Lady Lawson Street was a pleasant way to start the day sightseeing.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Man
Business
Tacoma, WA, USA
16 Sep 2011

Close enough to city center

This hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful. We arrived before check in but they were more than happy to lock our luggage up in a closet while we walked to Edinburgh Castle. Upon checkout, they did the same thing when we went to pick up the rental car. The neighborhood was a little noisy at night but I guess that is to be expected when on the ground floor. Closing the window blocked the noise but then the room got stuffy. A great value for the money! Don't waste time with breakfast in the restaurant; a better value for food can be found down the block. You can catch the city tour bus a block away and travel all around town for 12 pounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kmcg
Business
Washington, DC, USA
11 Sep 2011

Good location

enjoyed our stay. Close to most everything -good hotel to walk to most sites. Staff very friendly - even helped me recover a jacket I left behind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hike up to Arthur's seat for the best view of the city and environs.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EddyH
Business
Holland
28 Aug 2011

best Hotel for the best price

the hotel is 15 min. walk to the centre. you walk through the Grassmarket waar lovely pub's are. The busses (35-airport en 23-27-centre) are also close. The room is lovely. the staf is helpfull. a fijne 3* hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pub's at the Grassmarket.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI USA
5 Aug 2011

Great hotel

This hoetel was very good. It was close to the Royal Mile but not right on it so it wasn't noisy. Clean room, comfortable bed, good food, and VERY helpful staff. the only negative is the lack of parking places. That is not unusual in Scotland, but was an issue for us trying to drive in the UK for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to shopping and attractions in Edinburgh.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
18 Jun 2011

Comfortable and convenient

This hotel is within walking distance to Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. There is a restaurant and bar onsite, but there are many excellent coffee shops and restaurants nearby, too. The rooms are clean, modern and well furnished. The bathroom is modern and airy. The beds are incredibly comfortable. There is Wifi service at no additional charge. However, there is no parking and breakfast is not included. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience, cleanliness and pleasant surroundings and ease of getting to the city center, either on foot, or a short bus ride. Breakfast is available elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at "Twa Thin Laddies" just a block away. Their scones and breads are incredible and the hot cooked breakfasts were healthy and well prepared. Service is friendly too. There is also a fish and chips shop nearby and a pretty park to walk in. The bus is nearby, too, if you don't want to talk to Princes Street.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
20 May 2011

The

I have stayed in many Best Westerns and this was one of the best. The room was large, attractive and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with many amenities. Free computer (tho it was slow). And the breakfast was wonderful. Location not great, but certainly excellent considering the cost. And my friend and I liked the walk back after touring the major sights of Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own computer or IPad as there is free wifi, and the hotel computer is very slow.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes