€86.33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Sep 2015 Check-out 21 Sep 2015

Edinburgh City Hotel

3 stars
View map of 79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh, EH3 9HZ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh City Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbdc
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
8 Apr 2012

Great spot

Couldn't have been in a better location. Easy to walk to the castle, Grassmarket and just about everything else. Room was great for the price and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iverm
Business
Stornoway, Western Isles, UK
9 Mar 2012

Great Rooms

This was my first stay at this hotel. At first it appeared ordinary but the room was huge, well furnished and immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabat1jm
Friends
Chicago, IL, USA
1 Mar 2012

Friendly Staff

Arrived early, but our room wasn't ready. No biggie since check in isn't until early afternoon. They held out bags and we were off. This hotel was slightly off the beaten path, but less than 5 minutes walking distance to the Edinburgh Castle/top of the Royal Mile and not burdened by tourist traffic and crowds. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small cafe around the corner, owned by a Polish couple that serve a great breakfast. It is worth a stop in! Look for the Red Neon "Cafe": sign.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tynesider
Couples
Tyneside
24 Jan 2012

nice

a loverly friendly hotel.Although i did get a parking place.there are only 6 spaces.I think most guests arrive by air or rail.The Room was loverly,But could do with being a little warmer.A 10 min walk into the centre.We intend to go back.But you will need a Sat Nav to get you around the city streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You Need a Sat Nav to drive around the city

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liska
Family
Boston, MA
18 Jan 2012

very nice visit

all was perfect. Very happy we stayed there! Will come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mira away
Friends
Manchester
16 Jan 2012

Weekend away

Stayed for three nights in the Edinburgh City Hotel a couple weeks ago. Have to say that we were very pleasantly surprised by this place. Booked a double room last minute, but on arrival staff at reception very gladly gave us a twin room when we asked if any were available. The room was super clean, staff were all helpful and obliging (especially one of the trainees, she took the time to answer all our questions), and the location was absolutely fine. It was very good value for money and I would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucyann
Single
US Ohio
20 Nov 2011

Great location in a great city

My experiences at this hotel were great. The Royal Mile was a short walk and other sights were easily accessible by local buses. The staff was very helpful by answering all my questions. Breakfast was a treat with three fully cooked, Scottish choices. My room was clean and cozy with great internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to explore on your own. Edinburgh is a safe city and everyone is very helpful to tourists.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey Joe Joe
Single
Philadelphia, PA, USA
2 Nov 2011

Great off the beaten path but close to EVERYTHING

Very easy to find location of this hotel. It's near Tollcross and close to most attractions in Edinburgh. Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile and almost everything inbetween all within short walking distance. Get cafe called Two Thin Laddies at the main intersection of Tollcross (maybe justover a block away). Amazing breakfasts and lunches affordable prices. The hotel is JUST off the beaten path. Very quiet and little foot traffic. Staff was very helpful. I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two Thin Laddies Cafe

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCARD
Couples
NEW YORK CITY
18 Sep 2011

First Time in Scotland

I'm a first time traveler to Europe and Edinburgh was a 2-day side trip from London. My girlfriend and I were awed by the city. This hotel was a real pleasant surprise. The room was a bit small but it was impeccably clean (the hotel had just gone through a renovation). The best part for me was the location, quiet section of Edinburgh but within walking distance to the Castle and Royal Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A small place to go to have fresh baked goods and sandwiches, Preachers Patisserie on Lady Lawson Street was a pleasant way to start the day sightseeing.

Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Man
Couples
Tacoma, WA, USA
16 Sep 2011

Close enough to city center

This hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful. We arrived before check in but they were more than happy to lock our luggage up in a closet while we walked to Edinburgh Castle. Upon checkout, they did the same thing when we went to pick up the rental car. The neighborhood was a little noisy at night but I guess that is to be expected when on the ground floor. Closing the window blocked the noise but then the room got stuffy. A great value for the money! Don't waste time with breakfast in the restaurant; a better value for food can be found down the block. You can catch the city tour bus a block away and travel all around town for 12 pounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes