€171.46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Nov 2014 Check-out 24 Nov 2014

Hilton London Metropole Hotel

4 stars
225 Edgware Road, London, W2 1JU
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Upscale London Central Hotel

Great central london Hotel near the Tube. Classy, beautiful and accommodating to families. We were... See full review

  • Karen the vacation expert
  • 7 Aug 2013
Birthday Treat

Excellent apart from breakfast queues, creaky bed, and absence of free internet in bedrooms. See full review

  • Skiers
  • 11 Dec 2013
Quiet comfort minutes away from London’s West End

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel is a quiet escape from the bustle of London. The hotel is just a short walk from London's West End and the shops of Oxford Street and offers full-featured amenities and facilities for the most discriminating business or leisure traveler. On-site restaurants cater to international tastes, while a fitness room, pool and sauna afford the appropriate physical and mental release.

Highlights
  • Business Destinations 2010 Travel Awards Winner
  • Conference rooms that can accommodate up to 3,000
  • Fitness center
Rooms

Contemporary rooms are decorated in rich, warm tones and luxury amenities adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat panel TV offering cable and pay-per-view entertainment, high-speed Internet access, mini-bar, coffee maker, voice mail-equipped telephone and work desk. Executive room guests enjoy Executive Lounge access, which offers free continental breakfast and refreshments. 

Features

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel is situated away from the bustle of downtown London, yet is just a short walk to London's West End. Rooms are smartly decorated and feature luxury amenities, along with flat panel TVs and Internet access. A fitness room, pool and sauna afford a quiet escape from the downtown area and there 40 meeting rooms that can accommodate conferences big and small.

Dining

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel offers a variety of in-house dining and drinking options. Minako at the Met is an oasis of calm serving Asian fusion cuisine from the hotel's 23rd floor. Fiamma Restaurant offers Mediterranean flavors in a bright, contemporary atmosphere. Sports Bar, appropriately named, dishes out beer and cocktails with a bevy of TV screens projecting the big game. Lounge Bar, on the hotel's ground floor, features late-night hours as well as light dishes in a bar setting. And Caffe Cino is an informal café that serves coffee, breakfast and lighter dishes throughout the day.

Transportation
  • Edgware Road tube station (2 minutes walking
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
  • Secure parking garage with 170 spaces
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi./0.80 km)
  • Madame Tussauds (0.7 mi./1.12 km)
  • West End (1 mi./1.6 km)
Business
  • A/V equipment rental
  • Business center
  • Business phone service
  • Meeting rooms
  • Office rental
  • Photocopying service
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing available

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
High speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Satellite TV

Hotel Map

51.5196 -0.1707
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 18.00, MI, E; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 35.00, MI, E; Stansted, (STN), 48.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Showroom Gallery: 0.4 km
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 km
  • Baker Street: 1 km
  • Hyde Park: 1 km
  • City of Westminster: 1 km
  • London Business School: 1 km
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1 km
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 km
  • Marble Arch: 1.1 km
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.1 km
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.2 km
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.3 km
  • Wallace Collection: 1.3 km
  • Selfridges: 1.4 km
  • Queensway: 1.4 km
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.4 km
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 km
  • Baker Street: 1 km
  • Hyde Park: 1 km
  • City of Westminster: 1 km
  • London Business School: 1 km
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1 km
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 km
  • Marble Arch: 1.1 km
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.1 km
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.2 km
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.3 km
  • Wallace Collection: 1.3 km
  • Selfridges: 1.4 km
  • Queensway: 1.4 km
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.4 km
  • Kensington Gardens: 1.5 km
  • Bond Street London: 1.6 km
  • Park Lane: 1.7 km
  • Regent's College: 1.7 km
  • Maida Vale: 1.8 km
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.8 km
  • Handel House Museum: 1.9 km
  • Oxford Street: 1.9 km
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.9 km
  • Albert Memorial : 2 km
  • University of Westminster: 2 km
  • London Zoo: 2 km
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 2 km
  • Kensington Palace: 2 km
  • Oxford Circus: 2.1 km
  • Royal Albert Hall: 2.1 km
  • Notting Hill: 2.1 km
  • Photographers Gallery: 2.1 km
  • Fitzrovia: 2.1 km
  • London Palladium: 2.2 km
  • Kilburn: 2.2 km
  • Hyde Park Corner: 2.2 km
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 2.3 km
  • Harrods: 2.3 km
  • Knightsbridge: 2.3 km
  • Carnaby Street: 2.3 km
  • Royal Arcade : 2.3 km
  • Kingly Court : 2.3 km
  • Wellington Arch: 2.3 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton London Metropole Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen the vacation expert
Business
Powell, Ohio
7 Aug 2013

Upscale London Central Hotel

Great central london Hotel near the Tube. Classy, beautiful and accommodating to families. We were provided with a great large room to fit our family of 5. Wish we had more than 1 night to utilize their amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR H
Business
UK
27 May 2013

Good sized family room

Perfect for large family group with plenty of space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimi75
Business
Silver Spring MD
11 Apr 2013

great weekend stay

everything was what i had expected and more. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cound
Business
USA
29 May 2012

One of the better luxury hotel deals in London

This hotel is an excellent value for a city like London. Often it is possible to get a room for $200-$250 per night which is outstanding for a 4-5 star hotel. Very friendly staff, very nice rooms and beds. Pool, sauna, steam room. High speed internet should be included in the room rate, therefor I took off one star. Location is kinda sketchy but not really bad. Walking distance to hyde park, marble arch station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

1/2 hour walk or so to buckingham palace. Taxi rates are basically not that high but can be totally stuck in traffic which will make the ride expensive.

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TMSH
Business
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 Apr 2012

Excellent Family accomodation

The Hotel is located near the Undergroung which made the transportation very easy. It is located at Edgware Road where varaity of resturants are available. Walking distance to Hide Park. The hotel service is 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Arabic Food

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Knight2000
Business
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
17 Jan 2012

Perfect Stay

Booked a Standard room and was upgraded upon arrival. Location is ideal in terms of local attractions and Middle Eastern resturaunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron the rater
Business
Covington, Virginia
10 Sep 2010

Not your normal Hilton

Hotel located on edge of Lebanese section of London. Being an American, I didn't feel welcome in this section of town. Many of the staff were from another country and had trouble understanding and speaking the English language. Paid for breakfast, which never arrived and was unable to get a refund. Breakfast in England is over $20 and that was times three! Will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsville, New Jersey
4 Jul 2010

Great Vacation

My husband and I went to England to visit with our son who is doing his post-grad there. We reserved a room for three so that he could stay with us at the Hilton. We had a lovely, clean, quiet room with a great view from our window. The only reason we give the Hilton four, instead of five stars, is because the room was smaller than what we're used to. We expected that, though, after having read other travelers' reviews of the hotel. Also, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. During our stay, the weather in London was rather warm and humid, so after many days of sight seeing, it was a relief to know that we would be heading back to our air-conditioned room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you travel to Europe, use their ATMs (we found it easy to find machines with no withdraw fee) to get your cash in their currency. If you use the locations at the airport or in Europe that exchange your US dollars, you will pay an additional percentage. Given the value of the American dollar is so much less in Europe, don't pay a middle-man to do the exchange! NOTE: If you're using a credit or debit card (as we did), be sure to notify your bank or credit card company that you will be traveling, and they will see withdraws from Europe appearing on your account. This way your account(s) will not be "flagged" and frozen until the bank/credit card companies can confirm that these are valid withdraws and that your card(s) has not been stolen.

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big D
Business
Abuja, Nigeria
17 Mar 2010

London experience

Shop and rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
5 Jul 2009

Not Worth the Price

The size, layout, and furnishings of our hotel room were inadequate. Housekeeping and room services were disappointing. Internet access (wired) cost 75 pounds for the six days we were there. The concierge service was very friendly and helpful, but were unable/unwilling to arrange for any form of airport shuttle service, other than tube or taxi. The taxi fare between the hotel and Heathrow airport cost 65 pounds! We cannot recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes