€72.56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 1 Jan 2015 Check-out 2 Jan 2015

Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

4 stars
Blackfriars Street, Blackfriars Street,Deansgate, Manchester, M3 2EQ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
11 reviews
Convenient location and comfortable hotel

But best of all are the excellent staff - from the friendly and efficient reception and checkout to... See full review

  • Janet and Colin
  • 21 Apr 2013
Great experience!

I loved the location of this hotel! Right close to plenty of shops and restaurants and train... See full review

  • phiLuvDenver
  • 15 Jul 2012
Attractive, modern accommodations near Piccadilly Station and MEN Arena
Close to Piccadilly Station, the hub of downtown Manchester, is the contemporary Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel. Leisure travelers appreciate that the immediate area is crowded with restaurants, boutiques and cultural attractions. The Manchester Central Convention Centre (G-Mex) is also nearby, which makes the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel an excellent choice for business travel as well. Take advantage of the free day passes to the nearby fitness center. Stop into the on-site MCR Restaurant and Bar for breakfast or dinner daily.
Highlights
  • Complimentary day passes to the LA Fitness Gym & Spa
  • Near MEN Arena
  • Larger than average guest rooms and suites
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel are decorated in a contemporary style and offer a number of little luxuries to make a business trip or vacation even nicer. Enjoy city views, cable television, large work areas and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Club rooms and suites offer additional space including a sitting area.
Features
In an enviable location, the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel puts guests at the heart of Manchester. Walk to Piccadilly Station, MEN Arena, Manchester Central Convention Centre (G-Mex), and any number of fine restaurants and charming shops. Visit the fascinating Museum of Science and Industry, or catch a cricket match at Lancashire County Cricket Club. If after all that walking, guests still have energy to burn, they can stop by the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel front desk to pick up a complimentary day pass to a nearby fitness center. The on-site MCR Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily in a casual setting. With nine meeting rooms, one of which can accommodate up to 400, and high-speed Internet access available (fees apply), planning the next big meeting can be easy.
Transportation
  • Victoria Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Piccadilly Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Manchester Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
Attractions
  • MEN Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Opera House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • People's History Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Royal Exchange Theatre (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St. Ann's Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lancashire County Cricket Club (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Northenden Golf Course (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Nine meeting rooms available, for up to 400 people
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business centre
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Cable or sat. TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Trouser press

Hotel Map

53.4838 -2.248
Area served
Manchester
Nearby airports
Manchester Airport UK, (MAN), 11.00, MI, N; Liverpool John Lennon Airport, (LPL), 35.00, MI, E; Leeds Bradford International Airport, (LBA), 45.50, MI, NE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.3 km
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.3 km
  • St Anns Church: 0.3 km
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.3 km
  • Exchange Square: 0.3 km
  • Triangle: 0.4 km
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 km
  • Arndale: 0.4 km
  • Peoples History Museum: 0.4 km
  • Urbis: 0.4 km
  • Manchester Arena: 0.5 km
  • Printworks: 0.5 km
  • Albert Square: 0.5 km
  • M.E.N. Arena: 0.5 km
  • Town Hall: 0.6 km
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.3 km
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.3 km
  • St Anns Church: 0.3 km
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.3 km
  • Exchange Square: 0.3 km
  • Triangle: 0.4 km
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 km
  • Arndale: 0.4 km
  • Peoples History Museum: 0.4 km
  • Urbis: 0.4 km
  • Manchester Arena: 0.5 km
  • Printworks: 0.5 km
  • Albert Square: 0.5 km
  • M.E.N. Arena: 0.5 km
  • Town Hall: 0.6 km
  • Opera House: 0.6 km
  • Free Trade Hall: 0.7 km
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.7 km
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.7 km
  • Granada Studios: 0.8 km
  • Craft Centre: 0.8 km
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.8 km
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.8 km
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 0.9 km
  • Mamucium: 0.9 km
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 0.9 km
  • Band on the Wall: 0.9 km
  • Bridgewater Hall: 1 km
  • Beetham Tower: 1 km
  • Canal Street: 1.1 km
  • Palace Theatre: 1.1 km
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 1.1 km
  • Sackville Street: 1.1 km
  • Cornerhouse: 1.2 km
  • Green Building: 1.2 km
  • Piccadilly Tower: 1.3 km
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 1.3 km
  • Jewish Museum: 1.5 km
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 1.8 km
  • Manchester Museum: 2.1 km
  • Manchester Apollo: 2.3 km
  • Museum of Transport: 2.3 km
  • Contact Theatre: 2.5 km
  • Manchester Academy: 2.7 km
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 2.9 km

Dining

Blackfriars
Lounge and bar specialising in cocktails and sharing platters using locally sourced produce

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiona
Business
Dublin, Ireland
13 Jul 2010

Beautiful hotel - excellent service

This was a girly get away trip and the hotel could not have been more suitable to us! It was beautiful and excellent value for money. It catered for the random hours we kept in that no-one ever frowned upon us, or were rude when we came home late after a night of partying! We loved the stay and our only regret is that we never got around to dining in the hotel restaurant or drinking at the hotel bar which all looked so beautiful and trendy. I've been on many trips and in many hotels, but this hotel by far was my favorite and it really contributed a huge amount to the overall enjoyment of the trip. I will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend visitor
Business
Leeds, Uk
16 Jun 2010

Renaissance

We stayed in a deluxe room with two double beds which were comfortable. There was a sitting area with a two seater sofa, chair and table. This was a great addition as it gave us somewhere to sit and read or watch TV. The room was a decent size although the décor could do with updating. Shower pressure and temperature was adequate and the room was clean and tidy. The location was fantastic as we could see the arndale centre from our window and the M.E.N area and trains stations were a stones throw away. Noise was minimal due to double windows, we were only awoke in the morning by a marching band and church bells but this wasn't too early and could not be expected. Over all I would definitely stay here again for leisure or work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RedneckTexan
Business
San Antonio, Tx
18 Mar 2011

Great father, son vacation

My 18 year old son and I had our first beer together. We saw Manchester City beat Reading, and two days later we saw Manchester United beat Marseille. Other than meeting for dinner and football we each did our own thing; shopping for me, riding the train listening to accents for him. Street names are poorly marked, and seem to change for no reason. If you're in a hurry take a cab...7 pounds to Man. City stadium, 9 pounds to Old Trafford. Ticket agent for train seemed to take advantage of us; he sent us to a station that was closed on Sunday, wasting an hour of our time getting to our hotel. Good trip, my son is ready to return. The old addage holds true: take half the clothes and twice the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

More shopping, dining, attractions and entertainment than you can shake at within walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mirjdan
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
6 Sep 2011

Trip to Manchester

we were in town one night. Staff was friendly. Room was a generous size and was very clean. The location of the hotel was great for our plans and easy to get to the train station. However, no Internet included which was a major turn off!!! That is the only reason I would tell a friend to consider another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liana69
Business
Covina, California
25 Jun 2012

My Pearl Jam Trip

This hotel is a bit older than what I saw on the website. However once experienced it offers excellent service, comfort and convenience to fit your needs. I am from the US and this was my first trip to England and staying at this hotel eliminated any guess work or fears a foreign traveler may have. Although it is a bit older cosmetically, this does not take away from the service the staff provides. I was only in town for a concert at the MEN Arena and was pleasantly surprised that the Arena was just down the street only a few blocks away. EVERYTHING was a few blocks away and within walking distance. There was absolutely no way to get lost and from any given street I could see my hotel. I loved my stay here and would come back and stay again anytime. The only thing I would have to say is that the room was a little hot and the air conditioning was not very strong, however since it rained for the next couple of days of my trip I hardly noticed. :) it was a little chilly. Also the bed was absolutely comfortable and the English breakfast delicious. A bit pricey for 15 pounds which is about 26 US but I loved it. I hope to come again and will stay here, it was my little home away from home! Thank you so much Renaissance!! And thank you England for allowing me to Enjoy my favorite band in your country!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved Frankie and Benny's which was just down the street and around the corner, and there are pubs all over within walking distance in the city.

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phiLuvDenver
Business
Denver, CO
15 Jul 2012

Great experience!

I loved the location of this hotel! Right close to plenty of shops and restaurants and train station. Also, the breakfast buffet was fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

South nightclub

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Man
Business
Essex
25 Jun 2012

Concert Visit

Have stayed before and always try to stay here when we visit Manchester. Always give it the best marks - one of the best we stay at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant called Rustica riht by the entrance Great Italian food, very traditional

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janet and Colin
Business
The Cotswolds, England
21 Apr 2013

Convenient location and comfortable hotel

But best of all are the excellent staff - from the friendly and efficient reception and checkout to the excellent car service, we couldn't fault them. We were even guided to a good local restaurant by a very friendly engineer who chatted to us in the lift from the tenth floor! A real treat to find uniformly good customer care in an English hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
2 May 2009

great place

nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kezza1974
Business
UK
30 Dec 2012

very dated and tired rooms

Very disappointing 4* hotel. Reception very contemporary, rooms very dated. TV big, dated v few channels. Bathroom very old and dated. Requested a king size bed given 2 doubles. Stayed in better 4 *, that have been cheaper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes