€92.83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Sep 2015 Check-out 8 Sep 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th getaway girl
Family
San Diego, California
7 Jul 2014

40th birthday getaway!

We had a great time on my 40th birthday getaway! The hotel even surprised me with a birthday present! The hotel pool was great and ordering room service at the poolside was an extra bonus! Good food and fun for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Mexican restaurant nearby within walking distance.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommy23
Family
LA, Ca
29 Jun 2014

Perfect stay!

This was an excellent place for our family to enjoy a trip to San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shesh 87
Family
Fort Worth, Texas
27 Jun 2014

Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon combine the comforts of a suite with the functionality of a extended stay hotel. Also, there is a outside concert area with access to everything within 5 miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nparker3
Family
Tucson, Arizona
20 Jun 2014

Humphreys half moon hotel

Very nice hotel! Only problem is that they had not enough towels, and couldn't get ahold of house keeping. Other than that it was an awesome hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to hillcrest/college ave

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goldnman4
Single
nh
12 Jun 2014

Pleasant

Nice Comfortable hotel with a very nice location. Very picturesque location across from San Diego harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Single

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UrsyAce
Family
Cherry Hill, NJ
10 Jun 2014

Average

Overall, this hotel was okay, but nothing special. I guess for the price, it was a pretty good value. The location on Shelter Island was pretty convenient. It was easy to get to the 5. The view of Downtown San Diego from across the street was beautiful. The room itself was fairly nice. There was food stuck all over the inside of the microwave, which was pretty gross. Other than that, the room was pretty clean. I would probably stay there again. Like I said, it wasn't the greatest hotel I ever stayed in, but for the price, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris6800
Couples
MA
9 Jun 2014

Hidden charges beware

This was a great room and a great deal, but beware! The hotel ended up charging me and EXTRA 200 bucks for a "passport fee" and PARKING. Each of the two was 14 dollars a day and non-negotiable, you had to pay it. For my 9 days, that was 28 dollars times 9 days, we'll let 200 bucks on top of what I paid when booking through. People were smoking and it came into our room, which reeked when we returned from the beach. On top of paying for parking you have to display a special pass they give you at the check in desk in order to even park, because they're a concert venue too and share parking with concert guests too! I never received one and they had to make me one up before the guy manning the gate would let me in. Normally, I would just insert my room key to open the gate, but because it was a concert night, someone was watching he gate and wouldn't let me in even though I had a room key and receipt on hand! I went and got this special pass, knowing they had charged me for stupid things before. I asked if I would be charges for this pass even though I already pay daily for parking and passport, he said he would WAIVE it this time. Are you kidding me! I'm already paying for parking, I shouldn't have to pay twice because you are having a concert! The hidden fees are laughable. I had to pay an unexpected extra 300 for my car too. Collectively I paid another 500 for this trip. It greatly damaged my budget. In short, the staffers nice, the room was clean, the pool was good and parking was abundant. It's in a beautiful location, just outside the city and right on the water. Would I go back? Maybe. I was a great place, but all the problems I mentioned above really irked us. We travelled 2700 miles to relax and we're met with more trivial garbage than you'd like to deal with on vacation. I would totally check out another hotel first and ask about any charge that isn't up front. Ultimately, I would use this hotel as a last resort knowing the room was nice and bed was comfortable. Please take better note of additional hotel fees and make your consumers aware. Even if you can include it all in the price, at least tell us about the hidden charges or encourage us to reach out to the services purchased prior to arrival to avoid such headaches. This site should be aware of state rental car laws, hotel possible charges and location specific alterations for finances. Though impossible to calculate and account for all, you should at least encourage your customers to investigate in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

LaJolla cove or mission beach, you can rent water crafts or see sea lions in the wild. Coronado beach too, all close by. You're really central of a lot of great stuff from the hotel.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no1Badgerfan
Couples
Wisconsin
8 Jun 2014

San Diego Getaway

The rooms were nice and comfortable and very quiet without noise from other rooms. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Great pool area and beautiful gardens to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take 28 bus to old town and the rest of the town is easy to get to without renting a car. Nice view of the bay.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainer Lady Kerry
Couples
New York
3 Jun 2014

Romantic Weekend

Shelter Island was a quiet yet central location for a fantastic weekend in San Diego. The landscaping is amazing and the services available are excellent. Would stay here again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Break Front - amazing breakfasts!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinJ
Couples
Ohio
29 May 2014

Anniversary getaway

Excellent concierge. Excellent food at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes