€74.08 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 18 Nov 2014 Check-out 19 Nov 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
438 reviews
Beautiful !!!!!!

What a wonderful experience! The staff went above and beyond, the tropical room was fabulous, right... See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • 20 Sep 2014
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • 17 Sep 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.8 km
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 km
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 km
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 km
  • Old Town San Diego: 5 km
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5 km
  • Heritage Park: 5 km
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.4 km
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 km
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 km
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 km
  • Belmont Park: 6.4 km
  • PETCO Park: 6.4 km
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.5 km
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.6 km
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.8 km
  • Port of San Diego: 2.9 km
  • Hospitality Point: 3.9 km
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.8 km
  • Old Town San Diego: 5 km
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5 km
  • Heritage Park: 5 km
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.4 km
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 km
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 km
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 km
  • Belmont Park: 6.4 km
  • PETCO Park: 6.4 km
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.5 km
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.6 km
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.7 km
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7 km
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 km
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.1 km
  • Botanical Building: 7.2 km
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 km
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 km
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.4 km
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 km
  • Mission Bay Park: 8 km
  • Pacific Beach: 9.1 km
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 10.3 km
  • Family Fun Center: 13.8 km
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.4 km
  • Sorrento Valley: 19.5 km
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 46.3 km
  • Legoland: 46.6 km
  • Cox Arena: 3,414.4 km

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (438)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
438 out of 438
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunny NN
Business
New York
13 Jan 2014

great place to stay

very delicate and nice room. right in front of water. good restaurants around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Ma
Business
San Diego
12 Jan 2014

A great place

I spent way to much time looking for a room in the San Diego area for a couple of nights. I kept ending up at Humphrey's but would read a poor review and look elsewhere. This place was perfect in all areas. I had a small room that faced the parking lot but the area was beautiful. The grounds were very nice and the room was clean and modern. The shower was nice and the bathroom was clean. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucydog1
Business
Tallahassee
9 Jan 2014

Nice getaway

Unfortunately, we only were able to stay for one night. We booked this room to be close to the airport. That said, the room was great, amazing views, friendly staff, and great recommendations for places to eat. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tennisgirl12
Business
BC, Canada
9 Jan 2014

You will love it

First time in SD, and this hotel was just perfect.Just min.away from airport with free shuttle it is on Shelter Island ,very quiet and great views onto Marina.Rooms have fridge,coffeemaker and microwave and Ralphs is 5 min drive on Rosecrans where you can buy food. Rosecrans is a main Rd that gets you everywhere.Restaurant is very good too and the entertainment as well. Gardens and Pool /Hot Tub beautiful .Beds are comfortable and so are the different pillows from hard to soft. The only recommendation we had is that they go a bit greener with washing towels as they wash everything after one use.They did tell me though that they recycle and lights are on timers. Mexican restaurant 5 min walk up the road is good.The location was the best part though , took only 15 min drive to sea world, 29 min to the zoo, 15 min to old town,20 min to Coronado island,45 min to Safari park (a MUST)but do rent a car as you would waste too much time with public transportation and it is cheaper.One week cost us 160,00 incl.gas 1/2 tank).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location and quiet

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quillo
Business
St Cloud, MN
30 Dec 2013

great

My girlfriend and I were thrilled by the view. The staff were always happy to help. Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

get a car

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xiaoqinqin
Business
New York
28 Dec 2013

Overall good

The location is great and excellent outside but the room is tiny and cold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polar
Business
El Centro
17 Dec 2013

Good times

Just had a great time. Watched the boat parade just across the street from the motel and then dancing at the bar afterwards. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy8
Business
Canada
17 Dec 2013

Average Hotel

Hotel was in a good location and the hotel resturant was good. The staff were super friendly and very accomodating. The room could have been cleaner. The rugs had some dust bunnies along the edges where the vacuum could'nt reach and the bathroom could have also been cleaner. The room was very humid which i would say could be due to bad ventaliation. Therefore, felt a bit stuffy in the room. Overall, it was worth the price we paid for the room and its 3 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davsamuk
Business
UK
16 Dec 2013

A great spot for a perfect break !!

Loved the impression of Humphreys on arrival..had a choice of 3 rooms and chose 2nd floor one with view of pool area. Room was good size and was comfortable and well equipped. Entertainment was great at Backstage Live and restaurant was good. Hotel was well placed for visiting key areas of San Diego and had a good choice of restaurants close by. Will definitely use the hotel on our next visit to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaacita
Business
Seattle, WA
6 Dec 2013

Wonderful Surprise

We chose this hotel as it was a package deal with a car rental. We had do idea where it was or what it was like. What a great surprise. The hotel was great and we had a room overlooking the bay. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and surroundings delightful. We went to their resturant that night Humphreys and we felt we had the best prime rib ever. We like to judge the food by prime rib and we will talk about it for some time. The waitress said we should try their specialities and we know we will definitely make this a stop the next time in San Diego. Might just take a detour for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good food, excellent atomsphere and friendly. Priced reasonable too.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes