€138.25 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 28 Jul 2015 Check-out 29 Jul 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris6800
Business
MA
9 Jun 2014

Hidden charges beware

This was a great room and a great deal, but beware! The hotel ended up charging me and EXTRA 200 bucks for a "passport fee" and PARKING. Each of the two was 14 dollars a day and non-negotiable, you had to pay it. For my 9 days, that was 28 dollars times 9 days, we'll let 200 bucks on top of what I paid when booking through. People were smoking and it came into our room, which reeked when we returned from the beach. On top of paying for parking you have to display a special pass they give you at the check in desk in order to even park, because they're a concert venue too and share parking with concert guests too! I never received one and they had to make me one up before the guy manning the gate would let me in. Normally, I would just insert my room key to open the gate, but because it was a concert night, someone was watching he gate and wouldn't let me in even though I had a room key and receipt on hand! I went and got this special pass, knowing they had charged me for stupid things before. I asked if I would be charges for this pass even though I already pay daily for parking and passport, he said he would WAIVE it this time. Are you kidding me! I'm already paying for parking, I shouldn't have to pay twice because you are having a concert! The hidden fees are laughable. I had to pay an unexpected extra 300 for my car too. Collectively I paid another 500 for this trip. It greatly damaged my budget. In short, the staffers nice, the room was clean, the pool was good and parking was abundant. It's in a beautiful location, just outside the city and right on the water. Would I go back? Maybe. I was a great place, but all the problems I mentioned above really irked us. We travelled 2700 miles to relax and we're met with more trivial garbage than you'd like to deal with on vacation. I would totally check out another hotel first and ask about any charge that isn't up front. Ultimately, I would use this hotel as a last resort knowing the room was nice and bed was comfortable. Please take better note of additional hotel fees and make your consumers aware. Even if you can include it all in the price, at least tell us about the hidden charges or encourage us to reach out to the services purchased prior to arrival to avoid such headaches. This site should be aware of state rental car laws, hotel possible charges and location specific alterations for finances. Though impossible to calculate and account for all, you should at least encourage your customers to investigate in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

LaJolla cove or mission beach, you can rent water crafts or see sea lions in the wild. Coronado beach too, all close by. You're really central of a lot of great stuff from the hotel.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no1Badgerfan
Business
Wisconsin
8 Jun 2014

San Diego Getaway

The rooms were nice and comfortable and very quiet without noise from other rooms. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Great pool area and beautiful gardens to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take 28 bus to old town and the rest of the town is easy to get to without renting a car. Nice view of the bay.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainer Lady Kerry
Business
New York
3 Jun 2014

Romantic Weekend

Shelter Island was a quiet yet central location for a fantastic weekend in San Diego. The landscaping is amazing and the services available are excellent. Would stay here again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Break Front - amazing breakfasts!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinJ
Business
Ohio
29 May 2014

Anniversary getaway

Excellent concierge. Excellent food at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
south africa123
Business
Denver
28 May 2014

Full of spiders

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and found 4 spiders hanging out in the bed. I couldn't change my room because of the views. One of the night they forgot to clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyAquino
Business
Milwaukee, WI
28 May 2014

Great location-can get loud

I wouldn't recommend for families since it does get loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valgal
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
27 May 2014

Good value

Room was prefect, updated, clean and comfortable. Had a decent crib for my son. Liked the fact they had microwave and fridge if needed. We got a room away from the concert and it was perfect, not loud. Room service was a little expensive but what place isn't. Parking was bout $15 a day and hotel charges $10 day for mandatory fee. Location was nice and quite restaurants were within walking. I wanted to rent bikes but they don't have a child carrier so we rented them at mission beach. Nice place and might stay again but I think I'll try to stay by seaport village next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcyFairn
Business
San Diego, California
22 May 2014

Perfect stay

Friendly staff. Everything was perfect. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brhoom77
Business
San Diego
11 May 2014

Getaway

Location is great near to everything, room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daverino
Business
san diego
29 Apr 2014

weekday getaway

This was a fantastic resort for an inexpensive weekday getaway. The grounds are beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes