€93.59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 1 Dec 2014 Check-out 3 Dec 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • 5 May 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • 27 Jul 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.3 km
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 km
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 km
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 km
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 km
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 km
  • Union Square: 0.9 km
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 km
  • SoMa: 1 km
  • Japantown: 1.1 km
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 km
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 km
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 km
  • Japan Center: 1.2 km
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 km
  • Civic Centre: 0.3 km
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 km
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 km
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 km
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 km
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 km
  • Union Square: 0.9 km
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 km
  • SoMa: 1 km
  • Japantown: 1.1 km
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 km
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 km
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 km
  • Japan Center: 1.2 km
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 km
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 km
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.3 km
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 km
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 km
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 km
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.4 km
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 km
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.6 km
  • Octagon House: 1.6 km
  • Chinatown: 1.7 km
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.8 km
  • Lombard Street: 2.1 km
  • Coit Tower: 2.3 km
  • Mission Dolores: 2.3 km
  • ATT Park: 2.4 km
  • Ferry Building: 2.4 km
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 km
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.5 km
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.7 km
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.7 km
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.7 km
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.7 km
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.7 km
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.7 km
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.8 km
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.8 km
  • Underwater World: 2.8 km
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.8 km
  • Pier 39: 2.8 km
  • Wyland Gallery: 2.9 km

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Ithaca
Business
Ithaca, NY
26 Dec 2013

Great price, problems with shuttle

The room is great and breakfast perfect. The area is not great, especially if you have kids, but it is within walking distance from Union Square, so I guess that compensates for it. My big issue is with the shuttle service they offer. We were supposed to be picked up at 4 pm from Fishermans Wharf. I called 45 minutes later asking them what happened. They said traffic, and that they had no way of contacting the driver. I waited half an hour more, and then left. I understand traffic issues; I just don't understand that they don't have a way to reach the driver so he/she can tell you for how long you have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bababa u mamawmaw
Business
South Padre Island, Texas
19 Dec 2013

Tenderloin district

Usually I stay with family when I stay out here, this time I wanted to stay in hotel. It was clean, and the staff was nice, but there were no drawers to place our clothes. There is a parking lot, but it belongs to a separate contracted company. The management was nice at the parking lot, but the staff was idiots. The hotel staff was extremely nice, it's just the hotel is in a bad area. We walked around and saw bums, strewn litter, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within a twenty minute drive. San Fran is an island.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great for Couples
Business
Salinas, CA
4 Nov 2013

Couples Getaway- Great Stay

Great stay, room very comfortable and cozy. Staff were resourceful. Great location for dining, shopping, an site seeing. I would come back and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OrbitzFriend1
Business
Saint Louis, MO
18 Oct 2013

Good Hotel

I have been travelling to San Francisco for almost 3 months now on weekly basis. I have explored many hotels in these visits. When I was going towards this hotel I was little skeptical about it, by looking at the neighborhood. But I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the gates. There is a bar/restaurant outside the entrance (I did not use) convenient for dinner/easy access. The elevators are secured with your room access keys, so felt safe. Free breakfast at top floor was included in the stay - which I liked. Most of the hotels in San Fra, do not include it. There are lot of walkable restaurants. The iron-board was not there in the room, so I called front desk for it. The sound on other end was like 'why are you calling for this?'. I was told that it will be sent to room. I waited for 15-20 mins. It never came. I had to iron my dresses on bed. Other than this, the stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PooFlo
Business
Paris, France
13 Aug 2013

Staying 3 nights at Cova's

Shower not emptying, ventilation in the bathroom not working properly (I had to open the frame with a pair of scissors remove it an clean it under the water: full of dust, ducts blocked). Staff is ok, but do not take the shuttle they propose to go to the airport. We were told that it would take 30 mn, in the morning at 7' to reach the airport. In fact, it collected 2 people en route and we reached at 8.15 and therefore been waitlisted by American.. A taxi for four people (our case) would have been better. Information from the staff is at best erratic. For 2 days we did know if we would be able to have packed breakfast the day of our departure... Mattresses are a bit too soft for good sleeping. Tenderloin is not so rough if you do not interact with the junkies and al. I know it was hig season but 220 Euros per night for one bedroom with 2 queens bed seems a bit too much (with 4 breakfasts).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artara
Business
LA
27 Jul 2013

No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pyssak
Business
San Francisco, ca
9 Jul 2013

Amazing Hotel

Great location, very clean, modern! Enjoyed my stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hills runner
Business
Riverside, CA
17 Jun 2013

Overnight Stay

Hotel experience was good. Tons of homeless on local streets, although they don't bother you. Hotel offers regular shuttles to tourist areas to bypass walking in the area. Staff was nice and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MINCHO
Business
San Francisco
3 Apr 2013

Great place but bad location

The hotel was nice and clean but the location was bad. The hotel offers free shuttle to tourists attractions :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VanessaR
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 Apr 2013

Great hotel, not the best location

The Cova Hotel in San Francisco is a great hotel, although it's not located in the best place, since it's really close to homeless shelters and they're always wondering around, which doesn't make it the safest of places. The room was totally comfort, and the deluxe breakfast was amazing. The staff was really good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes