€157.28 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 5 Apr 2015 Check-out 6 Apr 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annapants
Business
Los Angeles
23 Feb 2014

Do yourself a favor and spend more money elsewhere

Awesome staff. Nice rooms. Miserable location in a very dangerous area. Read the other horror stories about Ellis street. I had to check out early because the location hindered the enjoyment of this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vega
Business
San Jose
10 Feb 2014

Great hotel. Average location.

Pros: - Double queen room was very nicely sized! - Clean with the exception of the glasses (cups). - Good price. - Valet was reasonably priced. - Free breakfast. - Free Snacks. Cons: - Location isn't the greatest (decent walk to most shopping / events). Would stay again if others are high in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sonybermuda
Business
Boston MA
23 Jan 2014

Great amenities for the price but.....

We stayed here for 2 nights and on the inside, the fitness room and free breakfast, shuttle rides and wifi were all great bonuses. Service is fast, warm and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more in this price range. Now for the but....please please please keep in mind that this hotel is located in the Tenderloin area and we learned it the hard way! If you plan on booking this hotel, I would travel in and out of the hotel strictly by car only. This neighborhood has a long way to go before it should welcome tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazinger
Business
San Bernardino, CA
29 Dec 2013

Cova is normal

Cova is located on near union square but street is liitle scare. Other is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Ithaca
Business
Ithaca, NY
26 Dec 2013

Great price, problems with shuttle

The room is great and breakfast perfect. The area is not great, especially if you have kids, but it is within walking distance from Union Square, so I guess that compensates for it. My big issue is with the shuttle service they offer. We were supposed to be picked up at 4 pm from Fishermans Wharf. I called 45 minutes later asking them what happened. They said traffic, and that they had no way of contacting the driver. I waited half an hour more, and then left. I understand traffic issues; I just don't understand that they don't have a way to reach the driver so he/she can tell you for how long you have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bababa u mamawmaw
Business
South Padre Island, Texas
19 Dec 2013

Tenderloin district

Usually I stay with family when I stay out here, this time I wanted to stay in hotel. It was clean, and the staff was nice, but there were no drawers to place our clothes. There is a parking lot, but it belongs to a separate contracted company. The management was nice at the parking lot, but the staff was idiots. The hotel staff was extremely nice, it's just the hotel is in a bad area. We walked around and saw bums, strewn litter, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within a twenty minute drive. San Fran is an island.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great for Couples
Business
Salinas, CA
4 Nov 2013

Couples Getaway- Great Stay

Great stay, room very comfortable and cozy. Staff were resourceful. Great location for dining, shopping, an site seeing. I would come back and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OrbitzFriend1
Business
Saint Louis, MO
18 Oct 2013

Good Hotel

I have been travelling to San Francisco for almost 3 months now on weekly basis. I have explored many hotels in these visits. When I was going towards this hotel I was little skeptical about it, by looking at the neighborhood. But I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the gates. There is a bar/restaurant outside the entrance (I did not use) convenient for dinner/easy access. The elevators are secured with your room access keys, so felt safe. Free breakfast at top floor was included in the stay - which I liked. Most of the hotels in San Fra, do not include it. There are lot of walkable restaurants. The iron-board was not there in the room, so I called front desk for it. The sound on other end was like 'why are you calling for this?'. I was told that it will be sent to room. I waited for 15-20 mins. It never came. I had to iron my dresses on bed. Other than this, the stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PooFlo
Business
Paris, France
13 Aug 2013

Staying 3 nights at Cova's

Shower not emptying, ventilation in the bathroom not working properly (I had to open the frame with a pair of scissors remove it an clean it under the water: full of dust, ducts blocked). Staff is ok, but do not take the shuttle they propose to go to the airport. We were told that it would take 30 mn, in the morning at 7' to reach the airport. In fact, it collected 2 people en route and we reached at 8.15 and therefore been waitlisted by American.. A taxi for four people (our case) would have been better. Information from the staff is at best erratic. For 2 days we did know if we would be able to have packed breakfast the day of our departure... Mattresses are a bit too soft for good sleeping. Tenderloin is not so rough if you do not interact with the junkies and al. I know it was hig season but 220 Euros per night for one bedroom with 2 queens bed seems a bit too much (with 4 breakfasts).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artara
Business
LA
27 Jul 2013

No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes