€180.00 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Aug 2015 Check-out 28 Aug 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Despo
Business
Norfolk, Virginia
3 Aug 2014

Very good downtown hotel

I visited for business. Convenient location close to Union Square, homeless but harmless people around. Clean and comfortable rooms, free wi-fi, free breakfast. Attached parking for an extra cost. Free shuttle to the airport, and to Union square and the Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlowerMaker
Business
Sparks, NV
21 May 2014

Clean but in a bad neighborhood

The staff was fantastic, continental was good and the room was nice and clean. The neighborhood however was sketchy and far from everything we had planned to do that weekend. If you do stay at Cova, there is a restaurant across the street called the Red Crawfish, do yourself a favor and try the garlic noodles and the crawfish! Yum. A Cova staff member recommended it and we're so glad he did, made our day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Red Crawfish across the street from Cova! The garlic noodles will make you happy.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bagrat
Business
Yerevan, Armenia
5 May 2014

Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don K
Business
Ireland
23 Apr 2014

Short San Fran stay

Loved this hotel. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Beds very comfortably and very nice contintental breakfast. Excellent shuttle service to/from Fishermans wharf etc. always on time..thanks Glen. Area of Ellis st has lots of social issues..which in general can be avoided but we encountered no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ormedic
Business
Portland, OR, USA
11 Apr 2014

The staff was fantastic!

I have never run across more friendly, helpful staff. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our visit to the city. The room was comfortable and clean. The free shuttle to several of the main attractions in the city was also a great help. We definitely will stay here again if we ever visit San Francisco in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betsy Letsy
Business
Cincinnati OH
16 Mar 2014

Sketchy area

The hotel is wonderful with a nice restaurant attached but walking through the neighborhood to get there is pretty bad. Its in Tenderloin which is a developing area and theres a lot of homeless people around. No one pays you any attention but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is great.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annapants
Business
Los Angeles
23 Feb 2014

Do yourself a favor and spend more money elsewhere

Awesome staff. Nice rooms. Miserable location in a very dangerous area. Read the other horror stories about Ellis street. I had to check out early because the location hindered the enjoyment of this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sonybermuda
Business
Boston MA
23 Jan 2014

Great amenities for the price but.....

We stayed here for 2 nights and on the inside, the fitness room and free breakfast, shuttle rides and wifi were all great bonuses. Service is fast, warm and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more in this price range. Now for the but....please please please keep in mind that this hotel is located in the Tenderloin area and we learned it the hard way! If you plan on booking this hotel, I would travel in and out of the hotel strictly by car only. This neighborhood has a long way to go before it should welcome tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazinger
Business
San Bernardino, CA
29 Dec 2013

Cova is normal

Cova is located on near union square but street is liitle scare. Other is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Ithaca
Business
Ithaca, NY
26 Dec 2013

Great price, problems with shuttle

The room is great and breakfast perfect. The area is not great, especially if you have kids, but it is within walking distance from Union Square, so I guess that compensates for it. My big issue is with the shuttle service they offer. We were supposed to be picked up at 4 pm from Fishermans Wharf. I called 45 minutes later asking them what happened. They said traffic, and that they had no way of contacting the driver. I waited half an hour more, and then left. I understand traffic issues; I just don't understand that they don't have a way to reach the driver so he/she can tell you for how long you have to wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes