€111.46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 16 Sep 2015 Check-out 17 Sep 2015

Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

3 stars
View map of 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NedA
Business
Caribbean
29 Feb 2012

very disappointed

I have stayed here annually on business for the past 5 years. We had several occasions when room service forgot our order, told us they were very busy and we had to wait over an hour for breakfast. Two occasions in a 5 day stay when the room was made up but the room service tray was left in the room all day and the sofa bed not made up. To add insult to injury, they charge around US$10 per day PER appliance for internet. So my laptop was fine but I couldn't back up with my iphone, my partner could not use her ipad and telephone nor could our child use her ipad or iphone without paying US$10 per appliance, a total of US$60 per day! I made a verbal complaint about the above to Maria who advised me she would get her supervisor to call me. We checked out three days later without any such telephone call and I wasn't going to chase them. Customer service is distinctly lacking. Unfortunately, when I return to Miami next year I will NOT be staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There some good restaurants in the lobby

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
80sbabyzoe
Couples
Belle Glade, FL, USA
7 Feb 2012

Romantic Getaway

This hotel was nice gorgeous the staff was kind and friendly the location was perfect....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In a daze
Business
Michigan, USA
27 Jan 2012

Not if you need to sleep

Everything at the hotel was fine except that the constant noise from a nearby restaurant or club made sleep absolutely impossible. My only need was a good night's sleep and I didn't get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clyde22
Couples
Ohio
7 Jan 2012

couple getaway

great--went for the Orange Bowl, which was w/in 1/2 hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Garcia's Seafood restaurant 2 mi. away is a great casual seafood lunch !

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence/Boston
1 Jul 2011

Not a very nice stay in any case

Room did not have internet access fo my computer Bathroom small and the bar separating the bidet/toilet was imposing. No tub and the door to the shower displaced almost the entire bathroom.Faucet broken in shower.Closet was only 1/2 normal closet size(Bottom only to hang clothes on so garments touched the floor.No beverages in the refigerator.Overall the problems in overwelmed my stay. I request a credit. I paid for 3 nights and only stayed 2 as I did not enjoy the accomodations.Previous trips were far better. May decide to switch staying at another hotel on successive monthly visits?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

At this point I would not recommend Doubletree

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swedish traveler
Family
Houston, Texas
22 Jun 2011

Unbooked suite

we booked a two bedroom suite in January. When we arrived as scheduled on June 18 we were informed the hotel was over booked and our suite was no longer qavailable. While we still had a nice time in a one BR suite, plus another std room on a different floor, the enjoyment was greatly diminshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurie15
Family
Orland Park, IL
21 Mar 2011

Miami Hotel Stay

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short free shuttle ride away is the best shopping, dining, and entertainment located at Bayside Market. Maybe a mile.

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Beach Bum
Couples
Washington, DC
6 Dec 2010

Nice Facility

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past few years. While it is one of my favorite places in Miami I think for my next trip I will look elsewhere. I paid more to park my car here than I did for the rental car itself. The hotel is in a great location from a driver's standpoint, close to downtown and all the major arteries. There's not much in the immediate block from a shopping standpoint, but things are close. The building is a mixed condo/hotel with several restaurants and shops on the lower level. The restaurants are good, be aware that they add the 18% gratuity to bills without notice. Rooms are comfortable and decent in size. I was surprised that there wasn't a hair dryer in the bathroom, no big deal for me since I'm bald but a surprise nevertheless. Rooms have refrigerators but they're the kind that are vending machines, restricted to beverages. Most views are quite nice, the larger suites have views of a park and bay, the standard rooms actually have better views of the bay and marina. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi on the roof is my favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arsteelio
Couples
Little Rock, AR
29 Oct 2010

Excellent Choice!!!

We went on a Caribbean cruise and booked the hotel to stay the night before our cruise took off. The location to the port of Miami is amazing. It takes a 15 minute cab ride to the port! The location is 10 minutes away from American Airlines Arena where the Miami Heat play. The front desk was really helpful. They even gave us some free cookies. We asked about food locations and not only did they give us a paper copy of places to call, they gave us some cookies. We felt it was a thoughtful gesture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bon Voyage!
Couples
Covington, KY
19 Oct 2010

Perfect for what we needed

Bed was very comfortable, our view was pretty good, there was a little construction being done next door. Bathroom and room was clean. Could use a little updating and newer TV set. Warm cookie at check-in was great! Easy to access a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We needed a place to stay the night before a cruise. The restaurants and stores in the basement of the hotel came in very handy for little incidentals needed for our cruise. Very close to the Port of Miami. Easy to catch a cab and 12 o'clock checkout time was perfect.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes