€121.66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 May 2015 Check-out 12 May 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1226 out of 1226
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bucket Tour Traveler
Business
Colorado
10 Nov 2014

Rugby International

Hotel is very old and in need of major renovations. Bar staff were over whelmed, unprepared and useless. (They spent more time arguing amongst themselves than serving the customers that were several deep at the bar). Room, when it was cleaned left used cups behind. Room decor is very old. We didn't bother looking at menus in main restaurant. Breakfast room decor looked like something from a Mid-west diner and didn't fit with historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Bean. An amazing experience

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blaszakdc17
Business
Green Bay, WI, USA
10 Nov 2014

Got the Job Done

The hotel is in a pretty good location if you are wanting to do anything on Michigan Ave. We walked to Cloud Gate (12 min) and to the Shedd (23 min) and also to the other end where the shopping is (20 min). The hotel has not been updated in years, but it does have that historic feel, which you cannot get everywhere. We did request a different room after being in our original room for only a few minutes. It was a room that had a conjoining door to the room next door, and it sounded like the people were in our room. And they were just talking in regular voices. The next room was a standard room and it was average, but clean. It's like you're staying at a historic Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Buy your Shedd tickets ahead of time. The line outside was at least an hour wait.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnsonCity visitor Sary
Business
Tennessee
3 Nov 2014

Great location and value

The location of this hotel is unbeatable - it is very close to the LaSalle L stop and a short distance away from the Art Museum and CloudGate! The hotel was clean, and the rooms were a good size. Bathrooms were clean as well. The shower did take a while to get warm, but that is probably because the hotel is older. One critique of the hotel is that the rooms got cold at night. When I called the front desk, they said the heating could not be turned on in the rooms! While they did offer a space heater, I was wary about using that overnight. The room comfort definitely would have been improved with more temperature control, but overall it wasn't a huge deal. This is a great hotel for the money and the location is wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Myth barbara
Business
atlanta
28 Oct 2014

fantastic trip

the hotel is good location and is close to millennium park. we enjoy the beautiful sunrise in the park opposite to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

millennium park

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melanie Sun
Business
San Francisco
28 Oct 2014

great location

room was in the perfect location, across from grant park and all museums/attraction. The room itself is pretty outdated. The beds we're extremely uncomfortable and the AC/vent made a whirling-ish noise everytime it's on. We we're barely in the room, only to sleep and shower. so it never really bothered us that much. we enjoyed this hotel more for it's prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.C
Business
Baltimore, MD
28 Oct 2014

An amazing place.

I am a divorced parent and my son lives in Illinois.This is the first time I ever stayed in downtown Chicago and had the best time ever. The tourist attractions around the hotel are fantastic. There are plenty of activities for children ( I took my son to the Navy Pier where the Children's Museum is located, and a few minutes away there is an aquarium which was so much fun) and grant park is a lovely place to go for a walk. Lincoln Park zoo is a decent cab ride away as well. The hotel has many cafe's and restaurants nearby and the prices were affordable. On my previous visits to Chicago I would stay in Skokie and would stay at my hotel following my visitations with my boy and be completely bored.With this hotel I can spend quality time with my son, and check downtown Chicago and all its splendor in the evening on my own downtime and have fun too. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The front desk were marvelous. They were helpful and assisted me whenever I had an issue. The staff throughout the hotel were polite and professional. I felt very safe in the hotel and I will not forget my stay as I had the best time ever with my son given the proximity and ease of which I could access the sites and activities that the city had to offer from my hotel. The room did not have a fridge or microwave oven, so if you plan on eating out often, then bringing back leftover food is not a good idea. This is not a big deal, but I wouldn't mind a small fridge so I could keep a few bottles of water chilled in my room.I would definitely return to this gem in the city and cant wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The high street stores are so close to the hotel which makes the hotel a great place for shopping excursions.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawoud
Business
Lincoln, NE
26 Oct 2014

Surprised

The first surprised was the hotel has no parking, you need to park in the street for $4 per hour max 3 hours or in the parking lot for around $ 40 per night. The breakfast was not included. The room has no flip flop for the bathroom. No cooler or mini bar in the room. Other wise the receptionist, security and other staff members were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikib17
Business
Davie, FL
23 Oct 2014

Bear's Game Vacation

The hotel was in an excellent location right across from Grant Park which is really pretty. This was our first trip to Chicago which was awesome, the hotel was however a disappointment. The pictures of the rooms on the internet are nothing like the actual rooms. We knew in advance that the hotel was older but I felt as if they have made no effort to keep it properly maintained. The carpet floors are stained and dingy, the furniture in the rooms is old and outdated. The reception desk was however, very friendly. Bottom Line: This hotel needs some serious renovations, especially after we went into a few other hotels and saw how nice they were. I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop-on hop-off tours by viator. Definitely do the 3 day tour.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beadle Baldwin
Business
Syracuse, NY
22 Oct 2014

Not worth the savings

Even though the price and location were desirable I would never stay here again. The room was cold with no way to increase the temperature except for a very small space heater provided by housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Art Institute is amazing- and, a bit of a maze.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Torte
Business
Vonore, TN
21 Oct 2014

Great location, pretty beat up but clean and inexpensive for location

Stayed two nights to go to a football game at Soldier's Field. Great location in walking distance (a little over a mile). Great views too. Old hotel that has not been remodeled or redecorated and so don't stay here if you need new and sleek. But our room was clean, had decent shower, beds ok. NO frills and bad wallpaper but we didn't care. Nice staff. Would stay again if here for a night or two but not longer. If you aren't willing to take the old, beat up then pay more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meli Cafe is fabulous for breakfast!

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes