€96.64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 10 Aug 2014 Check-out 12 Aug 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,522 reviews
Great location!

Perfect for a couple nights in Downtown Chicago. Across the street from Grant/Millenium Park,... See full review

  • magicmykk
  • 28 Jul 2014
nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I... See full review

  • silly Philly
  • 10 Jul 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1522)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1522 out of 1522
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy on the road to
Jefferson City MO
17 Apr 2014

Tired, sad - faded

Sad and tired is how it first impresses you. No luster on metal - no shine on the marble - listless doormen, desk clerks, all employees. Rather depressing. First evening, just after arrival, I went to the restaurant to pick up a menu, thinking in hotel dining. It was all expensive and showed no chance of being good. Morning - breakfast dining - all tables we were seated at were dirty. Dirty, filthy, sticky, and visibly that way. We left experiments to others. The TV has its modem dangling in space against the wall, a RJ-45 dangling loose. Didn't want to chance that, so hooked wirelessly. Worked OK, but rather slow. The bathroom allowed hot water after 4-5 minutes running first. Then it doesn't last very long. There is not much reason to stay here these days. Location is good - a small reason, maybe. Just tired, old, too much like me, maybe. But I'm not sad. So it was good to leave, even after paying $44 a night for parking. Kind of the price to shed. And the place could really be nice - if someone invested heavily. And if the staff could learn to be positive and charming. Sad - and not a place to return to as it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across from the beautiful park, just a brief walk to the Art Institute.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sol Monica Figueroa
Grand Rapids, Michigan
16 Apr 2014

It was ok, nothing to go back for

Location wise it was perfect right across from the Buckingham Fountain and Millennium Park and two blocks from Willys tower or the "sky deck". The front desk lady barely spoke to me she just asked for my ID and credit card and gave me the key card and that was it, no instructions no nothing. My 10 year old daughter started screaming about a dead cockroach next to the tv table and I took pictures and on my check out showed to the front desk lady and all she did was lift her shoulders like "oh well too bad" no interest, no apology or a comment again no nothing maybe because Im latina (Puerto Rico) maybe she didn't like me, oh well to bad for her I'm not staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

look for attractions before you get there an look for alternative methods of transportation, like bus, train or even bike rentals.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
University Man
Boston
15 Apr 2014

College Visit

Staff was very helpful and the location was perfect. Hotel is not the most updated but has old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good casual dining within a 2 block walk.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tom super
Illinois
14 Apr 2014

Very conventional hotel

So as I enter in to the hotel premises and very classical appearence with gold and red palette. Seen by very nice receptionist. It felt like fast food chain restaurant where you come and go. So now I get my room card, walking down towards elevator around nice corridor and you feel ohh ! My what a wonder hotel. I get to my floor and this where it all begins, right coming out you feel like in 80's horror movies hotel and I am not even joking. The whole floor is covered my closed door sections, you have to open the door to pass through. Every moment I feel this is it dude !! Finally, reaching at my room, opening with odd feelings and as I peak in, so not good looking room. I felt like, I am a very poor by paying 129.00 a day. Very not so cozy room. If you looking for feel good feeling, this is not the place, but if you want to know how getto place feels like, this the right place on magnificent mile. Oh! One more thing, around 10 am the cleaning lady knocks your door, cleaning, I don't know about the rest but I am still sleeping in my boxers after party hard late night. FYI FREE WIFI, which stopped working on day of my checkout. Very small tv. Parking available for 39-45 dollars a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Racoon2803
Warren
14 Apr 2014

Hotel was nice and clean but need upgrades

Hotel was really old but clean and new bathrooms, we had to pay 40 USD per day for parking this was not expected, overall nice hotel for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
British
Business
Chicago il
4 Apr 2014

Not as I expected

The first room was stuffy and hot, causing me sleeplessness . The air did not work. The carpets were old and dusty giving me an extreme headache. The staff did try to accommodate me, but finally I had to change rooms and wing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaaj
Business
sc
4 Apr 2014

friendly staff and good location

very friendly staff. for the price on michigan avenue it is good choice. close to the best shopping places in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

prime rib. pizzeria uno and duo

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaddow
Minneapolis. MN
25 Mar 2014

Perfect location

This is an old, historic hotel--full of charm, and it does show its age. A little worn around the edges, and in need of some cosemtic renovations. But absolutely perfect for our stay. Our room was spottlessly clean with a great city view. Can't beat the location...walking distance to the Art Institue, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum. The price of parking is a sticker shock, but you'll find the same at any hotel in the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beth Working Mom
St. Louis, Missouri
24 Mar 2014

Nice Place to Stay

We have stayed at the Congress Hotel before while visiting Chicago. The location is great. It is easy to get to, and it is close to the park and museums. The lobby is beautiful. The hotel is a historical place with a lot of charm and beauty. Our room was small, but very accommodating. The price was also just right for our budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Caribou coffee shop and Duncan Donuts were a couple of blocks away. In the other direction, down Michigan Avenue, there were other places to eat.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonaskills
Minneapolis, MN
24 Mar 2014

Decent price, decent location

Decent price, decent location. Nice king size bed and shower. I thought it mentioned free continental breakfast, but no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes