€91.84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 10 Aug 2014 Check-out 12 Aug 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,510 reviews
nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I... See full review

  • silly Philly
  • 10 Jul 2014
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • 3 Jul 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1510)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1510 out of 1510
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lando.b2493
Muskegon, Michigan
24 Mar 2014

Great vacation destination

I didn't really know what to expect when Anout the hotel because I had read both great and horrible reviews about this hotel. Upon reaching downtown chicago and seeing the hotel I already liked that it was facing the lake and it was in the heart of downtown chicago pretty much. Great views and beautiful scenery. The hotel inside was very fancy with huge chandeliers and bright lights. The hallways seemed a bit old fashioned and a bit outdated, but it gave it a different feel which was also cool. Room was good, clean when we went inside and bathroom was clean with amenities available. Overall it was a great hotel and a great experience. Definitely would suggest to another friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So many of Downtown Chicago attractions and entertainment are within a mile and definitely would save you A LOT of money if you walked instead of cab. Malls, stores, shops, restaurants, and museums are in walking distance.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cnrod
Chicago, IL
20 Mar 2014

Just okay

The hotel as a whole was descent. Our room was not that great. You could really tell it could use some updating/maintenance from the black mold around the heater and the yellowing of the trim around the room. When we turned on the faucet in the sink and tub, orangish water came out. Even after letting it run clear and running through a filter it was undrinkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wantedfun
Indiana
18 Mar 2014

Worst trip ever

Hotel seemed dirty and staff rude and unfriendly. I would never reccomend this hotel to anyone. I should have paid 20 more to stay in the Blake or a little more to stay in the Swissotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt The Champ
Toledo, OH
17 Mar 2014

Nice weekend getaway for St Patricks Day

We had a great time in the spacious lobby which had a bar, pool tables, dart game and juke box. Plenty of open areas with tables and couches for lounging and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom Hawk
Iowa City, IA
17 Mar 2014

Great location needs an update

We wanted a location near the museum campus and St. Patrick's Day activities, so this property was ideal for that purpose. It's clearly a grand hotel with a very ornate lobby. However, the corridors and rooms need updates. The rooms are cramped. My wife lamented the lack of comfortable armchairs in the room. The staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eleven City Diner was really good.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherlock Holmes Ghost Hun
Ohio
17 Mar 2014

let's be honest. who goes to Chicago to actually stay in the hotel the whole time

Good hotel for the value. Doesn't have a microwave, or a refrigerator. The location is down the street a little ways from magnificent mile, but you can get to the mile by walking about 15 minutes, or by a taxi ride for about $6. Pretty much right across the street from the Buckingham fountain, and about a five minute walk from the Bean and Millennium park. Cool thing I didn't know about staying there is that it is the #1 most haunted hotel in Chicago. If you're afraid of ghosts, try and stay in the north tower if at all possible because the south tower has the most ghostly activity. Stay away from room 441(south tower), and stay away from the 12th floor. All in all, it kind of reminds you of the hotel in the movie "The Shining". A little creepy, but definitely beautiful inside. A lot of marble in the hotel. The concierge will tell you about haunted stories if you ask them. I'd definitely stay there again. Overall a very simple hotel. I get to cross off my bucket list, staying at a haunted hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minute walk to the magnificent mile, or $6 cab ride if you want to save your legs.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colleen B
Milwaukee, WI
17 Mar 2014

Location is the only redeeming quailty

I picked the hotel for the location on Michigan Ave. It is a great spot, but I know it wasn't a 5 star hotel. I was right about that one. First of all the place was very busy due to the St. Patrick's day Parade. I understand that but the desk clerk was so rude! I just asked (as I put in my preferences) to be away from the elevators. She huffed and puffed and said you did book at a discount travel site. Really? That gives you the right to be like that? Well then we got to the room. I don't even know how to describe it. First it gave us two double beds when I specifically asked for queen. I could deal with that. But the decor is right out of the cheap 70's and 80's. The wall paper was hideous and the matching vinyl curtains wouldn't shut all the way. The maroon colored carpeting was worn out.. The only thing half way decent was the bathroom. Looks like it was recently redone, even though it was done very cheaply. You could hear people talking from all the way down the hall way and doors slammed all night long. Some of this was due to the large number of people there, but the walls are paper thin regardless. I would not recommend staying here unless you really just need a place to lay your head in a good location on Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops on Michigan avenue are a short walk from there and lots of great places to eat in the area.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KimKS
Machesney Park, Illinois
16 Mar 2014

St. Patrick's Day weekend

The staff was short with people and not very helpful. The room we stayed in was extremely small and was about 80 degrees. When we called to ask for help, we were told there was nothing that could be done. If we wanted it cooler, we needed to open the windows, which we did. However, it was so loud with the Chicago nightlife, we were unable to sleep. This hotel should not have been rated a 3.5. I have stayed in many hotels in Chicago and for the $225 I spent, it should have been more comfortable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dads excursion
st louis mo
9 Mar 2014

short stay

Old hotel charm, great location. That is it. Beds need to be replaced. Bathtub drained very slow and did not drain completely for 10 minutes after the first person showered. Do not expect the hotel to help you flag a cab unless you tip upfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahmed70
Egypt
5 Mar 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is clean but little old, staff are nice, wi fi is not free and expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes