€90.16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 26 Aug 2014 Check-out 28 Aug 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,107 reviews
Convenient Location

The Congress Hotel is in the middle of everywhere. Situated near a huge open park. You couldn't ask... See full review

  • Lazy man's lobster
  • 13 Aug 2014
Great location!

Perfect for a couple nights in Downtown Chicago. Across the street from Grant/Millenium Park,... See full review

  • magicmykk
  • 28 Jul 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1107)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1107 out of 1107
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azaghloul
London, Ontario
27 May 2014

Perfect Location

The location of the hotel was perfect for our family. Many attractions are within walking distance. I liked the old characteristic the hotel kept, I personally appreciate spacious rooms and love high cielings! It is old but clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimita
New York
27 May 2014

Great location

The first thing I noticed when I arrived at the hotel was it's great location. It is right in front of the park, restaurants everywhere, right by trains. I stayed with a friend so we ordered for a two bed room but when we checked in and went to our room, it was a single bed. We checked with the front desk and found out that or-bitz had sent in a wrong request. After we showed our reservation confirmation e-mail, the lady at the front quickly and kindly changed our room to a two bed which we appreciated very much. The hotel itself was old and some parts of our room were shabby but it was acceptable when compared to the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peregrines viajera
Business
Goshen, In
27 May 2014

Surprise room

The price was convenient for the location but the actual room was hard to find, I booked 1 room for 4 people expecting 2 queen beds, instead we got 3, that was GREAT, specially 1 in a private space, uncomfortable pillows and the door knob on the bathroom didn't work so we had to yell for help. Overall, looks nicer on the website than how really is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YanksRV23fan
New York
27 May 2014

Very disappointed

I have to say I was very disappointed with this hotel. The outside and lobby look great but the room was old and in need of repairs. Also, it wasn't clean when I checked in. There was hair in the bathtub and mud on the bathroom floor. The location was great but still not worth the price of the room. I would not recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKretschmer
Business
Reno, NV
27 May 2014

A good time

I was in town for a conference. Although I had to travel up town few miles to get to the conference site there was always a taxi and the staff was very helpful. No fridge or microwave in the rooms so that was unfortunate. The water pressure is also quite light and the water is not very warm. Parking on site is also $44 a night so if you can find something else I would advise it. The bed was wonderful though. The location is amazing and it really is a piece of history. Overall I really enjoyed the hotel and my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Around a $12 cab ride up to Devanti for italian food. Worth every penny the food was AMAZING and the staff was superb. Great atmosphere and some of the best Italian I have had.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveled410
Minnesota
26 May 2014

Beautiful View

The hotel has a perfect location but the rooms are a little dark and some upgrades are needed, perfect for a weekend trip, a little over priced for the quality of the rooms. I would only use this hotel if there was a good promotion going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the parks in Chicago, right off Michigan ave.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dunya
Detroit, michigan
26 May 2014

Good location!

I would stay here again based on the location and good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney happy hotel not so
chicago IL
26 May 2014

great location room is a bit dated

the bed was new and updated the bathroom was clean but the carpeting and some of the other furniture in the room could have used some attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victim of the Congress
Chicago, il
25 May 2014

Spooky Wedding Weekend

I was in a wedding that took place here, so naturally I booked my stay here. After booking, I heard it was haunted. Not wanting to scare myself completely, I avoided all readings on the hotel. Upon arriving to the hotel and taking a look around the lobby, I thought to myself... Ok a little dated but not bad. Completely different story once I walked upstairs. The corridors were straight from 'The Shining'... And once I walked into my room, forget about it! It was like I stepped back in time to a mediocre hotel room (not including the flat screen TV and parts of the bathroom. I left shortly after arriving and was not back until after the rehearsal dinner. I had to walk three corridors on my floor to get back to my room- the entire time I felt that someone was following me. I went to my room, got ready for bed, and kept the TV on while I slept (mainly because I was creeped out). Around 2:30am I woke up to my radio blasting some man's voice. I hit the radio and screamed 'leave me alone!' And it went silent. I checked to see if the alarm was on so it wouldn't happen again but it was turned off. Is this hotel haunted? I don't know.. But is it creepy? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caryl
Edgewood, WA
25 May 2014

A bad experience, lots of trouble

The first night our room had no heat (45 degrees in Chicago that day) and no hot water when we woke up. We complained, asked for a call from the manager which we never received. We did get moved to a new room the second night, after which we encountered no electricity in the bathroom outlet (had to call to get that fixed) followed by the toilet going on the fritz the next day, had to call about that too. Upon checking out and asking for full credit for the first day, we were told we could get "only $50 credit since you booked with a third party". My husband talked the manager into $27 additional credit, so we got $77 removed from a night's charge. We will not stay at that hotel again, and because we had little bargaining power with them, we will also not be booking with you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes