€123.59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 4 Sep 2014 Check-out 5 Sep 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,089 reviews
good expedience. get what you paid for

The room was clean. The lake view in my room itself was worth half of the money. The staff was... See full review

  • ali mohammad
  • 22 Aug 2014
Convenient Location

The Congress Hotel is in the middle of everywhere. Situated near a huge open park. You couldn't ask... See full review

  • Lazy man's lobster
  • 13 Aug 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1089)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1089 out of 1089
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marbles
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
9 Jun 2014

Need to appreciate old hotels to get this one

If there was an option for three and a half stars I would have gone with that. I had read the reviews and I have to say they may have been unfair. First this place is not your chic and trendy spot in any way shape or form. If that is what you want, you will be significantly disappointed. This place is old, historic, with a high cheesy factor however has character and charm because of it. When you walk around the place I cannot help but think of the old ambassador hotel in LA. This place feels like it just jumped out of an episode of MadMen. The cheeky cheesy light fixtures and yes a bit worn motif was unique however our lake front view was amazing. And how often can you stay someplace where the hotel crest is in the wall paper, curtains, shower curtain, carpet and towels?? I won't tell you the management couldn't do a bit better with a little fresh paint and a few fixes here and there...there are some things that could use a bit of TLC. However a total makeover would kill the history and charm of the place. No make over just some more care...like what they do to keep historical places in shape would go a long way. My gf desperately wanted to see some of the rumored ghosts...no such luck. Our view of the lake was amazing and we got to see the Navy pier fire works from our bed. The staff has all been extremely friendly and willing to help so they have clearly addressed that. The bar was copper topped! How often do ya get that nowadays?! Cheesy...yes. Old...yes. However we could have paid a lot more to stay at the nicer Palmer House and missed the million dollar lake view and it would have been such a shame to have missed it! Oh and no yellow water that we read about in other reviews. The tub did take forever in a day to drain but drain it did so give Congress Plaza a chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scoobysmama
Business
Beloit, WI
9 Jun 2014

Not horrible, but I wouldn't stay there again.

I was excited to see my gorgeous view of the lake out my window, but being on the lake side also meant a lot of noise. Cars honking and sirens until 10 or 11pm every night. I knew from the reviews that the hotel hadn't been updated much, but didn't expect the noisy in-room air conditioner and really old decor. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Def1
Ohio
9 Jun 2014

Nice and Interesting

A neat looking, historic hotel. Perfect location & pretty quiet for being right on Mich Ave. Clean. Nice staff. Neat architecture & much more character than most hotels. A very cool looking bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go Kayaking on the lake or river!! They have a few locations. We went twice. It was great fun.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lcee
lincoln, ne
6 Jun 2014

pricey

for paying over $200/night, we had the SMALLEST hotel room i have ever stayed in. AND i called ahead to tell them we had our toddler with us so we need a crib and if there was maybe a larger room to accommodate that would be great. after seeing the other rooms while they were being cleaned...we had THE smallest room. thanks for nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AvonWalker
Orland Park, IL
2 Jun 2014

Convenient, but needs a lot of work

This was our fourth year in a row staying for the Avon Walk. We love the location and the size of the rooms, but they definitely need maintenance. This the the third time we couldn't used the safe in our room. There were no batteries in it, so we called down. They sent a security officer about a half hour later, who asked if we were having problems with it, and wasn't told to bring batteries. He goes to get batteries, another half hour goes by, so we tell the front desk to forget about it, because it was already an hour later by then, 10pm, and we needed to be up at 4am. The security man comes back 10 min after that with batteries, which still doesn't make the safe work, then we're told we can either store our stuff in the vault downstairs or they can deliver a new safe in the morning. When we explained we had to leave at 5:30am for the Walk, they got an attitude and said it wouldn't be there by then, and told us to call when we "figure out what we want to do." Unbelievable. Don't advertise in-room safes if they don't work and can't be immediately replaced! We didn't feel comfortable leaving our gadgets with anyone else, so locked suitcases and Do Not Disturb signs were our security. The floors beneath the carpeting are very uneven in the rooms, there are holes in the walls from old fixtures, wood trim separating from the walls, our toilet rocked and there were holes in the floor next to its base, and the light switch outlet for the bathroom (oddly placed outside of the bathroom door) looked like it had been punched in, as there was a gap next to the outlet. This hotel is great for the location, but for the price, could be better. Unfortunately, hotels book up extremely fast months ahead for the Avon Walk weekend, so we get stuck booking this, as it's the only thing close to opening and closing ceremony, and doesn't cost $500+ like all the other hotels. I was hoping that by year 4 of being here, things would have been spruced up, but no such luck. Be careful for the quick valet guys who want to scoop up your luggage and put it in storage while you check in, just to make a quick buck. We didn't need this, and after literally the one minute we spent checking in, we had to wait for the man at the storage area to acknowledges us and give us our luggage. It may be handy for folks with lots of luggage or if there are long lines, but we could've been up in our room faster, had we have had our luggage in our hands. Oh and I hope you don't mind seeing an occasional cockroach. This was the second time we had one in the closet. Gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam from the suburbs
Lombard, IL
1 Jun 2014

Congress on Michigan Ave

The bathroom was so, so tiny. The room itself was average. There was construction/repairs going on in the next room at 7 am, which woke us up. The location was wonderful and we had fun going to Millennium Park and the Buckingham Fountain. It was also nice to have parking next door to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii 58
Honolulu Hi
29 May 2014

Great location and staff

Second stay at The Congress in three weeks,had wonderful room viewing the park and lake.The was a slight problem with my room on arrival but the staff took care of things right away. Will be back in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phh127
Colorado
28 May 2014

central location for a very reasonable price

The hotel is very old which is cool, but also showed in the wear and tear on the building. The wired internet did not work and was not able to be fixed by maintenance. Beds were fairly comfortable and rooms were about as clean as expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimita
New York
27 May 2014

Great location

The first thing I noticed when I arrived at the hotel was it's great location. It is right in front of the park, restaurants everywhere, right by trains. I stayed with a friend so we ordered for a two bed room but when we checked in and went to our room, it was a single bed. We checked with the front desk and found out that or-bitz had sent in a wrong request. After we showed our reservation confirmation e-mail, the lady at the front quickly and kindly changed our room to a two bed which we appreciated very much. The hotel itself was old and some parts of our room were shabby but it was acceptable when compared to the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azaghloul
London, Ontario
27 May 2014

Perfect Location

The location of the hotel was perfect for our family. Many attractions are within walking distance. I liked the old characteristic the hotel kept, I personally appreciate spacious rooms and love high cielings! It is old but clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes