€128.95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Jun 2015 Check-out 8 Jun 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1278 out of 1278
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moving to Schaumburg
Business
N/A
24 Apr 2015

night party

the hotel didn't state that it wouldn't have a fridge in the room and it took nearly an hour to request one from teh front desk. we had to call back because they somehow lost track of who requested it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ysmn
Business
Gainesville
23 Apr 2015

The oldest hotel ever

I booked the hotel only for it's location. Other than that, the hotel was the oldest hotel I've ever stayed. It has a fancy lobby, as usual. But when you go to upstairs, the hallways are dark and dirty. I stayed on it in April, which is still a cold month for Chicago, but the heating season was already over for the hotel. The weather forecast was 45F highest, and the receptionist told me that a lot of customers complained about how hot the rooms were, so they shot down the heating. I am glad they gave me a portable heater (which was not working and they changed it next day, and the second one was fine). Moreover, the safe box was not working, and there was not way to close it while it was not working. And the location of it was terrible, so I wasn't able to close the closet door because of the open safe box. Furthermore, the towels were different shapes and from different materials (a sign of oldness). The bat top drainage was clogged, and the toilet flash was not properly working. Last, the bed sheets were terribly old, and there were a lot of hair stick on them. It was not because they were dirty. They changed my sheets next day, and there were hairs again on the new ones. It sounds like exaggeration, but all of these are true. As I say, it's the oldest hotel I've ever stayed. But I give 2 stars for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wells82
Business
lexington
22 Apr 2015

trip for music festival

the location alone sells it for this hotel. The room was nice and the service was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
academic
Business
New Haven
21 Apr 2015

Good value for money.

I think it is good value for money - close to main attractions and quite affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon
Business
N/A
18 Apr 2015

All Brass, Marble and Carpet

I don't believe this hotel has been touched in over 80yrs. Everything about the rooms are just plain old. My dining experience at Rafaels (attached diner) was one of the worst dining experiences in a long time. A chicken sandwich took 30+ min and turned out to be 2 chx strips on toast. Good, free wifi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenneth B.
Business
N/A
14 Apr 2015

Columbia trip

Great location for our visit ti Columbia College. View was not good but room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureen K.
Business
N/A
13 Apr 2015

great overnite getaway.

It was a great experience being such an old hotel with so much history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica Cai
Business
N/A
13 Apr 2015

Decent place

Wonderful location and clean room. But the amenities are expected to be better given the high price~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meleeboo
Business
Phoenix
12 Apr 2015

Great vacay! Definitely booking this hotel in the future!

Hotel was nearby a lot of the sites that me and my sister visited. We literally just walked around and everything was super close by. Our room had a great view to the city and a very comfy bed which was upgraded for free from a queen to a king! :) Made our stay awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tori S.
Business
Kentwood
12 Apr 2015

Valentine's Day Weekend Getaway

We had a corner room with one king sized bed and it was incredibly small. However, with the price we paid and the location of the hotel, I would gladly risk staying in the same room again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes