€57.33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Apr 2014 Check-out 21 Apr 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
953 reviews
Great price! Awesome location!

Customer Service was awesome! Room was nice! Very happy camper!!!! See full review

  • New Beginnings
  • 2 Jan 2014
Historic Congress Plaza

Grand tall ceilings and Windows! Great service from staff! We had a 12th floor lakeside king room.... See full review

  • LMB52
  • 13 Dec 2013
Historic hotel on Michigan Avenue by Grant Park
Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park hotel enjoy value prices and a convenient location across from Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain, Millennium Park, the Art Institute and Lake Michigan. Designed to accommodate large groups, the 850-room hotel has hosted legions of tourists, conventioneers and even the nation’s presidents since the World’s Columbian Exposition in 1893. Its presence among Chicago architecture is unmistakable: Just look for the oversized sign in all red caps.
Highlights
  • Spectacular views of Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain, Lake Michigan
  • Two restaurants and a lounge on site
  • Wireless Internet in the lobby
Rooms
Rooms at the Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park hotel favor space over flash. Find rooms and spacious suites of various sizes -- many with lakefront views -- as well as high ceilings and parlor seating. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access are also available.
Features

The Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park serves as a top reception site for weddings, conferences and other formal events. The lobby with its massive mosaic-tiled ceiling inspires awe in both guests and architecture fans. More than 50,000 square feet of meeting space, including the gorgeous Gold Room with its gold-leaf covered walls and ceilings, lend opulence to any occasion.

Diners visit the Gazebo Restaurant, a casual restaurant serving breakfast and lunch, or Rafael's Steakhouse, a more intimate dinner venue. Cocktails and pub fare are available in the lounge.

Other property amenities include a barbershop, game room and fitness center.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/25.8 km)
  • Midway Airport (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Orange Line (Library) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (across the street)
  • State Street (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Buckingham Fountain (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Soldier Field (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking $44.00 for overnight parking
  • Self-Parking $39.00 for overnight parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (953)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
953 out of 953
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
Tom Hawk
Iowa City, IA
17 Mar 2014

Great location needs an update

We wanted a location near the museum campus and St. Patrick's Day activities, so this property was ideal for that purpose. It's clearly a grand hotel with a very ornate lobby. However, the corridors and rooms need updates. The rooms are cramped. My wife lamented the lack of comfortable armchairs in the room. The staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eleven City Diner was really good.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
Sherlock Holmes Ghost Hun
Ohio
17 Mar 2014

let's be honest. who goes to Chicago to actually stay in the hotel the whole time

Good hotel for the value. Doesn't have a microwave, or a refrigerator. The location is down the street a little ways from magnificent mile, but you can get to the mile by walking about 15 minutes, or by a taxi ride for about $6. Pretty much right across the street from the Buckingham fountain, and about a five minute walk from the Bean and Millennium park. Cool thing I didn't know about staying there is that it is the #1 most haunted hotel in Chicago. If you're afraid of ghosts, try and stay in the north tower if at all possible because the south tower has the most ghostly activity. Stay away from room 441(south tower), and stay away from the 12th floor. All in all, it kind of reminds you of the hotel in the movie "The Shining". A little creepy, but definitely beautiful inside. A lot of marble in the hotel. The concierge will tell you about haunted stories if you ask them. I'd definitely stay there again. Overall a very simple hotel. I get to cross off my bucket list, staying at a haunted hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minute walk to the magnificent mile, or $6 cab ride if you want to save your legs.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
Colleen B
Milwaukee, WI
17 Mar 2014

Location is the only redeeming quailty

I picked the hotel for the location on Michigan Ave. It is a great spot, but I know it wasn't a 5 star hotel. I was right about that one. First of all the place was very busy due to the St. Patrick's day Parade. I understand that but the desk clerk was so rude! I just asked (as I put in my preferences) to be away from the elevators. She huffed and puffed and said you did book at a discount travel site. Really? That gives you the right to be like that? Well then we got to the room. I don't even know how to describe it. First it gave us two double beds when I specifically asked for queen. I could deal with that. But the decor is right out of the cheap 70's and 80's. The wall paper was hideous and the matching vinyl curtains wouldn't shut all the way. The maroon colored carpeting was worn out.. The only thing half way decent was the bathroom. Looks like it was recently redone, even though it was done very cheaply. You could hear people talking from all the way down the hall way and doors slammed all night long. Some of this was due to the large number of people there, but the walls are paper thin regardless. I would not recommend staying here unless you really just need a place to lay your head in a good location on Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops on Michigan avenue are a short walk from there and lots of great places to eat in the area.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
KimKS
Machesney Park, Illinois
16 Mar 2014

St. Patrick's Day weekend

The staff was short with people and not very helpful. The room we stayed in was extremely small and was about 80 degrees. When we called to ask for help, we were told there was nothing that could be done. If we wanted it cooler, we needed to open the windows, which we did. However, it was so loud with the Chicago nightlife, we were unable to sleep. This hotel should not have been rated a 3.5. I have stayed in many hotels in Chicago and for the $225 I spent, it should have been more comfortable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
dads excursion
st louis mo
9 Mar 2014

short stay

Old hotel charm, great location. That is it. Beds need to be replaced. Bathtub drained very slow and did not drain completely for 10 minutes after the first person showered. Do not expect the hotel to help you flag a cab unless you tip upfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
Ahmed70
Egypt
5 Mar 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is clean but little old, staff are nice, wi fi is not free and expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
MeghanB
Lindenhurst, IL
3 Mar 2014

Classic Weekend

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Congress for the Stadium Series Classic weekend when the Blackhawks hosted the Pens at Soldier Field. The hotel was perfect, friendly, and warm. It was conveniently located right across from Grant Park. We'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
Rebecca14
Minnesota
27 Feb 2014

good trip

The hotel was reasonable. I expected that the hallways would be cleaner than they were. The room was reasonably clean, nice mattress and linens, towels with logos. The fitness room was outdated, with very old equipment that was still working, the lights in the room did not seem to work. The treadmill faced a window into the street so everyone could see you exercising. It did not feel safe to exercise in that room, although nothing had happened. They charge a separate, and high ($11 for 24 hours), fee for the Internet access. The location is great, it is easy to get everywhere by public transport. The hotel is close to both a subway station and several bus stops. There are reasonable places to eat and to use free wifi, there is also a pharmacy with some necessities nearby. Overall, it was a very reasonable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
TCMartin
New york
23 Feb 2014

College visit to Chicago

We received great service. Staff were willing to help us with all of our requests. Valet parking was great. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful - at all hours of the day. The rooms were clean and neat. Great price. We discovered we were right across the street from Colombia college - perfect location. Near train stations, restaurants and parks! Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
ARHA1
Business
Philadelphia
23 Feb 2014

Great location for Art Institute

Lovely historic building in great location for the Art Institute, the park, and public transit to other areas. It's a historic building, so, beautiful but maybe a little out of date in terms of amenities. This was not a major issue though -- the room was comfortable, clean, and nicely appointed. There is a charge for wifi access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes