€105.10 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2015 Check-out 29 Apr 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1213 out of 1213
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hotel for wedding
Business
Lake Villa
20 Feb 2015

Great Location, very old

We needed an inexpensive option for a wedding we had to attend. It was my husband, my and my sister-in-law in the room. We asked for a cot. The rooms are tiny though. So we actually had to rearrange the room in order to make it fit. The price compared to most hotels in the area was fantastic. The cleanliness of the room was good, but it is a VERY old hotel. Nothing has been updated. It is kind of cool in a way, however, I would a prefer newer updated stay. But was a good choice for a cheaper place to stay right off of Michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a working weekend
Business
Highland
18 Feb 2015

great overnight stay

close to my place of business. nice big room. clean. did not have time to check out amenities. will stay here again. great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJTWD
Business
Sandy Springs
17 Feb 2015

Last minute trip

Cozy, clean room. Pleasantly surprised for the price. Free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosa R.
Business
Addison
17 Feb 2015

Great location

Old hotel but the Location was perfect for what we needed to get done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Unhappy
Business
N/A
17 Feb 2015

Worst Stay Ever!

Hair all over bed, staff never came to clean the bed. They claimed we were in a newly renovated room. It was just newly painted. My husband and I left and found another hotel. Vintage isn't the word, old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stargazer 50
Business
Grand Rapids
10 Feb 2015

Weekend getaway

The lobby, etc was relatively up to date. The room was very dated, quite sparse in appointments. Wallpaper curling in spots, carpet worn. Bathroom was clean, to their credit. It is a facility that must have been quite grand in previous years, but sad at present state.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James C.
Business
Boston
9 Feb 2015

Great trip with my fiancé

Yes it is a little dated, but charming as well. Modern amenities, friendly staff, great location. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre district

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sabr a.
Business
sandy springs
9 Feb 2015

Classy yet affordable

I really enjoyed this hotel and the location even though there was record snow fall this year. The Van Buren train station and subway are nearby and easily accessible. Also there is an awesome burger joint that sells wonderful organic beef bugers called Epic Burger. But hold the epic sauce, its got wine in it. Only the well known Greenwich beef burgers are halal but are cooked separately. This hotel is so classy, and the doormen are very friendly and helpful as well as all the sweet people at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for it!!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike MI Man
Business
Grosse Pointe Woods
4 Feb 2015

Excellent Location

Well worth the money ($160.00/night) for that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
howard
Business
N/A
4 Feb 2015

business trip

Hotel didn't meet our satisfaction considering the location. Big disappointment. Definitely a 2-Star hotel once you leave the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes