€106.80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 2 Sep 2015 Check-out 4 Sep 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1179 out of 1179
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jillian V.
Couples
Sycamore
11 Jul 2015

Instantly upgraded!

I booked a single queen bed room. When I checked in they said I was upgraded to a lake side king room. Not sure why, but it was awesome. You obviously don't stay here for the modern amenities. You stay here for the location and history... And maybe some ghost hunting. Seriously Google it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer P.
Family
N/A
11 Jul 2015

Perfect Location!

Great experience at the Congress Hotel! Walking distance (with kids) to Navy Pier, parks, museum campus and the red line. Beautiful and spacious room and comfy beds. Tub didn't drain well but that was our only hiccup. Desk staff was helpful and efficient and answered all our questions! I will recommend it to anyone visiting the Windy City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia T.
Single
Wheat Ridge
10 Jul 2015

Amazing location, historic hotel

Hotel is old, charming, and with beautiful views of Lake Michigan. Great walking along Lake or to Navy Pier or Soldier Field or Institute of Art. Staff is very friendly, go out of their way to help. There is some street noise at lower levels. Older property has some challenges with hot water/pressure. But well worth the stay! Reasonable prices! Excellent restaurants on site. Friendly gift shop on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra K.
Couples
Ponte Vedra
7 Jul 2015

Nice Place for an Odd Trip

We're using the Congress as a place to stay while we switch apartments and it was a lovely place for the interim. Since we're not on vacation, it was nice and convenient to work and class and their staff was always attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC Big Daddy
Couples
N/A
2 Jul 2015

Enjoyed my trip to Chicago & staying at the Congress Hotel

I enjoyed my stay at the Congress Plaza Hotel. My room was clean & comfortable. I had 3 good meals at the hotel restaurants. Hotel is very good location. Hotel is a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kristine k.
Family
N/A
1 Jul 2015

worst hotel ever

This was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. It was so dumpy and the online pictures was so disseving. I should of gotten a refund on the hotel. I will never stay there again nor will i recommend that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chad h.
Friends
N/A
23 Jun 2015

Great Chicago visit

Hotel was perfect, great location , beautiful view, loved the price , staff was very nice and helpful to out of towners. Definitely ready to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zachary P.
Couples
Jacksonville
19 Jun 2015

good location

and that's it. Grant park across the street is the only thing this hotel has.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony G.
Business
N/A
15 Jun 2015

Comfort and cleaning

The room was large and spacious, but was not comfortable. Desk chair was uncomfortable to sit in and was the only chair available in the room. The cleaning staff did not do a good job. Sheets were not changed on a regular basis, coffee pot was not cleaned each day, rug was not vacuumed the entire week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherikyp
Friends
humboldt
13 Jun 2015

Girlfriends trip

Nice place to stay and conviently located downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes