€48.03 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Nov 2014 Check-out 24 Nov 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,121 reviews
A great place to stay

Even though it was a very busy time for them, they were all extremely nice to us and gave a great... See full review

  • Schatz814
  • 19 Oct 2014
Unbeatable location, good service

I stayed over the weekend at Congress Plaza Hotel. It was a good experience. It was among one of... See full review

  • Qile
  • 22 Sep 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1121)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1121 out of 1121
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlisonLovesFlowers
Business
Twin Cities, MN
31 Aug 2014

Past grandeur

The location was fantastic. The hotel was so-so, and for the chance to stay in a great location for a price I could manage, it was fine with me. The Congress Plaza clearly was a showplace, and not surprisingly the choice of presidents staying Chicago. That said, from what I read, the last one to stay there was FDR. The rooms were clean and very large. The halls, dated and worn but adequate. The Congress Plaza was as expected, not 5 star, but not 5 star prices either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The GoChicago 3-Day Pass was a good deal for us because we like to be on the move. We saw many attractions and didn't feel obligated to stay a long time at any of them, which we would have if we had paid full price at a museum. It was an intense and fun 3 days.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOPARKING39NIGHTLY
Business
FL
28 Aug 2014

Good Stay

Comfortable. HORABLE BEWARE....$89 TO PARK OVERNIGHT FOR 2 DAYS!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

NO PARKING

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clancy02
Business
Nebraska
28 Aug 2014

BIRTHDAY GETAWAY

it was to high to park your car each day at 44.00 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI Guy
Business
Wausau, WI
27 Aug 2014

Chicago getaway

Hotel is in a great location - very convenient to the parks and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
junkfoodbattery
Business
Traverse City, MI
27 Aug 2014

Great Value in the art district

My roommate and I booked this hotel for two nights while we stayed in Chicago to see a concert at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra opera house, which is only 3 blocks from this hotel location. The nightly rate is moderately priced, and compared to most of the other hotels in the area, one would either have to pay quite a bit more per night, or stay in a hotel of significantly lower quality. The front desk staff is easily the weakest link of the entire operation, from what I could see. We made our reservations on this site a couple of weeks in advance, and printed off the confirmation email that we brought with us. When we tried to check in to our hotel, the woman working at the front desk asked us for the card we reserved rooms with, then ran it, gave it back and asked for a different card because that one was declined. Neither of us had any cards with money/credit on them, because we had planned to use cash for the entire trip. When we asked her why she was trying to charge my roommate's card, she told us we had to pay a $50 security deposit for the room, which wasn't mentioned at any point online, at their website, or in the confirmation email. We told her we only had cash so she put a $25 pending charge on his card and accepted the other half of the deposit in cash. Then she told us only 1 night had been paid for, even though we had a receipt showing we paid for 2 nights. She quickly realized this was an error, but was still pretty curt with us for the entire check in process. The woman who returned our cash deposit upon checkout wasn't much friendlier. However, the bell hops were very friendly and helpful with finding us a cab to our bus station after checkout. The housekeepers were friendly but seemed disorganized. During our first night in the room we put a Do Not Disturb sign on our door. We left our room for a few hours, came back and found the sign was missing from the door and housekeeping had been in to make the bed and bring more towels. This was fine, but we were left without a sign after that, and about 30 minutes after this happened, housekeeping knocked again, and when we didn't reply right away they just let themselves in, which was a bit awkward. Shortly after that we had a message on our room phone from housekeeping saying they had noticed we didn't have a Do Not Disturb sign on our door, so if we needed anything please let them know. I didn't know they checked rooms at 5 in the afternoon, thankfully we were both fully clothed at the time they decided to just let themselves in after taking away our sign. Other than that, the room was immaculate, we had a great view from our window, high ceilings, an elevator that was almost *too* fast, and lots of friendly little amenities for the bathroom and otherwise. Typical things like an iron/board, mini safe, flatscreen TV with cable, coffee/maker, overpriced room service, etc. The location was the biggest perk though. We were within walking distance from several restaurants and bars in widely varying price ranges and didn't have to use a taxi or public transit for anything except getting to Chicago and back from Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We were only a short walk from Artist & Craftsman Supply, which is a fantastic 2-floor little art supply shop on South Wabash. Very reasonable prices on a large variety of art supplies and fun novelty items. The cashier recommended us to Reckless Records on East Madison, also a short walk away and a small shop with a large selection of old, new, popular, obscure & everything between vinyls, CDs, DVDs and even some video games.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1acy
Business
Jeffersonville, IN
25 Aug 2014

Needs Improvements in Staffing

When we arrived we asked specifically what the parking rates were. We were told the price for valet parking and asked if that were the daily rate or the rate for our entire stay and were told it was the rate for our stay. That turned out to be untrue. The rate we were quoted was the daily rate, so when we checked out we were taken aback by the bill. Since we were misinformed about the rates by a staff member, we asked if the clerk could discount the rate for us, but we were refused quite impolitely. We looked a little more closely at the bill, and it turns out that the bill said it was charged to an American Express card. We don't have an American Express card, and the last four digits on the receipt were completely unfamiliar to us. So apparently, our valet bill was charged to someone else. We brought this fact to the attention of the front desk clerk and she just shrugged it off. I find this pretty disturbing. The room was clean and neat, but was in overall need of renovation. The carpeting in the hallway was worn, and there was some peeling paint and quite a few nooks and crannies that could use a good deep cleaning. The small elevators sometimes posed a bit of an inconvenience, but the overall location of this hotel is spectacular. Very convenient to sightseeing, shopping, and public transit. The biggest issue that we could see was that the staff were less than friendly and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The bartender, however, was a highlight of our trip. Whenever we needed directions or a restaurant recommendation, we avoided the bad-tempered clerks at the front desk and instead asked the bartender in the lounge off of the main lobby who was always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When going to the Field Museum, public transit is not the best option to get there. We tried biking over, but the road routes are much less convenient than simply walking through the park. It's about a 15 minute walk, whereas the bike routes on surface streets are confusing and congested with automobile traffic. Much better to walk than to bike.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovePeace
Business
Saint Paul, Minnesota
24 Aug 2014

Wonderful stay

I spent one week in this hotel, it is really nice because of the offer I got for the price of each night. It has a wonderful location on Michigan Ave close to sea shore. The room is comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Shedd Aquariam, Hancock tower

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mubshah
Business
Abu dhabi
24 Aug 2014

Very good location

Good value for money. Spacious room but outside view was not that good. Fine location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient location

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill from Louisville
Business
Louisville, KY
23 Aug 2014

Chicago's Congress Plaza Hotel

The Congress Plaza is an older hotel, but was perfectly comfortable, clean, quiet, a great location with a view, and at a very fair price considering its location. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and probably will at some point in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parks and bikes are very near and accessible.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwestener
Business
Minnesota
22 Aug 2014

Summer in Chicago

For the location great price. The hotel is old and could use some general maintanence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes