€91.84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 10 Aug 2014 Check-out 12 Aug 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,510 reviews
nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I... See full review

  • silly Philly
  • 10 Jul 2014
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • 3 Jul 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1510)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1510 out of 1510
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MLVMLV
Hammond, IN
16 Jun 2014

Room 755 in the Tower - great

pleasant weekend stay for the Chicago Blues Fest - right in the middle of all of it - happy to be there - staff friendly and helpful - thanks, for the easy registration procedure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sherry bryant
naperville, il
16 Jun 2014

fantastic time

Great staff and great service. Next to everything we wanted to do. Good restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Augie53
indianapolis
15 Jun 2014

lakefront chicago

perfect view of grant park and the lake. Quiet room and great experience. Lobby brings you back to a golden age of relaxed stays and patrician elegance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the gardens at Millennium Park

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AustinEclectic
Business
Austin, TX
15 Jun 2014

Great view and historic beauty

I had a great stay at the Congress Plaza. I was in a lakeview room which overlooks the park from Navy pier to soldier field. There was only one small incident that made me wonder if the stories of this hotel being haunted were true :-). If you enjoy a historic hotel, this is a great place. If you are seeking modern design that hasn't been repainted over the past 100+ years, then this isn't for you. I found it gorgeous from the lobby tile-work to the ironwork in the stairwells and elevators with clock style floor indicator. I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dweezyteez
Business
Columbus, OH
14 Jun 2014

Staff needs to care more

My hotel room itself was fine. Nice spacious room, and wonderful view across Michigan Avenue. I didn't have any problem with the AC as some folks have mentioned. My main complaint was about the housekeeping efforts. My handtowels and washcloths were never replaced after the first day. They gave me new bath towels each day, but never seemed to remember to replace handtowels, so by the end of my 3-night stay, I didn't have any. Also, the glasses that I used in the room were never cleaned. Two of them stayed on my night stand half-filled with water the entire time. Aside from my room cleaning, the front desk staff was very slow and didn't have that "we're glad you're here" attitude. Additionally, the hotel is showing its wear, and there are simple things that the hotel isn't doing to keep it all fresh. Decorative paint is pealing by the registration desk, and the room furniture has lots of dings and chips in it that could be solved with some simple touch-up paint. In the end, it comes down to caring to do the best job possible, and I just didn't see it with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerDude
Kansas City
14 Jun 2014

Good Hotel

Nice hotel. Clean and located in a great spot. Location of the work out room is located outside the main doors of the building and you need to walk across the lobby to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
13 Jun 2014

bath drain

Ok experience, but the bath did not drain - told them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

use a cab

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie Sue
Morrison, IL
10 Jun 2014

Birthday gift

My husband and I were very comfortable and felt welcomed by the staff. I enjoy the "old" hotel atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marbles
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
9 Jun 2014

Need to appreciate old hotels to get this one

If there was an option for three and a half stars I would have gone with that. I had read the reviews and I have to say they may have been unfair. First this place is not your chic and trendy spot in any way shape or form. If that is what you want, you will be significantly disappointed. This place is old, historic, with a high cheesy factor however has character and charm because of it. When you walk around the place I cannot help but think of the old ambassador hotel in LA. This place feels like it just jumped out of an episode of MadMen. The cheeky cheesy light fixtures and yes a bit worn motif was unique however our lake front view was amazing. And how often can you stay someplace where the hotel crest is in the wall paper, curtains, shower curtain, carpet and towels?? I won't tell you the management couldn't do a bit better with a little fresh paint and a few fixes here and there...there are some things that could use a bit of TLC. However a total makeover would kill the history and charm of the place. No make over just some more care...like what they do to keep historical places in shape would go a long way. My gf desperately wanted to see some of the rumored ghosts...no such luck. Our view of the lake was amazing and we got to see the Navy pier fire works from our bed. The staff has all been extremely friendly and willing to help so they have clearly addressed that. The bar was copper topped! How often do ya get that nowadays?! Cheesy...yes. Old...yes. However we could have paid a lot more to stay at the nicer Palmer House and missed the million dollar lake view and it would have been such a shame to have missed it! Oh and no yellow water that we read about in other reviews. The tub did take forever in a day to drain but drain it did so give Congress Plaza a chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scoobysmama
Business
Beloit, WI
9 Jun 2014

Not horrible, but I wouldn't stay there again.

I was excited to see my gorgeous view of the lake out my window, but being on the lake side also meant a lot of noise. Cars honking and sirens until 10 or 11pm every night. I knew from the reviews that the hotel hadn't been updated much, but didn't expect the noisy in-room air conditioner and really old decor. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes