€128.95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Jun 2015 Check-out 8 Jun 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1278 out of 1278
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alyssa K.
Business
N/A
17 Mar 2015

Hotel had historical charm but that's it

The hotel is beautiful and clearly has a lot of history, but the inside is extremely outdated and my room was overall really gross. The carpet had stains all over it and I felt uncomfortable even walking around in my socks. The bathroom was super small and also very outdated. Although my sheets seemed clean, the comforter had a yellowish tone and also grossed me out. The hotel wasn't the worst, but it definitely wasn't the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABBP
Business
Bethesda
16 Mar 2015

Good Value and Great Location

This hotel might be located in an old building but it is definitely a great deal considering it is a wonderful downtown location. The staff is helpful and there are plenty of places to eat and enjoy just a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christopher C.
Business
South Bend
14 Mar 2015

Just OK

Fine for the money, but this is the only real reason to choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brad A
Business
New York
13 Mar 2015

Should be better

The hotel looks like it could have been something special decades ago, but it's been left to rot, feels very outdated, and some of the staff acts as though they're doing you a favor. As for location, it's perfect. I wouldn't discount the hotel completely. It is relatively inexpensive for Chicago and is perfectly located. But don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joechel
Business
Traverse City
10 Mar 2015

Congress Plaza

The hotel was lovely but worn. Everything seemed very clean and the antique feel was very nice but some aspects of the hotel were less quaint and antique-y and more just plain worn out. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was lovely. We had no idea about the haunted history of the hotel until after we checked out! The hotel is in a fantastic location and is an easy walk to many Chicago attractions and the view of the lake from our room was stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David H.
Business
N/A
4 Mar 2015

Short stay.

We needed a hotel in the South Loop and the Congress and it's affordability fit our needs. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My daughter and wife were unhappy with the water pressure in the shower. The place is a bit worn but clean and priced right for Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary m.
Business
N/A
3 Mar 2015

Perfect Hotel

Perfect place to stay when visiting Chicago. Close to everything and the staff is incredibly helpful and courteous. Great old time charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ilka H.
Business
Chicago
3 Mar 2015

Sweet 16 surprise

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel it was close to every thing so we was able to walk to all of our locations. Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monika G.
Business
Strongsville
25 Feb 2015

Family trip with 3 kids

The best view on the lake. Hotel clean, warm and comforatbel. Nice valet staff. No preoblems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jj
Business
washington
25 Feb 2015

convenient!

hotel was fine - a little run down but great location for the conference I was attending and near museums etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes