€99.17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 5 Apr 2015 Check-out 6 Apr 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1200 out of 1200
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WIuser
Business
N/A
26 Jan 2015

Great Location

It's an older hotel but it's clean and nice. The staff are friendly and you're within walking distance of lots of great stuff. Any time we've stayed here we could see the lake from our room also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lex B.
Business
N/A
22 Jan 2015

Better luck next time

I stayed at the Congress because it was the cheapest AND closest hotel to where a scientific conference was being held. That being said, this hotel was WAY overpriced. The bed was very hard. I could feel the springs and they definitely kept me up at night. The sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable. The cleanliness of the whole place is questionable. Some of the staff were really nice (especially the bellmen), but some were not so much (like the room service ladies). While the hotel is in a prime location, I don't think that's good enough of a trade-off for the horrible experience you'll have staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa K.
Business
Ann Arbor
22 Jan 2015

Great for a Bears Game!

Went to Chicago with my sister and Dad to take in a Lions v. Bears game at Solider Field. Couldn't have picked a better location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddy L.
Business
N/A
22 Jan 2015

nice experience

It was awesome staying at the hotel, nice room, beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveled410
Business
EXCELSIOR
18 Jan 2015

Girls night in town!

Great Location, but not the cleanest hotel. The price was right and that's why we chose it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zinzi
Business
Ann Arbor
17 Jan 2015

Family summer vacation

The Congress Hotel is the perfect location for exploring Chicago - Millenium Park and Fountain right across Michigan Ave, Art Institute just a couple blocks away, close to L, Metra, musuems, Willis Tower, etc. Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms are older, but very large and not noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norman Chou
Business
Glen Cove
17 Jan 2015

Great location & Good Value

Generally good. This hotel is located in the central area of Chicago and near Lake Michigan. It's quite close to most attractions in the city and a bus tour around Chicago starting from the hotel is available. Since this hotel is very old, the room is not that tidy and clean but is big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The famous Soldier Field is close to this hotel and you can take a short drive to that stadium.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travvel
Business
Tornado
17 Jan 2015

Great Location

Hotel is sort of shabby, but the location is superb. Beds are reasonably comfortable and the rooms are spacious. Staff is usually very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srinivasa K.
Business
Atlanta
15 Jan 2015

Nice hotel

Nice hotel. Only thing to think about is the high parking cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.M.H
Business
Ann Arbor
15 Jan 2015

Nice business trip

I like this hotel. It was very close to Convection center where I had a conference. It is also close to Grant park and Magnificent Mile which are all I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes