€109.31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 25 Aug 2015 Check-out 27 Aug 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1162 out of 1162
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stargazer 50
Business
Grand Rapids
10 Feb 2015

Weekend getaway

The lobby, etc was relatively up to date. The room was very dated, quite sparse in appointments. Wallpaper curling in spots, carpet worn. Bathroom was clean, to their credit. It is a facility that must have been quite grand in previous years, but sad at present state.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James C.
Business
Boston
9 Feb 2015

Great trip with my fiancé

Yes it is a little dated, but charming as well. Modern amenities, friendly staff, great location. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre district

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sabr a.
Business
sandy springs
9 Feb 2015

Classy yet affordable

I really enjoyed this hotel and the location even though there was record snow fall this year. The Van Buren train station and subway are nearby and easily accessible. Also there is an awesome burger joint that sells wonderful organic beef bugers called Epic Burger. But hold the epic sauce, its got wine in it. Only the well known Greenwich beef burgers are halal but are cooked separately. This hotel is so classy, and the doormen are very friendly and helpful as well as all the sweet people at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for it!!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike MI Man
Business
Grosse Pointe Woods
4 Feb 2015

Excellent Location

Well worth the money ($160.00/night) for that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
howard
Business
N/A
4 Feb 2015

business trip

Hotel didn't meet our satisfaction considering the location. Big disappointment. Definitely a 2-Star hotel once you leave the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Thomas
Business
N/A
4 Feb 2015

Grand Old Hotel

We loved our two days at the historic Congress Hotel. It was a pleasure just looking out our windows on the eleventh floor at Grant Park and Lake Michigan. The classic design of the hotel is maintained while all the amenities that one requires are there. Set in the midst of several private universities, the hotel offers its guests a variety of options for inexpensive dining in Chicago-centered and national chain restaurants. There is no need for a car when staying at the Congress since it is a five minute or less walk away from the CTA buses and "L." We took the Blue Line from O'Hare to La Salle Street and walked the three short blocks to the lakefront and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Orchestra Hall, the historic Auditorium Theater, and other legitimate theater venues are all within short walking distance of the hotel. World-class museums are also within walking distance.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gregory M.
Business
Woodstock
3 Feb 2015

Excellent View

The hotel is dated. You need to understand that you are getting what you pay for. Comfortable, clean and cheap. But, nothing else exciting about this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xiaoyue C.
Business
Rochester
27 Jan 2015

Awesome place to stay

Good place and good service. Very close to shopping mall, art institution, park, bus line and subways. You can find almost everything within walking distance. The only problem is that parking fee is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WIuser
Business
N/A
26 Jan 2015

Great Location

It's an older hotel but it's clean and nice. The staff are friendly and you're within walking distance of lots of great stuff. Any time we've stayed here we could see the lake from our room also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lex B.
Business
N/A
22 Jan 2015

Better luck next time

I stayed at the Congress because it was the cheapest AND closest hotel to where a scientific conference was being held. That being said, this hotel was WAY overpriced. The bed was very hard. I could feel the springs and they definitely kept me up at night. The sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable. The cleanliness of the whole place is questionable. Some of the staff were really nice (especially the bellmen), but some were not so much (like the room service ladies). While the hotel is in a prime location, I don't think that's good enough of a trade-off for the horrible experience you'll have staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes