€106.80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 2 Sep 2015 Check-out 4 Sep 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1181 out of 1181
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Umbrella Dude
Business
Harmony
26 Mar 2015

Old building

Great location on the waterfront. Old building that needs some upkeep. Good price for the area but still more than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington
22 Mar 2015

Classic Chicago

This hotel was located in a great spot. I only wish I lived closer to Chicago, so I could go there more often and stay at this hotel. And to eat more deep dish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott T.
Single
N/A
17 Mar 2015

Worn out.

Fantastic location for a tired, worn-out and not well maintained hotel. And no hot water in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABBP
Couples
Bethesda
16 Mar 2015

Good Value and Great Location

This hotel might be located in an old building but it is definitely a great deal considering it is a wonderful downtown location. The staff is helpful and there are plenty of places to eat and enjoy just a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christopher C.
Business
South Bend
14 Mar 2015

Just OK

Fine for the money, but this is the only real reason to choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brad A
Business
New York
13 Mar 2015

Should be better

The hotel looks like it could have been something special decades ago, but it's been left to rot, feels very outdated, and some of the staff acts as though they're doing you a favor. As for location, it's perfect. I wouldn't discount the hotel completely. It is relatively inexpensive for Chicago and is perfectly located. But don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joechel
Couples
Traverse City
10 Mar 2015

Congress Plaza

The hotel was lovely but worn. Everything seemed very clean and the antique feel was very nice but some aspects of the hotel were less quaint and antique-y and more just plain worn out. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was lovely. We had no idea about the haunted history of the hotel until after we checked out! The hotel is in a fantastic location and is an easy walk to many Chicago attractions and the view of the lake from our room was stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David H.
Family
N/A
4 Mar 2015

Short stay.

We needed a hotel in the South Loop and the Congress and it's affordability fit our needs. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My daughter and wife were unhappy with the water pressure in the shower. The place is a bit worn but clean and priced right for Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ilka H.
Family
Chicago
3 Mar 2015

Sweet 16 surprise

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel it was close to every thing so we was able to walk to all of our locations. Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monika G.
Family
Strongsville
25 Feb 2015

Family trip with 3 kids

The best view on the lake. Hotel clean, warm and comforatbel. Nice valet staff. No preoblems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes