€92.63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 6 Oct 2014 Check-out 8 Oct 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,097 reviews
good expedience. get what you paid for

The room was clean. The lake view in my room itself was worth half of the money. The staff was... See full review

  • ali mohammad
  • 22 Aug 2014
Convenient Location

The Congress Hotel is in the middle of everywhere. Situated near a huge open park. You couldn't ask... See full review

  • Lazy man's lobster
  • 13 Aug 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 km
  • Grant Park: 0.5 km
  • Printers Square: 0.5 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 km
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 km
  • State Street: 0.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 km
  • Yacht Club: 1 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 km
  • Macys: 1 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 km
  • City Hall: 1.1 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.2 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.4 km
  • Marina City: 1.5 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.5 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.6 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1.7 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.7 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 2 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.1 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 2.1 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.1 km

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1097)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1097 out of 1097
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blokeintheusa
Business
Minneapolis
12 Jul 2014

Customer Service does not seem to be a priority

Poor customer service and musty smells. It was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
silly Philly
Peoria, Illinois
10 Jul 2014

nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I recommend the garage around back. The hotel is a little older which adds to the fun and character of staying here. Room was really nice and clean. View was awesome! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cubs fan 21
Chicago, Illinois
7 Jul 2014

Good for the price

The hotel is definitely a little out of date and past its prime but still has a nice old charm to it. The pillows were not very comfortable and the TV wasn't too great but you can't beat the price and location. Would stay again if I was trying to keep things cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn and Mallory
Peoria, Illinois
7 Jul 2014

Family Fun

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 year old. The room was huge and worked well for us. The a/c really worked, which would've been great for hot weather, but it was fairly mild while we visited. The hotel has a perfect location. Can walk everywhere. Our floor was under some major renovations but it didn't effect our stay. The rooms are old, but charming. The bed was a bit harder then we like and you can here a lot of street noise even from the eleventh floor. Overall it met our needs and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1st hotel to disappoint
Birmingham, AL
4 Jul 2014

Disappointed

My reservation was not there or acknowledged until a long 45 minute telephone call. I had a printout with confirmation numbers so they could not deny me yet I felt that they wanted to. Big wedding in the hotel was all they were addressing. I felt staff were resentful of guests and slow to help. Room was small but water was slow and never got past warm in shower. Loud bathroom fan ran with light so you could not "hear yourself think" in bathroom. It could not be turned off. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terri and Sherrill
Denver, NC
3 Jul 2014

Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and all the attractions. Everything in walking distance or a short cab ride. What a memorial family get together. The ambience of this hotel is incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
22swim22
Minnesota
2 Jul 2014

great location....but that's it

The hotel is in a fantastic location and was at a very reasonable rate. The lobby was beautiful, but the rest of the hotel is a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn the subway....not as scary as you might think and saved a ton of money on cabs and tour buses.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joseph s d
chicago ill
2 Jul 2014

personal trip

close to the place I needed to go to was close to the office I needed to be at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali Angie
California
30 Jun 2014

Gets the job done

Hotel is totally outdated but that gives it character. Beds were comfy, which is most important to me when I travel as I only use the room to shower and sleep. Didn't see any creepy crawlers which is an even bigger plus! Location is PERFECT on Michigan ave, across from the park and a few blocks from Millennium. The price was right on! And I missed my first night at the hotel because my flight was cancelled and they refunded me for it! That's awesome and unheard of nowadays. Kudos to the hotel for that. Didn't have much interaction with the staff bc I'm pretty self-sufficient and as I said before, i'm only there to sleep. First time in chi-town and I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GRL1
Ellisville, IL
30 Jun 2014

Faded glory

The Congress looks nice in the common areas but underneath it needs a remodel. The lobby is nice the staff is friendly and helpful, our room however was lost in the sixties. The decor was outdated, the wallpaper was pealing the bathroom fixtures were rusted and the beds were hard and only double beds. The food in the restaurants was very good and the servers did a very good job but it was expensive and it took a long time to arrive. The parking garage staff were very friendly and willing to help but beware it is $39 a night to park. Overall The Congress is really close to being a very nice place to stay. It is just missing that extra something to make it a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes