€105.10 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2015 Check-out 29 Apr 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1213 out of 1213
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wiees
Business
sterling
16 Dec 2014

Old hotel but a clean one

Great position on Michigan avenue which is full of restaurants and shopping areas but the hotel is old building and no microwave or refrigerator in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aaron w.
Business
madison
16 Dec 2014

Favorite place to stay in Chicago

Great value for the money and great location. Close to cool things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sultanamaria
Business
Medford, nj
9 Dec 2014

Interesting

Very cool historic building, yet when you enter the room it looks like a jail cell and you can feel the springs in your back when you lay on the bed. Not impressed at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merkie
Business
Houston, TX
8 Dec 2014

Great location. Great Price

The hotel is old, but still clean and an incredible location. It's only a 3 block walk to the art institute and a little further for all the shopping. Great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eager traveller
Business
Terre Haute, Indiana
30 Nov 2014

Exciting weekend trip

We stayed at the Congress Plaza for two nights while we went on a weekend getaway to downtown Chicago. The location was nice, within walking distance to many touristy sites. The hallways were hard to navigate, as weird as that may sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayday shower
Business
Urbana
29 Nov 2014

Thanksgiving Trip

When I booked this hotel it said that the breakfast will be included, however, when we got to the hotel, they said that breakfast will be free only if we booked the room through the hotel website, The carpet in the room smells really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtnizzle
Business
Omaha
28 Nov 2014

Meh

Room was ok I guess. Not what we were looking for for a romantic weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Professor
Business
Columbus, Ohio
24 Nov 2014

Great location, noisy if near the L

I stayed at the Congress Plaza for 5 days for a recent work trip and found that it worked fine for my needs. The location was perfect, very close to the conference I was attending and near attractions like the art museum. It is also easy to get there via the L, which I liked. The hotel seems very old, a bit dingy. And my room was on the back of the hotel, which meant it looked out over Wabash Street and the trains. It was pretty noisy during the day. But the room was clean, the people were friendly, and the noise actually didn't bother me at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reviewer 108
Business
Iowa
24 Nov 2014

Basics missing

The Congress has a fine location and I got in for a reasonable price. The atmosphere of decayed elegance isn't bad. But basic services were poor: hot water pressure was very low, room wifi was unusable most of the time, and it took them 3 days to repair a major plumbing leak in my bathroom. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Panthers Fan California
Business
San Francisco, CA
23 Nov 2014

Sparse on amenities, not on price

This hotel is good if you're looking for something cheap. It's definitely not luxurious though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes