€71.66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Apr 2014 Check-out 21 Apr 2014

Hilton Chicago

4 stars
720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
210 reviews
Friends in Town

staff was friendly and professional; made us feel welcomed and comfortable. The hotel is very quite... See full review

  • Karen Friends in Town
  • 9 Mar 2014
Free upgrade to a lakeview room for free without even asking

Staff was very nice and helpful, location is perfect, everything is in walking distance! See full review

  • charlie83
  • 10 Jan 2014
Mag Mile hotel close to Grant Park, Museum Campus and Lake Michigan
Hilton Chicago guests have the lake and Mag Mile outside their windows and at their front door, an enviable position for the many conventioneers and tourists who flock to the Windy City every year. Across from Grant Park, the 1,544-rooms retain a traditional look, but are equipped with modern conveniences like flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Kitty O'Shea's, the on-site Irish pub, makes for a cozy spot to indulge in shepherd's pie and a pint of Guinness.
Highlights
  • Mag Mile hotel across from Grant Park and other Chicago landmarks
  • Ample convention space
  • 1,544 traditionally-styled rooms equipped with Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs
  • Kitty O'Shea's Irish pub
Location
Perched on the Mag Mile -- Chicago's famous boulevard for shopping and landmarks -- Hilton Chicago maintains a high-profile presence and instant access to Grant Park, Lake Michigan, Museum Campus, Millennium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. Guests simply have to walk to some of the city's best shops, restaurants and bars from the property or take advantage of ample bus and train lines nearby.
Rooms
Hilton Chicago rooms embody traditional sophistication. Neutral colors complement heavy wood furniture, from gold-trimmed nightstands and headboards to handsome media cabinets. Guests have a choice, too, thanks to an inventory of 1,544 rooms -- ideal for conventioneers and tourists looking to stay on the Mag Mile. Crown molding and valances in some rooms add extra touches of elegance. Windows have city or Lake Michigan views. Standard amenities include La Source from Crabtree & Evelyn bath products, European linens, 27-inch flat-screen TVs and wired or Wi-Fi access.
Dining
Hilton Chicago brings a taste of Ireland to Chicago with Kitty O'Shea, the resident wood-heavy Irish pub, where diners wash down Celtic favorites like shepherd's pie and fish 'n chips with creamy pints of Guinness. For a hearty breakfast buffet, patrons visit The Pavilion, which dishes up 40 items on the stations. The restaurant is open all day.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Midway International Airport (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Art Institute (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • McCormick Place (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • John Hancock Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.7 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • More than 234,000 square feet of event space
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8725 -87.6248
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 19.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, SW; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.2 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 km
  • Printers Square: 0.4 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.5 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Grant Park: 0.2 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 km
  • Printers Square: 0.4 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.5 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 km
  • Yacht Club: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.3 km
  • Macys: 1.3 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.3 km
  • Harris Theater: 1.3 km
  • City Hall: 1.4 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.5 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.5 km
  • Opera House: 1.5 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 km
  • Marina City: 1.8 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 1.9 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.9 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 2.1 km
  • Chicago Chinatown: 2.3 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2.3 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.4 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

3
DRLA
VA
5 Dec 2011

Weekend in Chicago

The room had no view and it was loud and small. There was someone whistling out on the street the whole time and car horns were honking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

2
Need some sleep
Business
Delaware, USA
24 Nov 2011

Great location, but service needs work

A beautiful hotel inside and out- the grandeur is really something to look at and it is in a great location for getting around Chicago. The room, however, was very uncomfortable. Upon check in the temperature in my room was a stuffy 78 degrees. I adjusted the thermostat and when I returned after a night out, it was still 78 degrees. I called the desk and was told to open my window, which I did- the full 3 inches it would open- and tried to sleep. It was extremely uncomfortable. The heat literally continued to blow all night. At 2 a.m., I got up and figured out how to turn off the entire unit with a switch near the ceiling. In the morning, the temperature had dropped 2 whole degrees and I again went to the desk and explained the problem. I was told someone would go into the room and fix it. When I went back up at app. 7 p.m. after a day at a conference, it was once again 78 degrees and the only noticeable change was that the unit was turned on again. The following morning (after waking up late because I didn't receive my 6 a.m. wake up call which the woman at the desk supposedly put in for me....) I went again to the desk, but was basically dismissed by the gentleman working. I was checking out that day anyway so I guess he thought it didn't really matter. In short, I spent two very hot and uncomfortable nights in a hotel that nickel and dimes you for every amenity. Maybe if they regulated their temperature better they could save some money on heat and provide free Wi-fi and gym services to guests...seriously, I could go to the coffee shop down the street and get online for free, but couldn't in the hotel where I am already spending hundreds of dollars. Overall, not impressed and would not chose to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
Dr. RC
California
7 Nov 2011

Great value, great pricing

Although the room lacked certain amenities like a refrigerator and a safe, I was very pleased with the room for the price. Parking was on the high end ($43/night) but offset by the good room price The location was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

2
Sleepless in Chicago
Cleveland, OH, USA
25 Oct 2011

Broken bed

Stellar spot, beautiful room, but... our bed was bent in middle causing major sag to manifest late at night. Sleepless first night and resulting aching back for next day . Room service fixed bed for second night, but offered no adjustment for lousy first night. Spending $300+ per night one would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
boilerdiva
Business
Indiana, USA
24 Oct 2011

Business trip

The room was perfect. It was a nice size and had a great view. The bathroom was a nice size as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

5
SMH34
Wisconsin
17 Oct 2011

Great spot

Great spot. Exceptional front desk staff. Excellent service. Efficient. Timely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
ra0622
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
17 Oct 2011

Comfortable place to stay for a work trip

Everything worked out well there except that I thought there were a couple hidden costs that seemed a bit exorbitant. It was $40 to get an extra cot for our room, which seemed a bit much. Also, we got a few boxes shipped ahead of time for a conference, and when we called ahead of time, they never mentioned that we'd have to pay a fee to have them received there. It ended up being over $100 to do that. Otherwise, the staff we interacted with were great, and the room was more than comfortable. As a bonus, we had two bathrooms in our double bed room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

3
JimmyK
Detroit, MI, USA
12 Sep 2011

Weekend Trip

Nice hotel, good for what we needed last minute. We were able to bring our dog also, but there was an extra charge for the dog to stay which we did not expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
Michael S
Valrico, Florida
5 Sep 2011

Comfortable room; however, security a concern

Hotel was very comfortable; however, we had a security concern. Received a call at 5:00am from the desk, asking us if we knew a Patrick; we responded with a no. A few minutes later, a man came up to our room and said open the door. We called security. The man disappeared before security arrived. The first concern, is why did the desk even call our room, as the man obviously didn't know our name, And the second concern, why didn't security monitor the man's whereabouts in the hotel, as he was obviously a suspicious character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Artest diner

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
OUsoccer
Madison, WI, USA
29 Aug 2011

Stay executive, bring cash for extras

We've been here before - great location to museums and tourist parks. Local blues joint right next door is nice. 10-15min walks to some major theaters, a bit further walk to river north stuff and navy pier - gotta cab it. Bus routes and metra nearby and cheap, but some bus schedules are every 20- 30min! Metra is easy. We like the pampering with executive stay, the rooms are higher and usually get a better view. We have stayed basic and it was average for Chicago (which is better than your local big city), but try to request room not facing the brick walls - the shape of the hotel usually puts you facing a wall, not the city/lake/park. Also take extra cash for tipping, it makes the staff happier and you won't be a fool when you budget for it. Don't forget parking and taxis in your budget either - nothing is cheap. (Parking across street is way cheaper but the hotel tries to scare you from it with ideas of thievery. We went 5 days no problem.) Hotel itself has Irish bar/food/music - great atmosphere, moderate menu. Plus another restaurant and basic bar onsite - priced for the area. (But there are good, short-cab-ride-away, food joints that you should check on if you have time.) Front staff are polite and helpful, concierge did their job (albeit non-lovingly), and cleaning crew added nice touches. Rooms are clean, and are somewhat updated (new stuff over old stuff, esp. if you are looking for it or to complain, which you could but) ... this hotel IS a part of chicago history, so it's nice to see how it has kept up with the times. She's an aging lady with gracefully loaded makeup, sitting on the best view of Grant Park (if you get it right)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

right across street is Buddy Guys Legends for bar and bar food and some soulful blues. Charge on the weekends, but worth it - you're in Chicago! Also, more fun entertainment is above river north area, so expect to pay for mild taxi rides + tip for most stuff. In 5 min walking distance are 2 GREAT food joints. 1 is breakfast mostly: Bongo Room - GET the french toast and share the egg benne. 2 is Eleven City Diner! both breakfast and lunch is great - this place persuades me to stay in Chicago "just one more night" to eat there the next day! Do the pastrami (they got turkey pastrami for non beef eaters) sandwich - you won't go wrong, classic jewish deli. PS GREAT bloody marys! The Irish bar here has nice music on weekends - check it out before you go out OR for us older peeps, when you get back from dinner!

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes