€83.00 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 2 Sep 2014 Check-out 3 Sep 2014

Hilton Chicago

4 stars
720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
247 reviews
An experience

As always we had a great stay at the Chicago Hilton. See full review

  • The traveler 42
  • 29 Aug 2014
Overnight stay

We had a great experience at the Hilton. We went overnight for a quick getaway for our anniversary.... See full review

  • Cma runner
  • 24 Aug 2014
Mag Mile hotel close to Grant Park, Museum Campus and Lake Michigan
Hilton Chicago guests have the lake and Mag Mile outside their windows and at their front door, an enviable position for the many conventioneers and tourists who flock to the Windy City every year. Across from Grant Park, the 1,544-rooms retain a traditional look, but are equipped with modern conveniences like flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Kitty O'Shea's, the on-site Irish pub, makes for a cozy spot to indulge in shepherd's pie and a pint of Guinness.
Highlights
  • Mag Mile hotel across from Grant Park and other Chicago landmarks
  • Ample convention space
  • 1,544 traditionally-styled rooms equipped with Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs
  • Kitty O'Shea's Irish pub
Location
Perched on the Mag Mile -- Chicago's famous boulevard for shopping and landmarks -- Hilton Chicago maintains a high-profile presence and instant access to Grant Park, Lake Michigan, Museum Campus, Millennium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. Guests simply have to walk to some of the city's best shops, restaurants and bars from the property or take advantage of ample bus and train lines nearby.
Rooms
Hilton Chicago rooms embody traditional sophistication. Neutral colors complement heavy wood furniture, from gold-trimmed nightstands and headboards to handsome media cabinets. Guests have a choice, too, thanks to an inventory of 1,544 rooms -- ideal for conventioneers and tourists looking to stay on the Mag Mile. Crown molding and valances in some rooms add extra touches of elegance. Windows have city or Lake Michigan views. Standard amenities include La Source from Crabtree & Evelyn bath products, European linens, 27-inch flat-screen TVs and wired or Wi-Fi access.
Dining
Hilton Chicago brings a taste of Ireland to Chicago with Kitty O'Shea, the resident wood-heavy Irish pub, where diners wash down Celtic favorites like shepherd's pie and fish 'n chips with creamy pints of Guinness. For a hearty breakfast buffet, patrons visit The Pavilion, which dishes up 40 items on the stations. The restaurant is open all day.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Midway International Airport (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Art Institute (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • McCormick Place (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • John Hancock Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.7 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • More than 234,000 square feet of event space
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8725 -87.6248
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 19.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, SW; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.2 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 km
  • Printers Square: 0.4 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.5 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Grant Park: 0.2 km
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 km
  • Printers Square: 0.4 km
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.5 km
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 km
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 km
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1 km
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 km
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 km
  • Yacht Club: 1.2 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.3 km
  • Macys: 1.3 km
  • Soldier Field: 1.3 km
  • Harris Theater: 1.3 km
  • City Hall: 1.4 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.4 km
  • Union Station: 1.5 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.5 km
  • Opera House: 1.5 km
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 km
  • Marina City: 1.8 km
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.8 km
  • Hull House Museum: 1.9 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.9 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 2.1 km
  • Chicago Chinatown: 2.3 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2.3 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.4 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosadara
Wisconsin, USA
27 Dec 2011

Nice, simple

This is a very nice, old world hotel. About a 20 minute walk from the real action of downtown, close to Grant Park, Art Museum etc. Nice staff and great complimentary breakfast. The room was kind of small but nice. A good deal all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suburbanite
Crystal Lake, IL
27 Dec 2011

Quick Stay

Attended a function at the hotel and appreciated a good, clean, comfortable room that allowed us to avoid going outside during a Chicago winter night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music Doc
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
27 Dec 2011

Excellent stay, but . . .

We were upgraded to a room with two baths, but had to have someone come to fix the water valve in one of them. On our second night there, a lot of teenagers/young adults were running up and down the hallway til all hours yelling at the top of their lungs. Security should have been patrolling to avert this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mybrothergeorge
Business
Philadelphia
21 Dec 2011

Decent value, a little big for my taste

The Hilton Chicago is certainly nice enough for the price I paid, but it's not spectacular. Some of the amenities and necessities (e.g., bathroom fixtures) are dated and only mostly functional, but the room was generally clean and quiet. Staff was good and friendly enough when I encountered them, but lord, the hotel is huge. I wandered around for a couple of minutes before I found the registration desk. I'd prefer a smaller, perhaps more updated hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to use the El, there's a Red Line station just a couple blocks away. Even walking, it's only a short trip to the Loop.

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erin Kay
Detroit, MI, USA
19 Dec 2011

Luxurious value for budget price!

The hotel was gorgeous, particularly decked out in it's holiday best! First impression upon entry was of the grand, ornate lobby with its giant glittering Christmas tree! Gorgeous and immediately set the mood. Staff was extremely professional and met every need promptly. Bonus was the breakfast buffet to which we were given free passes - a very pleasant surprise as this was not noted as part of the package when booking. Only slightly disappointing was that the rooms were in need of a decor update and baths were quite small. I understand, though, that the hotel is in the midst of a renovation, so this may soon be a mute point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book dinner reservations well in advance - days perhaps - during the holiday season!

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tayaung
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
12 Dec 2011

Nice location

I stay there for a night and I had a great service. When I ask them questions such as "what is close by from this hotel?" or "how do I get to the places that I need to go from here?" one of the gentleman assisted me to the from desk and from there I can more places then I want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunflower11
Orange County California
8 Dec 2011

Family Trip

Hilton on Michigan was absolutely beautiful - staff was prompt, helpful and courteous - location was excellent - close to transportation - we had a lake view - room was super clean - only downside was internet didn't work in the room and the express check-out option via the phone wasn't really clear how it worked other than that it was an amazing hotel and I would definetly stay there the next time I go to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

HopOn-Hopoff bus was directly outside of hotel entrance and tickets were sold at the concierge in the Hilton - very convenient - all resturants were within walking distance

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRLA
VA
5 Dec 2011

Weekend in Chicago

The room had no view and it was loud and small. There was someone whistling out on the street the whole time and car horns were honking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need some sleep
Business
Delaware, USA
24 Nov 2011

Great location, but service needs work

A beautiful hotel inside and out- the grandeur is really something to look at and it is in a great location for getting around Chicago. The room, however, was very uncomfortable. Upon check in the temperature in my room was a stuffy 78 degrees. I adjusted the thermostat and when I returned after a night out, it was still 78 degrees. I called the desk and was told to open my window, which I did- the full 3 inches it would open- and tried to sleep. It was extremely uncomfortable. The heat literally continued to blow all night. At 2 a.m., I got up and figured out how to turn off the entire unit with a switch near the ceiling. In the morning, the temperature had dropped 2 whole degrees and I again went to the desk and explained the problem. I was told someone would go into the room and fix it. When I went back up at app. 7 p.m. after a day at a conference, it was once again 78 degrees and the only noticeable change was that the unit was turned on again. The following morning (after waking up late because I didn't receive my 6 a.m. wake up call which the woman at the desk supposedly put in for me....) I went again to the desk, but was basically dismissed by the gentleman working. I was checking out that day anyway so I guess he thought it didn't really matter. In short, I spent two very hot and uncomfortable nights in a hotel that nickel and dimes you for every amenity. Maybe if they regulated their temperature better they could save some money on heat and provide free Wi-fi and gym services to guests...seriously, I could go to the coffee shop down the street and get online for free, but couldn't in the hotel where I am already spending hundreds of dollars. Overall, not impressed and would not chose to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. RC
California
7 Nov 2011

Great value, great pricing

Although the room lacked certain amenities like a refrigerator and a safe, I was very pleased with the room for the price. Parking was on the high end ($43/night) but offset by the good room price The location was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes

Change search

Need help to book?

Hotel Map