€119.62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 Nov 2014 Check-out 10 Nov 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
112 reviews
excellent

The hotel is very clean! The staff was helpful and patient with all of our questions. The location... See full review

  • td and cl
  • 16 Sep 2014
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • 5 Jul 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 km
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 km
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 km
  • Marina City: 0.5 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 km
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 km
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 km
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 km
  • Marina City: 0.5 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 km
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 km
  • Water Tower: 0.8 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 km
  • Macys: 0.9 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • City Hall: 1 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 1.2 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 1.3 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.3 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 km
  • Children Museum: 1.4 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.5 km
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.5 km
  • Navy Pier: 1.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.7 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mousey1958
Business
Winnipeg,manitoba
13 Jul 2013

Holiday

I would stay there again.great location .right downtown close to subway & magnificent mile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
24 Apr 2008

Last Resort

When I got there to check in, 4 hours after 'check-in time', my room still had not been cleaned. After an hour, that had been taken care of. But by that time, I was late for work......having to 'log' in to work as soon as I arrived, I was not able to have an acceptable internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ex Chicago gal
Business
Los Angeles
22 May 2012

Acceptable accommodations.

The kitchen, bedroom and bath were fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. The worst thing is the sofa sleeper. My son accompanied me on this trip and had to sleep on a thin mattress and felt the mechanism with every move he made. He thought it was the worst thing that he ever slept on. The decor is very dated and the duvet cover in the bedroom is a horrible polyester fabric, but it is lined with cotton and the sheets and towels are a very nice quality. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. They served eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, fruit, bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, oatmeal, juices and coffee. Definitely enough to get you through the morning and well into the afternoon. The location of the hotel is very good. You can walk to Rush St., Michigan Avenue, Oak Street, the river, and Millennium Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take one of the architectural river cruises. It is a great way to view some wonderful examples of modern buildings and historical ones. We took the Shoreline cruise which is only an hour and our guide was informative and very funny. He probably does this during the day and works at Second City at night.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, ohio
29 Nov 2009

convenient to shopping

all in all, no problems. Was very busy and stressed morning breakfast. but was okay. Very convenient to the El.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
31 Jan 2010

Great Hotel....rip off parking

Wonderful hotel.....will go back long as I don't need a car and only have to work downtown. Parking fees of $42 per night are outrageous taking away the value we felt we got with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunda.....great restaurant

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaNa from FDL
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
14 Jan 2014

Great experience

The hotel location is perfect-- just off Michigan Avenue. For the location and affordable price, the suites / rooms are surprisingly very large and include a large kitchen. They also allow for extended parking (more than 24 hours) for one flat fee through their valet service, which is cheaper than public garages. The hotel also includes a complimentary weekend breakfast that was satisfying. I stayed here for a conference in Chicago, but would definitely come back for vacation and think the separated spacious kitchen / living room area and bedroom make it very comfortable for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tembabe
Business
Wisconsin
24 Feb 2014

Great Location & Price...but beware of parking fee!

Great price for the location but was unaware of the parking fee which was another $50! I know it's Chicago and downtown but really? Amenities were great and the best part is it has a pool and breakfast was included. That's always a plus. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have your parking fee validated for the N. Grand parking ramp (where we parked) if you spend at least $20 at Bed Bath and Beyond or Jewel Osco...but that's if you are only there for an hour. Otherwise it's $41 for overnight.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegaBus Mommas
Business
Cincinnati
26 Mar 2014

Girls Getaway

Our three-day, two-night stay was a Chicago whirlwind made easier by Manager Jason and his friendly staff. Doors opened, cabs hailed, smiles given. Hot breakfast and a Monday dinner made life easy, too! We took in a musical, shopped too much, and made our way to the Steve Harvey Show--thanks for all the directions. We'll return with our husbands! Nancy & Karen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location of Homewood Suites was perfect--even for someone with a walker or wheelchair.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hard to please
Business
lenexa kansas
6 Sep 2009

great time

it was a fun trip. my wife is harder to please then i am and she had a great time.be careful when walking around becaues the cab drivers will run you down.ive been to chicago 3 times.this was the best time ive had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

webbers grill call ahead great steak and great service might be the best steak ive had

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere,WI
22 Feb 2010

Felt so welcome and Comfortable

Stayed for a family vacation - 3 kids ages 4,7,and 9. Rooms are large, so we were all very comfortable. Staff was EXCEPTIONAL - always very friendly, willing to help, welcoming,& wonderful suggestions. Hot breakfast in the mornings were very good and with many choices. Great location - we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go. If not, it was a short, inexpensive cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier was a short, easy walk away. Fun for adults and kids!

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes