€142.94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Sep 2015 Check-out 8 Sep 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
114 reviews
We loved Chicago!

We loved the convenience of Homewood Suites. Many terrific restaurants were within walking... See full review

  • Midge M.
  • 5 Jul 2015
Wonderful trip with full kitchen room

It was great to have a room with a full kitchen. And two separate rooms was great. Gives you the... See full review

  • Denise T.
  • 11 Jun 2015

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Property features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Nearby attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown location and nearby area

Recommended hotels

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★
€152
4.1 / 5 103 customer reviews
★★★
€142
4.1 / 5 300 customer reviews
★★★★
€98
4.0 / 5 587 customer reviews
★★★★
€95
4.3 / 5 453 customer reviews
★★★★
€145
4.0 / 5 233 customer reviews
★★★
€133
4.1 / 5 64 customer reviews
★★★
€118
3.5 / 5 258 customer reviews
★★★
€121
3.9 / 5 219 customer reviews
★★★★
€111
4.0 / 5 290 customer reviews
★★★
€97
3.7 / 5 198 customer reviews
★★★
€134
4.1 / 5 163 customer reviews
★★★★
€142
4.0 / 5 91 customer reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 km
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 km
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 km
  • Marina City: 0.5 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 km
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 km
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 km
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 km
  • Marina City: 0.5 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 km
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 km
  • Water Tower: 0.8 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 km
  • Macys: 0.9 km
  • Harris Theater: 1 km
  • City Hall: 1 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 km
  • State Street: 1.1 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 km
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 1.2 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 1.3 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.3 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 km
  • Children Museum: 1.4 km
  • Opera House: 1.4 km
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.5 km
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 km
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.5 km
  • Navy Pier: 1.7 km
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.7 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
16:00
Check-out:
12:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

  • * includes taxes

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mousey1958
Family
Winnipeg,manitoba
13 Jul 2013

Holiday

I would stay there again.great location .right downtown close to subway & magnificent mile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
24 Apr 2008

Last Resort

When I got there to check in, 4 hours after 'check-in time', my room still had not been cleaned. After an hour, that had been taken care of. But by that time, I was late for work......having to 'log' in to work as soon as I arrived, I was not able to have an acceptable internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
columbus, ohio
29 Nov 2009

convenient to shopping

all in all, no problems. Was very busy and stressed morning breakfast. but was okay. Very convenient to the El.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
31 Jan 2010

Great Hotel....rip off parking

Wonderful hotel.....will go back long as I don't need a car and only have to work downtown. Parking fees of $42 per night are outrageous taking away the value we felt we got with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunda.....great restaurant

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELW25
Family
Ann Arbor
10 Aug 2015

Great location-- otherwise pretty average subway is a few blocks away

The location is very good- staff are competent. You can get to Michigan Ave pretty easily subway is quite accessible too. The room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaNa from FDL
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
14 Jan 2014

Great experience

The hotel location is perfect-- just off Michigan Avenue. For the location and affordable price, the suites / rooms are surprisingly very large and include a large kitchen. They also allow for extended parking (more than 24 hours) for one flat fee through their valet service, which is cheaper than public garages. The hotel also includes a complimentary weekend breakfast that was satisfying. I stayed here for a conference in Chicago, but would definitely come back for vacation and think the separated spacious kitchen / living room area and bedroom make it very comfortable for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tembabe
Family
Wisconsin
24 Feb 2014

Great Location & Price...but beware of parking fee!

Great price for the location but was unaware of the parking fee which was another $50! I know it's Chicago and downtown but really? Amenities were great and the best part is it has a pool and breakfast was included. That's always a plus. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have your parking fee validated for the N. Grand parking ramp (where we parked) if you spend at least $20 at Bed Bath and Beyond or Jewel Osco...but that's if you are only there for an hour. Otherwise it's $41 for overnight.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegaBus Mommas
Friends
Cincinnati
26 Mar 2014

Girls Getaway

Our three-day, two-night stay was a Chicago whirlwind made easier by Manager Jason and his friendly staff. Doors opened, cabs hailed, smiles given. Hot breakfast and a Monday dinner made life easy, too! We took in a musical, shopped too much, and made our way to the Steve Harvey Show--thanks for all the directions. We'll return with our husbands! Nancy & Karen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location of Homewood Suites was perfect--even for someone with a walker or wheelchair.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shiningpanda
Couples
Lebanon Indiana
14 Nov 2011

Great Couple's Retreat

This is the best place to stay. The service was excellent A+. The only complaint I had was the pool water was really cold. The suite was really comfortable and if we needed anything they made sure we had it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snickers- Excellent bar to go to. Very nice people.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella from NJ
Family
New Jersey, USA
15 Nov 2011

Would return!

This is in a wonderful location with shopping, restaurants and transportation close by. The free breakfast was wonderful. I was with two teenagers so I must remark that the "free" wifi was extremely slow and spotty at times. Otherwise it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstrom directly across the street with an indoor mall attached. Also next to it was a great sporting apparel store which offered a discount to hotel guests

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes