€68.84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Apr 2014 Check-out 21 Apr 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
213 reviews
Great Location

We could see the John Hancock Building from the room! Room far more spacious than expected and much... See full review

  • Globality
  • 13 Apr 2014
Downtown Chicago, reasonable and high-end.

Wonderful staff and great location! The roof top bar (Drum Bar) is also a locals fave that welcomes... See full review

  • Glass of vino
  • 4 Apr 2014
Boutique luxury in the heart of the Gold Coast

In Chicago, the rule for downtown real estate is the closer to Lake Michigan, the more posh the address. Enter the Raffaello Hotel, a four-star hotel just steps from the lake and Magnificent Mile with a Michelin-rated chef and executive suites. Blending old-world aesthetics with modern conveniences, the hotel manages luxury and intimacy while being near the downtown hub. Stepping into the vintage building just off the tourist drag, guests are more likely to feel like Gold Coast residents than tourists. Raffaello Hotel offers Drumbar, a rooftop speakeasy-style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace, found in the 18th floor.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile
  • Next to the John Hancock Center
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Upscale Italian fare at Pelago
  • Sanctuary fitness center with Precor fitness equipment
Rooms

Staying in this vintage building poses several advantages. The Raffaello Hotel offers rooms with high ceilings and architectural details for a unique, high-class vintage stay. Butterscotch-hued bedding and drapes match the walls, while high ceilings --painted stark white--stun with their beam construction. All rooms feature rainfall showerheads, GUYandGIRL amenities, 32-inch LCD TV, iHome and iPod players and 340-count linens. Rooms, which come in king, double double and suite versions are hard-wire and Wi-Fi enabled.

Features

Any Chicagoan will encourage a newcomer to put dining and an architectural experience on the itinerary. At the Raffaello Hotel, both needs are satisfied thanks to Pelago, the upscale Italian seafood restaurant and the rooftop garden, which is open from late spring to late fall. From the sundeck, guests can take in glorious views of the skyline, including Navy Pier and the next door neighbor: the John Hancock Center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center
  • American Girl Place
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Oak Street Shopping
  • Oak Street Beach
  • Navy Pier
  • Lake Michigan
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access is complimentary. Standard Wi-Fi access fee with 3 MBPS that can connect up to three devices per day is $4.99 USD while Premium Wi-Fi access fee with 5 MBPS that can connect up to three devices per day is $9.99 USD.

  • The hotel charges a $10 USD handling fee per storing package.
  • The hotel charges a $25 USD for each additional guest.
  • Photo identification and credit card are required at check in for incidental charges.
  • If you do not provide a credit card, a cash security deposit in the amount of $1,000 is required.
  • The hotel charges $61 USD for valet parking and $34 USD for self-parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed, One Murphy Bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 km
  • Water Tower: 0.2 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.6 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 km
  • Water Tower: 0.2 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.6 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.2 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 km
  • Marina City: 1.4 km
  • Children Museum: 1.4 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 km
  • Navy Pier: 1.5 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.5 km
  • History Museum: 1.6 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Harris Theater: 1.7 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.7 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.7 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.7 km
  • Macys: 1.8 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.9 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.9 km
  • City Hall: 1.9 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.9 km
  • State Street: 2 km
  • Crown Fountain: 2 km
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.1 km
  • Yacht Club: 2.1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2.1 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 2.2 km
  • Kendall College: 2.2 km
  • Symphony Center: 2.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 2.3 km

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
MoonsF14
North Branch, MI
14 Apr 2014

Great hotel, great location!!

The Rafaello was great! The atmosphere was fun and it was in a great location. Short walk to Michigan Avenue! Will definitely stay there on our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk as much as you can! It's a great way to see the city and save $$ for shopping!!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Tom super
Illinois
13 Apr 2014

Good hotel

Fine n clean. Courteous members. Would book again if i need to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Globality
Business
USA
13 Apr 2014

Great Location

We could see the John Hancock Building from the room! Room far more spacious than expected and much larger than other boutique hotels in area. Great donuts in the lobby. You have to try one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Signature Lounge for a drink.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
salamander21
Michigan
7 Apr 2014

Family Get away

The hotel is in a very nice location, staff was very friendly, rooms were clean but VERY stuffy. Has the air on for 3 days straight and the temperature was still uncomfortable and extremely stuffy. The Drum Bar prices were mopre expensive than most expensive restaurants on Michigan Avenue. The two tiny elevators for 18 floors of rooms and bar are also a very frustrating experience. Waits could be up to 10 mihutes or more. I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make your reservations several days earlier than the date wanted.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Jfkdhdjs
Wa
6 Apr 2014

Good hotel

This is a good hotel. Clean, simple, close to Michigan Ave. No extras, but nice enough for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Kbinx
Cleveland, Ohio
6 Apr 2014

Nice Visit

The staff was very helpful and courteous during our 4 day visit. We were a party of four with two rooms. The double queen room was large and spacious, but only had one chair at the desk making it difficult to visit without everyone sitting on the beds. The king room was very small (no visiting possible), but clean with very comfortable linens. A good value for the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the valet parking for $65 and self park for $35 at the hotels garage down the block. The self-park had in/out policy.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Glass of vino
Business
Holland, Michigan
4 Apr 2014

Downtown Chicago, reasonable and high-end.

Wonderful staff and great location! The roof top bar (Drum Bar) is also a locals fave that welcomes tourists and hotel guests with great hospitality and conversation .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
2nd weary traveler
nj
31 Mar 2014

bussines/pleasure trip

Very pleasant, nice ample clean rooms and friendly staff. Grate location and good rates, near great dining and shopping. The only negative I heard about was small elevators. I was on the 17th floor I did not have a problem with that, elevators were always empty when they got there, bu I can see where that might be a problem on the lower floors during peak times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food ease and court at the water place, great place with a little wine bar, good food and snacks. They had a sit down restaurant but we did not try it.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Golferchick2234
Valparaiso, IN
31 Mar 2014

Great!

This was one of my best hotel experiences in Chicago. The trip started out well when I received an upgrade to a suit. The staff then contacted me via texting, which was very convenient and easy. If I had a question about my room, the Drumbar, etc., I was guaranteed a response and a solution. It was awesome! The hotel also gave me a late checkout time because I was running a race in town, and would probably not be done by the original checkout time. The only complaint I had was that our room was extremely hot, but the front desk told me the hotel did not have their A/C on yet, so I could understand the difference in temperature. Overall, I loved this hotel and I plan to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Alex the Chicago guy
Illinois
29 Mar 2014

DO NOT STAY!!!

So keep in mind that my wife and I live about an hour from Chicago and we just wanted to get away from life for a bit. Well first impression was that corner that the hotel was located seemed a bit rough. No big deal though. Once we got in our room we were amazed at how tiny the room was. We tried to do a lot of resting but the hotel failed to mention that our room was located right by drilling that was happening on their brick wall. It felt and sounded like the drilling was inside the room (not exaggerating). Obviously we complained and asked to be moved. They said that they could move us so we went to breakfast that morning and the person in front said they would move our luggage and everything (we packed it up). In Chicago you basically have to walk everywhere so we took our time to check out some shops and stuff and we returned about 3 hours later and found that the room was still not ready. We were very tired as we got in pretty late the night before and the drilling woke us up. We went back to our room to try to rest and the drilling continued. Oh and the heater didn't work by the way as well as the hot water. Horrible first night. Long story short after getting to a manager a room finally appeared. Thy did upgrade to a nice room but did not give is any discounts for our horrible first night. Although the manager we worked with was very nice, one of the front desk people (Jose) was very condescending throughout the whole process. If you're gonna stay here make sure you pay the extra money for the "bigger" room because the regular rooms are smaller than normal. Otherwise we got a very mixed experience mostly negative for the first half and felt like we were inconvenienced very much. We will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Mochigan Ave with lots of shopping, restaurants and other attractions.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes