€93.45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 24 Aug 2014 Check-out 25 Aug 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
317 reviews
Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing... See full review

  • Peter and Abby
  • 17 Jul 2014
Chicago experience

What a wonderful hotel! The staff were so attentive and caring. I really appreciated the texts to... See full review

  • Kflionis
  • 11 Jul 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 173 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 2 restaurants
  • Gym
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.

Ask the concierge about personal training sessions at the hotel gym, and if you're staying at the hotel on a Saturday, head over to Millennium Park for free yoga sessions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed, One Murphy Bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 km
  • Water Tower: 0.2 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.6 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1 km
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 km
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 km
  • Water Tower: 0.2 km
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 km
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 km
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 km
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 km
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.6 km
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 km
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 km
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 km
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.8 km
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 km
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 km
  • Tribune Tower: 1 km
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 km
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.2 km
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 km
  • Marina City: 1.4 km
  • Children Museum: 1.4 km
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 km
  • Navy Pier: 1.5 km
  • Harold Washington College: 1.5 km
  • History Museum: 1.6 km
  • Chicago Theater: 1.6 km
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.7 km
  • Harris Theater: 1.7 km
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.7 km
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.7 km
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.7 km
  • Macys: 1.8 km
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.8 km
  • Cloud Gate: 1.9 km
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.9 km
  • City Hall: 1.9 km
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.9 km
  • State Street: 2 km
  • Crown Fountain: 2 km
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.1 km
  • Yacht Club: 2.1 km
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2.1 km
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 2.2 km
  • Kendall College: 2.2 km
  • Symphony Center: 2.3 km
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 2.3 km

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working Mom 101
Elk River, MN
28 Jul 2014

Nice Location

Nice location right near the John Hancock building. The rooms were nice and clean. I thought the bed was a little hard but still comfortable. Staff was great. My one complaint was that the doors were hard to shut and therefore customers had to pull hard on them which was noisy. The closing of doors would wake us in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter and Abby
Chicago
17 Jul 2014

Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing location, right by the John Hancock and MCA. After eating at a local restaurant, we checked in, then took a late night walk and had a drink at the bar on the top floor. We love vintage, and this place has lots of charm. So glad we found it, we will definitely be back, next time with the kids to do some Michigan avenue shopping and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sara820
Mn
16 Jul 2014

Nice room, great location

Very nice room. Pricey but great location. Wonderful bar upstairs and bakery downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 sisters and a cousin
Michigan
16 Jul 2014

Spend the extra dime somewhere else

The check in desk is about 1.5' x 3' with one person. Customer service is not bad but very cold, not at all friendly with the exception of the doormen. The elevators are small, 5 people is packed. There are only 2 of them. We were in a deluxe suite. The room had a musty smell. The temperature was impossible to control. You were cold no matter what. The furniture is from the '70's and looks very warn. The sleeper sofa probably has it's original mattress. Both people slide to the middle! There was someone's left overs in our freezer. The room was booked for four bot only had towels and coffee for two. It's a great location but I would spend a little more next time and stay somewhere that's up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kflionis
Chicago
11 Jul 2014

Chicago experience

What a wonderful hotel! The staff were so attentive and caring. I really appreciated the texts to inform me about my room and to answer questions about local destinations. The room was quite comfortable, but the best part was being so close to the places we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the DIVVY bike system. It is a great way to see local sights and work off all the Chicago food!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I lived in Chicago
Minneapolis
3 Jul 2014

Raffaello

I just returned from my stay at the Raffaello and it was virtually perfect for my needs. The room was not only clean but aesthetically pleasing with lovely antique molding on ceiling and textured walls. At the same time it was painted and furnished with most of the modern elements that today's traveler desires (flat screen TVs, wifi, mini fridge, trendy coffee maker, etc#. The bathroom was not updated recently and showed some signs of wear #e.g., a bit of staining on wall, tile in shower was older), but it was still fine and met my needs. The location was perfect, just a few steps from beautifully landscaped Michigan Ave with upscale shopping, loads of restaurants, and walking distance to the river, Art Institute, Mill. Park, and lakefront strolls. I experienced only 2 things that needed improvement. First, there was an error in my reservation made on travel website so I had to wait for some time at check in for the staff to sort the problem out, and at certain times of day, the 2 small elevators that service the building were insufficient so I had to wait quite a while for an elevator. Despite these two snafus, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Raffaello next time I'm in town. Lovely place and definitely good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Chicago Cultural Center across from Millenium Park if you'd like to learn a bit more about the city. On weekends they offer free mini tours about the development of the city (very informative) and on weekdays they offer free tours of Millenium Park, informing you about its development and design. Both tours are really enjoyable. .

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyBaseball
Decatur, IL, USA
3 Jul 2014

Glad I stayed here

I had a lovely experience at the Raffaello, though for full disclosure I was upgraded (for free) to a suite on a lucky fluke. The bed was extremely comfortable (not always the case with hotels), and the room was clean (if a bit worn/dinged in places). I had a new-looking, large-screen HDTV in my room. Two negatives -- the water faucet in the sink by the mini-bar didn't work, and there was a scary incident one night with the elevator bouncing around between floors and then stopping for about 10 seconds. Still, great location, and I would definitely think of staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago getaway
Union City, TN
2 Jul 2014

Raffaelo review

Overall good experience for the price. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasgirljean
Chicago
1 Jul 2014

Great adult hotel

Great boutique hotel. Very quiet,clean great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bparrott03
Dayton, Ohio
24 Jun 2014

Fantastic Customer Service!

We were coming to Chi-town for a supprise proposal for our best friend, and decided to stay at this hotel due to the extremely good rates online. Check-In was at 4:00.. Was there @ 4 and room was not even close to being ready.. So we decided to check out the Drum Bar on the 18th floor.. The drinks were good but too expensive.. Our room still wasn't ready so they did a free upgrade to a suite. They were so nice and professional about it.. We get to the suite and the AC didn't work.. Called and they tried to fix it but couldn't.. They moved us to an even better suite for free!! They texted us to check in and gave us plenty of time to switch rooms! The last room was amazing and no issues! We loved our stay and the hotel!! Staying here is a must! The only con is that the elevators are too small and they only have 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't bring your bags in until later in the evening due to the small elevators. They only have 2 and they often are full!

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes