€208.35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 13 Sep 2015 Check-out 15 Sep 2015

Hilton Boston Back Bay

3 stars
View map of 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Average Joe
Couples
NY
31 Dec 2013

First time in Boston

I really loved the hotel, which was great for my first time in Boston just for a weekend. The view was great, if you get a room above the 15th floor. I didn't eat at the restaurant...simply because I didn't go to boston to eat at a hotel restaurant, nor did I go to the gym or pool because I wasn't going to waste vacation time in ordinary places. Hotel is a short walk from many places in back bay, and a trolley stop is right outside that picks up every 10 minutes from 9-4. There is also an awesome brunch restaurant down the block called thorntons. One thing about the hotel that really ticked me off though was the parking ($41 per night) and I didn't even use my car! It was a waste of money, so that was the downfall (I could have stayed an extra night!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newbury street and boylston street very close by with lots of shops, but beware most close at 7 PM all days of the week!!

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alrdsx
Family
Dubuque, Iowa
6 Jul 2013

air conditioning

the location of the air conditioner in room 2301 was such that the cool air blew up to the ceiling and then down the wall to the head of my bed, thus, every time it was on, I had cold air blowing in my face

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeremyBrahms
Couples
Long Island, NY
17 Mar 2013

Great location for Symphony Hall or Fenway Park

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hop on Hop off trolley stop was right accross the street and the subway close by. Because Boston is not as huge as a city like New York, it was a short ride on the very nice subway system to any where. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the parking was $41.00 for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The seafood restaurant next door was not that good.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wine Dealer
Business
New England
26 Feb 2013

Good Location, Good Price; Good Hotel; really worked for us

Everything was fine; staff was excellent; and rates were fair for this part of town and level of quality. We'll probably try to stay here again--the fitness center and pool were a plus that we were glad to take advantage of. Parking is pricey, but we paid rather than trying to scout around for a better deal (it was rainy/snowy, etc.). The only complaint was the "thinness" of the walls--it was pretty easy to hear showers, toilets, etc. in adjoining rooms. Other than that, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk right across the street and into the Sheraton, grab the escalator or elevator and have access to shopping, dining and even a skywalk that takes you to more dining and shopping. This is great if you're disabled or the weather outside is challenging.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Onc RN
Couples
Springfield, PA
7 May 2012

Boston getaway

The hotel was wonderful. The staff was very helpful but the toilet was way to low to the ground. If you have back problems you are in trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil M.
Couples
Ohio
27 Feb 2012

Hilton Back Bay

Great Boston location. Close to many fine eating establishments for all appetites. Shopping nearby from upscale mall to all types of small boutiques. Hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Had a great time after my college visit in Boston. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Providence, RI, USA
20 Feb 2012

Average hotel, awful customer service

When we first arrived and attempted to valet our car, we were instructed to "valet it yourself"... ok? So we did. Upon checking in, we were told that they had "sold out" of the room we booked, which had two double beds. They told us we would be in a room with a king bed. When I told them I absolutely needed a room with two double beds, and reminded them that that is what I booked, they told me they would either give me a cot, or would refund me and I could go somewhere else! We tried, but nowhere else has vacancy with 2 beds, so we decided to just stay. After letting the manager know how awful we were treated by the jerk at the front desk, we received coupons for free breakfast the next morning. Whoopee. Room was average and boring, certainly nothing special. I've stayed at other Hilton's and have had good experiences, but this one was awful and we won't ever be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a 5 minute walk is Cactus Club- a fun Mexican place with great margaritas!

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pirudelafuente
Business
Guatemala
4 Feb 2012

Cigarette smell

The cigarette smell came into the room through the bathroom vents. It was offensive, as if some had smoked inside my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salty
Business
Washington, DC
25 Jan 2012

Business Trip

Hotel was nice. I arrived late because of a flight delay, and they happily provided me with a late check-out. Overall, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dprunes
Friends
Worcester, MA, USA
23 Jan 2012

Very good especially for the price

Very nice hotel great location and even better price. The only downside would be the beds were alittle small. Overall i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes