€95.88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 29 Dec 2014 Check-out 30 Dec 2014

Hilton Boston Back Bay

3 stars
40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
161 reviews
Great city, great spot.

Close to Fenway, great shopping and well priced for all that the area offers. See full review

  • Scott13131313
  • 13 Aug 2014
Girl's Getaway

Spent 4 nights in this hotel with a group of girl friends. Perfect location to see city - friendly... See full review

  • Takker
  • 23 Oct 2014
Convenient familiarity in the heart of Boston's Back Bay

Hilton Back Bay offers everything you've come to expect from a name like Hilton. Situated in the heart of the historic Back Bay, this hotel affords guests comfortable rooms with Hilton Serenity Collection bedding, a state-of-the-art fitness center, business services and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property. The hotel's location makes it a prime starting point for business and leisure travelers, with many of the city's top attractions a short walk from the hotel. The Hynes Convention Center is located directly across the street.

Highlights
  • Prime Back Bay location
  • 5,500 square-foot fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in the business center
  • On-site self-service garage parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel's 390 recently renovated rooms offer comfort to every guest and feature Hilton Serenity Collection bedding and bath products. Guests enjoy flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi (fees apply) and 24-hour in-room dining. Bold stripes and neutral colors give rooms a polished, sophisticated feel.

Features

Hilton Back Bay resides in one of the most recognizable buildings in Boston. Earth tones, wide columns, marble floors and exquisite carpets coat the lobby. Guests can dine in nine distinct restaurants, from the casual Au Bon Pain and Ben & Jerry's to more upscale selections like Smith & Wollensky or Pairings. Enjoy afternoon tea with a tea sommelier in the hotel's Grand Lobby. The hotel has 24-hour room service and a complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • Logan International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Hynes Convention Center (across street)
Attractions
  • Public garden and swan boats (0.8 mi/1.2)
  • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • New England Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • 15,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • Business center with free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

42.3465 -71.0855
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 4.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.30, MI, SE; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 58.00, MI, N;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Boston Back Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
6 Apr 2010

Fenway hotel steal!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had our room cleaned first so we could check in asap - several hours early. Recommended great little breakfast restaurant nearby to eat at while we waited and gave good directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sidewalk shopping nearby, walking distance, on Newbury with lots of dining options.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diesel Daku
Business
Kingwood, NJ
5 Apr 2010

Not what I thought it was

At first the lobby looked as I expected, but the staff was sluggish to check me in. before our arrival I had called and asked about parking, I was told it was a one time fee and I could come and go as I pleased, yet that fee was a daily fee that I didn't expect at the end of the trip. I got into the room to find what they advertised as a superior room wasn't much more than a Hotel 6 room with a comfy bed. My Mini fridge didn't work and when I asked about it I was told they have been unplugged for so long that it would be hard to find one that worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to The Pour House for breakfast! awesome menu and they have great deals, even for Boston. Hit up all the bars in the area, they all have a great past history!

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danielson, CT
5 Apr 2010

Back Bay Hilton

I booked this hotel for our stay during a convention. I was a bit stressed, because a week before we had stayed at a different hotel, and the service and rooms were both lousy. But when I got there, check in took less than five minutes. We were early, but they had a king room available, which wasn't what we had reserved, but we wanted to check in early so we took it, and they immediately asked if we wanted a cot sent up to accommodate our third friend. When we got up to our room, it was bigger than the last, with a better bathroom and actual furniture for relaxing and our clothes. Check out took even less time, because you can call down from your room and if you're all set with the bill, leave your key on the desk and leave right away. The only thing I didn't like was that the internet wasn't included in the room and cost extra, but honestly I was too busy all weekend to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to be attending anything at the Hynes Center, the Hilton is a great hotel to stay at. It's cheaper than the Sheraton, it's smaller so there is less of a crowd and more of a chance that you'll get an elevator quickly, and it's just across the street from the center.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, VA
5 Apr 2010

Relaxed stay

Great hotel, got good room with great view. Service was good no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
henniker, nh
4 Apr 2010

Hilton Boston Bay Back Bay

I went to the anime convention which was a short walk from the hotel. A great location for what I came to Boston to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
3 Apr 2010

"Fantastic Back To The Bay Hilton Hotel"

I can say that my stay at Hilton Back Bay was delightful. I was wonderfully greeted my the staff especially [...]. Everything from the room accommadations to the closeness to Boston's wonderful activities, made my visit extremely memorable. When I come back to Boston, my stay will be at the wonderful Hilton Back Bay Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
31 Mar 2010

Great Hotel, Amazing Views, Free Upgrade

My significant other and I returned to Boston for leisure. [...] Upon our arrival, we were greeted promptly and checked in by a courteous gentlemen who accommodated our request for a high-floor room.We went shopping for the afternoon and when we returned, we asked the front desk if we could upgrade our room. The lady was extremely nice and upgraded us, for free, to a high-floor deluxe room with panorama views of the city. The views were amazing. I suggest getting a Deluxe room with "panorama" views of the city. They are located on the circular "glass" corner portion of the building. They are great rooms.Aside from that, it is a generic hotel. Nothing fancy, but absolutely did the job.**Expensive parking: I cannot really blame the hotel as most hotels in the city have outrageous parking fees. This is mainly due to the lack of parking throughout the city. I did show my frustration and they did give me a $5.00 discount ($34.00) for 24 hours. You will run into expensive parking anywhere in the city. There are some cheaper garages in the city, but keep a look at the fine print and remember it is going to be inconvenient and a long walk from the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newbury Street is literally a 2-3 minute walk down the block. Prudential center shopping can be accessed across the street through the Sheraton. Starbucks is located in the Sheraton lobby across the street. The Starbucks in the Hilton is only brewed Starbucks coffee, not an actual Starbucks location.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
29 Mar 2010

Good accomodations

When we arrived, we were placed into a room that was currently being painted. We ran into the guy painting the bathroom and he sent us back to the front desk, where they moved us to a room on a higher floor with a nicer view. Otherwise, it was a fairly painless experience. The hotel is beautiful and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Park Plaza for some good eats, especially Legal Sea Foods. Don't bother with the one in the Prudential Center - the food there is hit-or-miss. The best one is in Park Plaza.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
12 Mar 2010

Very friendly staff and a great location

The staff was exceptionally helpful and I observed them being very patient with an especially difficult woman in line ahead of me. The view from the 11th floor was great. The only minor problems I encountered were....I did have to listen to the elevators--my room must have been near the elevator shaft; the shower did not have much water pressure; and the water temperature did not get hot enough on two mornings around 6-8 am. These bumps in the road would not steer me away from this hotel. It still felt like I was really living it up at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of the hub restaurant in the Prudential building, reached after a short walk through the adjacent Sheraton hotel. Go here for a drink at night. It's on the 52nd floor with the best views of downtown Boston hands down. This way you don't have to pay to walk around the observation deck/skywalk just a few floors away.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
2 Mar 2010

I'd do it again in a minute

Had a great time it was close to everything, the view was fantastic, make sure you get a room high up. If your going to go to the Prudential Mall, go through the Sheraton so you can stay warm in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to have a great dinner at fairly reasonable price go to Whiskey's. We didn't eat at the restaurant at the Hotel it was way over priced.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes