€168.74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 4 May 2014 Check-out 5 May 2014

Hilton Boston Back Bay

3 stars
40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
Great location for Symphony Hall or Fenway Park

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hop on Hop off trolley stop was right accross the... See full review

  • jeremyBrahms
  • 17 Mar 2013
Great Location

Great location close to the Prudential Center & Symphony Hall. Friendly staff. See full review

  • lorianne1111
  • 21 Jan 2014
Convenient familiarity in the heart of Boston's Back Bay

Hilton Back Bay offers everything you've come to expect from a name like Hilton. Situated in the heart of the historic Back Bay, this hotel affords guests comfortable rooms with Hilton Serenity Collection bedding, a state-of-the-art fitness center, business services and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property. The hotel's location makes it a prime starting point for business and leisure travelers, with many of the city's top attractions a short walk from the hotel. The Hynes Convention Center is located directly across the street.

Highlights
  • Prime Back Bay location
  • 5,500 square-foot fitness center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in the business center
  • On-site self-service garage parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel's 390 recently renovated rooms offer comfort to every guest and feature Hilton Serenity Collection bedding and bath products. Guests enjoy flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi (fees apply) and 24-hour in-room dining. Bold stripes and neutral colors give rooms a polished, sophisticated feel.

Features

Hilton Back Bay resides in one of the most recognizable buildings in Boston. Earth tones, wide columns, marble floors and exquisite carpets coat the lobby. Guests can dine in nine distinct restaurants, from the casual Au Bon Pain and Ben & Jerry's to more upscale selections like Smith & Wollensky or Pairings. Enjoy afternoon tea with a tea sommelier in the hotel's Grand Lobby. The hotel has 24-hour room service and a complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • Logan International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Hynes Convention Center (across street)
Attractions
  • Public garden and swan boats (0.8 mi/1.2)
  • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • New England Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • 15,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • Business center with free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Boston Back Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3465 -71.0855
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 4.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.30, MI, SE; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 58.00, MI, N;

Nearby points of interest

  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.3 km
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.3 km
  • Symphony Hall: 0.4 km
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 km
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 km
  • Trinity Church: 0.9 km
  • Fenway Park: 0.9 km
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.1 km
  • Copley Square: 1.3 km
  • Boston Common: 1.8 km
  • Louisburg Square: 1.8 km
  • Boston Chinatown: 2 km
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 km
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 km
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.7 km
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.3 km
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.3 km
  • Symphony Hall: 0.4 km
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 km
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 km
  • Trinity Church: 0.9 km
  • Fenway Park: 0.9 km
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.1 km
  • Copley Square: 1.3 km
  • Boston Common: 1.8 km
  • Louisburg Square: 1.8 km
  • Boston Chinatown: 2 km
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 km
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 km
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.7 km
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 km
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.8 km
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.8 km
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.8 km
  • TD Garden: 2.9 km
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.9 km
  • Boston Children's Museum: 3 km
  • The Paul Revere House: 3.2 km
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 3.3 km
  • Old North Church: 3.4 km
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 3.9 km
  • USS Constitution Museum: 3.9 km
  • Cruiseport Boston: 4.2 km
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 4.3 km
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 5.4 km
  • Castle Island: 6.2 km
  • Arnold Arboretum: 6.2 km

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
long island NY
27 Dec 2010

unbeatable location for the price

we enjoyed xmas with my son and his young family. since they live on newbury is was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great stores on newbury!

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Erie, PA
13 Dec 2010

Very convenient for our needs

The room was very clean and quiet. We were given an upper level room with a great view of the Charles River. We were a short walk to our destination. Very convenient for shopping in the downtown mall and dining on Boylston Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you get a chance, get to the North End and stop at Mike's Pastries. It's a real throwback to a bygone era. Cash only, but the desserts are fantastic. And the prices are great! We could hardly decide.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Boston, MA
15 Nov 2010

Hilton does not follow the rules.

I booked the room a month in advance and payed a premium price for a premium room. When I arrived at the hotel and tried to check in, they offered me a room on the lower floors with 2 double beds. This is absolutely not what I payed for and they had no explanation as to why the room that I had booked was not available. After some complaining I eventually got a room upgrade, but again it was not the room that I had payed the premium price for. There are some reviews on other websites with patrons describing the same situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capital Grille is the best place in town for a steak and it's only a 5 minute walk from the Hilton.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Massachusetts
12 Nov 2010

good price for convention

Pleasant personnel. Attractive corner room with a balcony. Starbucks OK for breakfast but croissants and danish were not heated. Clerk heated one up for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brasserie Jo in the Colonnade Hotel: delicious French cuisine. Gracious service. Start with a personal crisp baguette and marinated carrots. It gets even better.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
5 Nov 2010

good business hotel

good hotel, especially for business. the rooms were a bit pricey but the location and everything else was great. plus, the computers in the lobby with free internet were super convenient. overall, the staff was friendly and i enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just a quick walk to the prudential center, which has shopping and dining choices. walk a little further down on huntington, and you find more little stores and cafes. go through the prudential and exit the other side, and newbury st. is pretty much right there.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New Jersey
26 Oct 2010

Be sure you get what you paid for!

I pre-paid for one of their panoramic view rooms/suites - when we got there the room wasn't ready. They called us a few hours later to say it was. When we got to the room, it was TINY! Supposedly upgraded bathroom was horridly small and the tv didn't work! Went downstairs and complained and was moved to the type of room I actually ordered and paid for (after another 1-2 hour wait for it to be cleaned). THAT was a great room, although the heat/cooling couldn't easily be controlled and a light bulb was missing from one of the lamps!! Liked the business center/computers, but there were too many people hogging them for internet access for hours at a time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early!!! By the time 7pm comes around, the nicer restaurants in the area (along Boylston) are packed to the gills!

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Northeastern parent
San Juan, Puerto Rico
25 Oct 2010

Hilton quality as expected

Great beds and pillows. Very pleasant stay with all you can expect from a Hilton property. Great service. Room service menu failed in my expectations, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Prudential Center/Mall and Copley Mall. Also within walking distance to Northeastern University.

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Diego and Nathalie
Miami, FL
25 Oct 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Hilton Back Bay

Perfectly located on the Back Bay. Very Clean, very courteous and helpful staff. Will recommend and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss these !!! : Incredible restaurant with Live bands (Jazz/Soul) : The Beehive @ 541 Tremont Street --- Also "Top of the hub Lounge" @ 800 Boylston Street (Very Short Walk to the top of Prudential Tower)

Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
Northeastern Mom
Berlin, NJ
7 Sep 2010

Back to Boston for move in day

I called the front desk when the coffee machine didn't work. They delivered a new machine within 5 minutes. I also called regarding the tub not draining correctly. I had a message on the machine when we arrived later that day to make sure the problem was solved. The front desk was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Reviewer score

5
Dave of Maine
Augusta, Maine
21 Aug 2010

Will Stay Here Again Next Time

Our room was spacious, clean, modern, and very comfortable. The flat-panel TV and refrigerator were added perks. The staff were all extremely courteous. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. We stayed here for a Red Sox game and it was a 10-15 minute walk on even terrain to Fenway. The walk back was very safe and there was a sizable crowd on the same route since most of the hotels are in the same vicinity as the Hilton. The parking garage was also quite large, safe, and allowed us to stay until 5pm of the day of our departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby Prudential Center has a huge mall with many stores and restaurants in all price ranges low to high. There is also a T station (subway) here to get onto the green line.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes