Hotel Pennsylvania ★★

€79.87
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in 19 Jun 2016 Check-out 20 Jun 2016
2.6 /5
Overall score
60%
Would recommend
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1
1 2 3 4 5
Book online or call + 353 1 4311 311

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Superior Double
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Double Double
  • Size: 27 m²
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Penn 5000 Club Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Room
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices One Bedroom Suite
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior King
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Penn 5000 Club Room
  • Occupancy: 2

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Classic
Superior Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe
Superior Room 1 King Bed
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficient workspace- and in-room- high-speed Internet
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficient workspace- and in-room- high-speed Internet acce
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.

Overview

The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.

Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler.

Highlights

Key facts

Over 1,700 guestrooms

90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion

16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms

24-hour business center

Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom

Catering capabilities

Four restaurants

Hints and tips

Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

Nearby attractions

Neighborhood

At the intersection of New York City s main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you The Chrysler Building and Macy s are close at hand, and it s easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.

Policies

NOTE: Property has no on-site indoor pool or gym but offers  free passes to Bally’s Total Fitness right next door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Recommended Hotels

Wolcott Hotel

★★★
Guest score 3.8 / 5
€170

Hotel Metro

★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
€132
Guest score 3.2 / 5
€169
Guest score 4.0 / 5
€98
Guest score 4.2 / 5
€113

Amenities

Featured

  • Wi-Fi Access in Room (Charges May Apply)
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • Air conditioned
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators
  • 24 hour security

Activities

  • Indoor pool
  • Exercise gym

Dining

  • Continental breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee shop

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business centre
  • Maid service
  • Concierge desk
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Security
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Gift shop
  • News stand
  • Conference suite

Internet

  • Wi-Fi Access in Room (Charges May Apply)

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible rooms

Room

  • Cable or sat. TV
  • Radio
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Fire alarm with light
  • Iron
  • Ironing board
  • Smoke detectors

Reviews

2.6 /5 Overall score

60% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 2.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2.8/5
  • Hotel staff: 3/5
  • Comfort: 2.6/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.1/5

Family trip

Would recommend Fri 22 Apr 2016
the hotel was in a good location and the room was small and clean all the staff were very friendly to us I had a good time and would go back

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Never again

Would not recommend Thu 21 Apr 2016
A total dump never again stayed here twice before but was never this bad.

| N/A Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great trip away with daughter

Would recommend Fri 8 Apr 2016
This was my first trip to New York. Just me and my teenage daughter. Would definitely stay here again. A fantastic location. A bit of road noise but that's to be expected given the Location. The room was great for us - not that we spent too much time in it . I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a place to put their head down which is in a great location and which does not Cost the earth but has friendly And helpful staff. If you are however, someone who does not expect a hotel to show any wear and tear then maybe a more expensive hotel is probably better suited to you

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Location is the only good thing about this hotel!

Would not recommend Thu 7 Apr 2016
I stayed in this hotel during a birthday trip for my mother, it was our first time to New York. The hotels location is good, you are close to everything and you do not have to get taxi's everywhere. That was the only positive. The staff are unfriendly and do not communicate with the travel desk, so when you ask the reception staff if we can book the bus to Woodbury Outlet the first receptionist told us just go outside the hotel and there are always transfers, this was wrong. The second receptionist told us to walk 3 blocks down and wait at a bus stop, this was wrong. The manager told us to call the company and ask them, the company told us we have to book and pay through our hotel and then they will come to collect us, otherwise they wouldn't know we wanted to come. Thankfully the travel desk opened just in time for us to book through them and not miss out. The hotel has a very grand lobby but you will be in a shock when you get up to the room. The mirror was so dirty we were unable to use it, the carpet has rubbish from previous guests and there shower curtain had mould on it. The cleaners were rubbish and it was pointless them even being there, all they done was make the beds. The security isn't brilliant there, the hotel facilities are open to non guest and my mother and I were approach by a man, who wasn't a guest, down one of the side entrance who asked us to invite him to our room. When we declined he started getting very aggressive towards us and shouted abuse. The security also claim they do not let alcohol beyond the lifts, however we watched two guys take beer up and the security saw them. I also complained to the hotel once we got home, as there was no point doing it during our stay due to the staff being rubbish! I got a standard reply to say sorry but there is nothing they can do. Poor customer service, Dirty hotel, needs to be completely re done and unsafe!

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

great trip,New York is truly amazing!

Would not recommend Fri 11 Mar 2016
The hotel was dark dingy,and in desperate need of a coat of paint,apart from that,it was very busy with some friendly and pleasant staff.

| N/A Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

city break

Would recommend Sat 27 Feb 2016
Very clean warm and friendly. Great value would stay again

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great trip

Would recommend Sat 27 Feb 2016
Very old hotel but clean .Does need some updating , very good value for money . Central to all amenties .Staff very nice .Nice cafe which is open 24 hours if you fancy a cuppa or a snack .Wifi was poor .Have stayed there several times now and will stay there again

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

fantastic hotel

Would recommend Sun 14 Feb 2016
Having read a few negative reviews I was wondering how our experience was going to be however we need not have worried ... we arrived at 6pm .. it took us 5 minutes to check in and the lovely lady on reception managed to find me a room with 3 single beds in it (at no additional cost) plus the room had a great view of the Empire state building . The hotel also changed my 100 dollar bills for me and the staff were also very helpful with a few queries that I had ... its a brilliant location and great value for money .. will definitely stay there again in the future

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Location about the best thing about this hotel.

Would not recommend Thu 21 Jan 2016
The whole hotel is in need of a refurb badly. Not enough staff on the main desk. Good location for the attractions.

| N/A Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

great place

Would recommend Tue 5 Jan 2016
People who leave negative reviews dont understand value for money for what you pay the hotel and location is a bargain

| Liverpool Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel Pennsylvania location and nearby area

Nearby points of interest

Penn Station 0.1 km
Macys 0.2 km
Manhattan Mall 0.2 km
Herald Square 0.2 km
Koreatown, Manhattan 0.4 km
Museum at FIT 0.4 km
Empire State Building 0.4 km
Garment District 0.5 km
American Academy of Dramatic Arts 0.6 km
Lord & Taylor 0.7 km
Nederlander Theatre 0.7 km
Bryant Park 0.7 km
Limelight Marketplace 0.7 km
New York Times Building 0.7 km
Port Authority Bus Terminal 0.8 km
New Victory Theater 0.8 km
Ford Center For The Performing Arts 0.8 km
Morgan Library 0.8 km
Condé Nast Building 0.8 km
American Airlines Theatre 0.8 km
Foxwoods Theatre 0.8 km
NY Public Library 0.8 km
Bank of America Tower 0.8 km
Stephen Sondheim Theatre 0.8 km
Theater District 0.8 km
Town Hall 0.8 km
Lower Plaza 0.9 km
Murray Hill 0.9 km
Hughoneill Dry Goods Store 0.9 km
Helen Hayes Theatre 0.9 km
Majestic Theatre 0.9 km
Belasco Theatre 0.9 km
Broadhurst Theatre 1 km
Shubert Theatre 1 km
Minskoff Theatre 1 km
Flatiron Building 1 km
Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre 1 km
John Golden Theatre 1 km
Booth Theatre 1 km
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower 1 km
Lyceum Theatre 1 km
Union Square - the Flatiron District 1 km
Music Box Theatre 1 km
St. James Theatre 1 km
Imperial Theatre 1 km

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

€79.87
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in 19 Jun 2016 Check-out 20 Jun 2016