€158.52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 11 May 2014 Check-out 12 May 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

4 stars
111 EAST 48TH ST, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10017-1297
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Perfect location, luxurious

The hotel was beautiful and the room comfortable. I love staying in historic hotels that have a... See full review

  • kanga1102
  • 12 Mar 2014
Great Option

Great Hotel, Great Location. Will definitely recommend! See full review

  • Heberuru
  • 9 Mar 2014
Midtown Manhattan grandeur with fine dining and Neo-Federal design

Built in 1926 through support of the Vanderbilt family, the Neo-Federal-style InterContinental New York Barclay offers classic Manhattan magnificence for travelers. A grand glass ceiling graces the hotel lobby, setting an artful tone that carries through to guest rooms dressed in understated elegance. Barclay Bar and Grill is a destination, with farm-fresh American and Continental cuisine. InterContinental also features a fitness center with a sauna and a steam room, more than 13,000 square feet of event space and a location just off Park Avenue.

Highlights

  • A just-off-Park-Avenue location, within easy walking distance to the best New York attractions
  • In-room massage or a full-service fitness center with a steam room and a sauna
  • A stately guest room furnished in the style of an elegant home

Location

InterContinental New York Barclay offers a convenient Midtown Manhattan location at East 48th Street, between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue. Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance.

Rooms

InterContinental Barclay brings understated elegance to a stay with richly tailored accommodations designed to feel like home. Depending on the room choice, guests enjoy amenities such as turndown service, a premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view and Internet browsing, a CD player, a sound system, video rental services, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), a two-line phone, bathrobes and air conditioning. Suites also include an oversized living room, a marble bathroom and feather duvet/pillows.

Features

The InterContinental Barclay features a full fitness center with cardiovascular and circuit-training equipment, plus saunas and steam rooms. In-room massage service is also available.

Dining
Dining is a highlight at Barclay Bar and Grill, serving American and Continental cuisine breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business

  • More than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, plus catering services (fees apply)
  • A 24/7 staffed business center with services and PC access (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access in hotel lobby and in Barclay Bar and Grill

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business centre
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9744
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.80, MI, SE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI, NE; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 km
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 km
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 km
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 km
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 km
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 km
  • International Building: 0.4 km
  • Lever House: 0.5 km
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 km
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 km
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 km
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.5 km
  • Paley Park: 0.5 km
  • GE Building: 0.6 km
  • Diamond District: 0.6 km
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 km
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 km
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 km
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 km
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 km
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 km
  • International Building: 0.4 km
  • Lever House: 0.5 km
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 km
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 km
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 km
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.5 km
  • Paley Park: 0.5 km
  • GE Building: 0.6 km
  • Diamond District: 0.6 km
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 km
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 km
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 km
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 km
  • Sony Building: 0.6 km
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.7 km
  • University Club: 0.7 km
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 km
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 km
  • CBS Building: 0.7 km
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 km
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 km
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 km
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 km
  • East Side: 0.7 km
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 km
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.8 km
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.8 km
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.8 km
  • Cort Theatre: 0.8 km
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.8 km
  • Bryant Park: 0.8 km
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.9 km
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 km
  • Town Hall: 0.9 km
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 km
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 km
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.9 km

Dining

Barclay Bar & Grill
The Barclay Bar and Grill provides American and French influenced Continental cuisine in an informal dining atmosphere under the culinary leadership of Executive Chef Serge Devesa. Open seven days from 7.00am to 10.30pm. The BBG is known for its Natural P
A Voce
Modern Italian, at the Time Warner Center
Ca Va
French Theatre district restaurant
Aquavit
Scandinavian
Fig & Olive
Mediterranean
Marea
Italian seafood
Pampano
Veracruz style seafood from Chef Richard Sandoval and owner Placido Domingo.
Casa Lever
Contemparary italian in a landmark building.
Seafire Grill
Contemporary American Seafood, the Seafire Grill lends the perfect balance to refined cuisine, chic décor, and impeccable service. The restaurant focus is the clean and honest presentation of the highest quality locally sourced seafood, predominantly seaf
Barclay Bar
The buzz of New York City can be felt every evening in the Barclay Bar, a comfortable lounge where you can relax and unwind after a busy day in the city. Our friendly mixologists, led by Jose Torrella, prepare seasonal cocktails, refreshing elixirs, and m

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Overall score

4.2 / 5
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

3
doggy mom
florida
15 Apr 2014

Great hotel but overpriced

I loved this hotel the locations was fantastic when you walk inside you can certainly see it's not an ordinary hotel. The only things that will keep me from coming back is that for 300.00 a night I expected more of the rooms. The rooms were pretty but nothing special not for that price. I can get a 150 dollar hotel here in the US and Italy and get a very clean hotel with a nice vestibule and have a kitchenette and living room. You have to pay for wifi, I couldn't believe it. No microwave I know it's small and may be cheesy but I had a friend come with us and she's on a special diet so instead of being able to heat her oatmeal and special prescription type diet food we had to comb the city looking for a place where she could eat. I enjoyed my stay but knowing what I know now I won't stay here again or recommend it. You just don't get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
GUY531
Chicago
31 Mar 2014

birthday celebration

We went for my daughter's 21st birthday to nyc. the rooms are really nice. The location is great and the staff very nice and helpful. the hotel lobby is a little dated but that is a very minor issue. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
Donzai
Business
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
25 Mar 2014

intercontinental hotel

The experience was excellent.. The only issue was having to pay for Internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to subway & Grand Central station to go anywhere.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
kanga1102
Piedmont, SC
12 Mar 2014

Perfect location, luxurious

The hotel was beautiful and the room comfortable. I love staying in historic hotels that have a cozy feel to them. It is wonderful that, even with the shades drawn, I knew where I was because it didn't look like every other hotel in the chain. The location was perfect - a few short blocks from Grand Central, which made the subway very accessible. The staff was incredibly helpful as well - hailing a cab was a simple matter of talking to the doorman. I'm a native NYer living in SC, and I will be using this hotel the next time I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have an unfilled hour? Take the short walk to Grand Central! It's not usually something people think to do in NYC, but it is a work of art, inside and out.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
Heberuru
Miami, Florida
9 Mar 2014

Great Option

Great Hotel, Great Location. Will definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Room Service Awesome Thai Restaurant and Really Cheap

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
abarb
MA
27 Feb 2014

nice place to stay

The location was great. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We are going back again in 3 weeks and so glad I booked it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarabeths for brunch

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
Flossy Fearnley
Portsmouth, England
24 Feb 2014

New York break

Great hotel in a good location, staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant a bit pricey as was the mini bar but plenty of places to eat nearby. Would recommend Ruby Tuesday,s in Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try walking the High Line from the Meat Packing district, well worth it on a sunny day.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

5
cyclo touring
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 Feb 2014

Perfec stay in NYC!

Excelent hotel midtown, close to many attractions. We love the service, especially the Conciergerie, where Dominic and Julieta were very attentive and helpful. Classic hotel with large rooms, clean. Sure we will be there again next time in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Doune & Reade one block distance, in Lexington X 47th St.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
Wiesbaden Bob
Orange Park, FL
23 Dec 2013

Great location for Broadway and the UN

This property is a classic that has been well preserved and renewed. With one small oddity...unlike most hotels with almost instant hot water, this shower can take a few minutes to warm up. The bed was the most comfortable we have experienced. The staff was helpful and on top of any request. Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid the worst of the street noise. During the evening rush to dinner and the theatre, rely on the doormen to get you a cab rather than wandering around the street trying to flag one down. It may take some time to get a cab, but let the doorman get it--and then tip him. Or, ask them to flag a "black car" and negotiate a price with the perfectly legal limo driver and you will probably be on your way more quickly for just a few dollars more than a yellow cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you really feel like paying through the nose for your morning bagel or eggs and bacon, go out the front door of the hotel, turn left, turn right at the corner and have breakfast cooked to order at the deli.

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK BARCLAY

Reviewer score

4
Bensie
Atlanta, GA
16 Dec 2013

Holiday Visit

I've been staying at the "Barclay" for over 30 years . I miss the "Bird Cage", but the place, the bar and the dining room are still 4.0. One disappointment was witnessing a somewhat surly busman in the dining room at Saturday brunch...not to us but to the hostess who asked him to make up a table. I thought that was a busman's job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes