€148.16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 17 Aug 2014 Check-out 18 Aug 2014

The Roger Smith

3 stars
501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
83 reviews
Lovely boutique style hotel

The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and friendly. Although I am a West... See full review

  • Skidmore parent
  • 30 Jun 2014
A hidden gem!

I spent the longest time searching for an affordable hotel in Manhattan for my family's visit.... See full review

  • Stoneyend77
  • 20 Apr 2013
Quaint New England boutique off Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan

New England-style coziness has a home in the city at The Roger Smith. Guest rooms and suites offer a breath of fresh air with creamy-colored palettes, a soft atmosphere and homey touches such as a collection of books for bedside reading. Thought-provoking artwork and potted plants create easy comfort throughout the hotel. Yet the boutique Roger Smith is in the heart of Manhattan, only a block from Park Avenue and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows and Central Park. 

Highlights

  • Seasonal rooftop bar with a stellar city view
  • Home-style New England comfort in the city with light and fresh guest rooms and suites
  • Walk to the most famous Manhattan sights, including Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, from the convenient location

Location

Located only a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown east Manhattan, The Roger Smith is more than convenient. Walk to Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center, all nearby. A subway station is several blocks north.

Rooms

Feel at home in the 130 lovely guest rooms and suites at Roger Smith, with a fresh, light and airy atmosphere and a touch of elegant New-England-farmhouse charm. Enjoy a collection of books in every room, plus free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, a cable TV, a mini refrigerator, a coffee-maker, an iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. Junior, one-bedroom and deluxe (with two bedrooms) suites add plenty of extra space -- including a living room, a dining room table and a full kitchenette in the bedroom suites.

Features

The Roger Smith features Lily's Bar and Restaurant, serving breakfast, brunch (weekends), lunch and dinner and known for its fresh American cuisine and seasonal daily specials. Henry's Rooftop Bar (open seasonally) turns evening into an affair to remember, with Manhattan skyscraper views. 

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Five event-space venues, including Lily's Restaurant, the Starlight Loft and the 16th floor penthouse suite (fees apply)

The Roger Smith Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms features with 2 double beds or 1 king bed with the following amenities: Complimentary wireless Internet Access, Telephones with private voicemail, (free local/800 calls!!), Coffee maker, Mini-refrigerator, Iron/ironing board, Kitcheonettes with Mini-bar (suites only), Book collections, TV/VCR, Full cable access, and Hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger Smith also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7548 -73.9736
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy 17.9 Miles ETA: 45 min , Newark 17.4 miles ETA: 45 min , and La Guardia 8.7 miles
Area description
Centrally located in East Midtown Manhattan, on 47th Street and Lexington Avenue, the Roger Smith Hotel is conveniently located in short walking distance of the following landmarks and attractions: Chrysler Building, Grand Central Terminal, MOMA (Museum of Modern Art), Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the United Nations Building East just to name a few.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 km
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 km
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 km
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 km
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 km
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 km
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 km
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 km
  • Lever House: 0.5 km
  • International Building: 0.6 km
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 km
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 km
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 km
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 km
  • Paley Park: 0.6 km
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 km
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 km
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 km
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 km
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 km
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 km
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 km
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 km
  • Lever House: 0.5 km
  • International Building: 0.6 km
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 km
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 km
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 km
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 km
  • Paley Park: 0.6 km
  • East Side: 0.6 km
  • Diamond District: 0.7 km
  • GE Building: 0.7 km
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 km
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 km
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 km
  • Sony Building: 0.7 km
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.8 km
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.8 km
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 km
  • University Club: 0.8 km
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.8 km
  • CBS Building: 0.8 km
  • Henri Bendel: 0.8 km
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.8 km
  • American Craft Museum: 0.9 km
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.9 km
  • Trump Tower: 0.9 km
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.9 km
  • Bryant Park: 0.9 km
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.9 km
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.9 km
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.9 km
  • Murray Hill: 0.9 km
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 km
  • Cort Theatre: 0.9 km
  • Town Hall: 0.9 km
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.9 km

Dining

Lily's: The Art of Food:
Floor-to-ceiling murals, sculpted bronze statues, and glass etchings are just a few of the bold and imaginative examples of decorative art to flourish in Lily’s, providing the perfect stage for the gourmet talents of Food and Beverage Director Ulrika Bengtsson and Chef de Cuisine Daniel Mowles. Lily’s features live entertainment and a menu of contemporary American cuisine making this a colorful, casual spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Citizen403
Business
New York
18 Nov 2012

Roger Smith Hotel

Old building not updated. Mangy carpeting all over. HVAC was awful. I turned on the heat and went to relax. After a while I thought, oh no, it's raining very hard. But it sounded too loud. I got up and there was water running all over the floor from the HVAC unit. I had to turn it off and had no heat that night. They fixed it the next day but the temperature could not be adjusted. I'd rather have no heat than be hot. This place should be avoided. Shower water temp varies. Lobby is awful. The Roger Smith is beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nino's Positano good Italian food

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee super hubby
Northern VA
30 Oct 2012

nice place, not nice a/c

nice hotel, clean room, interesting shower, great location, nice staff. the problem was the ac that did not work and the room was hot. the street was too noisy to open the window. the staff tried. but ... (no noise problem with the window close) i would still stay there again. and they closed lexington on saturday morning for a huge flea market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you can not get a taxi to take you uptown, don't tell them, just get in the cab, once you are in the cab, they have to take you. and leave early if a hurricane is coming.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpaceCadet Starfire
Greensboro, NC
17 Oct 2012

The Roger Smith was a pleasant surprise.

We were delighted with our stay at The Roger Smith with a few exceptions. The rooftop bar was closed for some reason, as was the bar next to the lobby, and the elevators were too small to accommodate a wheelchair. Fortunately my friend was able to stand for the ride up to our floor, but it could have been very awkward to have to use the service elevator or something all the time. Otherwise, the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was heavenly, and the bathroom was like out of a movie set. Quaint is a word that comes to mind here. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a deli across the street and under the Manhattan Athletic Club that has a wide variety of food for reasonable prices. Their Rasberry Chocolate coffe is to die for.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler and explorer
North Carolina
2 Oct 2012

Trip for job interview

The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. We had difficulty with internet access, but on the whole, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some nice dining places nearby.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Newyorker
Illinois
24 Sep 2012

One free day

It is a nice stay. Great location, convenient for everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
11 Sep 2012

Good choice in midtown east!

Nice staff and a lots of nice features in terms of furniture in the rooms. Two comfortable high backed armchairs..a good large desk...plenty of drawer space for clothes in the large bureau. Nice lighting. Comfortable bed with good linens and pillow. Not "hip"...it is confortable hotel that calls back to another time even while it has it's modern rooftop bar and also adjoining bar/bistro on the street. Not expensive at all compared to the choices right up lexington. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average Student
Philadelphia, PA
4 Sep 2012

Good location, bad amenities

We booked a room that included two double beds, but ended up receiving a king bed. While they called it an upgrade, a king bed certainly doesn't fit 3 people as well as two separate beds. Only upon request did we receive a complimentary roll-out bed, which was uncomfortable and flimsy. The great thing about Roger Smith is its location, however. We were able to walk quickly around Midtown to Rockefeller Center and Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Srinivas
King of Prussia, PA
6 Aug 2012

Roger Smith is awesome!!

Lady at the front desk is awesome - she helped my family with a great upgrade and she is wonderful to understand my situation. Its great location and worth the price. Me and my parents had a fantastic experience! Thank you roger smith and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KL law student
Connecticut
2 Jul 2012

Walking distance from Grand Central

I booked a room with two full beds and at first they put us in a room with only one bed so when we went back down to the lobby to remedy the situation, one of the employees started to give us attitude and was making it seem like we were just going to have to "deal with it." Then the other man, I think he was the manager, took care of the situation. Very nice man, he upgraded us to a jr. suite for no extra charge!! The only other thing worth noting is that the room was on the warm side. It did have air conditioning, but I was really hot and didn't sleep that well. It also was in the 90s outside so that might have something to do with it. Overall good stay, only a few blocks from grand central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuneBugg02
Chantilly, VA
25 Jun 2012

Great hotel

Great location - we were able to walk to most attractions. My daughter and I were traveling together, and this hotel offers a room with 2 double beds, which was perfect for us. The only negative, is that the a/c did not cool the room as much as I like, but it was certainly tolerable, and overall, well worth the price. The room was very clean and comfortable - toiletries and hair dryer provided. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes