€153.31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Jun 2015 Check-out 22 Jun 2015

The Roger Smith

3 stars
View map of 501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCTravellerFromBoston
Business
Boston, Ma
30 Jun 2014

Excellent Location and Big rooms

Excellent location and comfortable big rooms.The suite was as big as a 1BR apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosebags
Business
London UK
27 Jun 2014

OK hotel in good location

i didnt want to spend $400+ on a one night stay but wanted a nice comfortable bed and a good shower. The lobby is pretty old and tatty and the reception staff were pretty good, checking me in quickly. The bellman was not around very much so took my own bags which was not a problem. The room was quite old looking and the a/c was 1970's i think but it still worked so i cant complain too much but be aware of it. the bed was very comfortable though and sheets were all clean and white and the shower looked amazing. The water flow was pretty poor though but amenities were good and plenty of nice clean towels All in all a decent value hotel but it needs a makeover !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunnies are great pets
Business
San Diego, CA
2 Jun 2014

Graduation for our daughter

We were impressed with the room, very large for New York!! Loved the roof top bar. Staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogurt Lover
Business
Trenton, NJ
30 Sep 2013

Free yogurt! Awesome

Spacious room. Great location. Free yogurt and granola, need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diveski
Business
syracuse
25 Jun 2013

visiting NYC

ok, clean, friendly, great location, nice roof top bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scarpe nere
Business
Newburyport, MA
21 May 2013

needs refurbishing

The hotel has a welcoming feel, and the staff were very friendly. Bedding was up to date (comforter and duvet). However, the air conditioner/heating unit made an annoying low hum that would not stop, and there were no open electrical outlets for recharging electronics. Larger room that most NYC hotels, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoneyend77
Business
West Hartford, CT
20 Apr 2013

A hidden gem!

I spent the longest time searching for an affordable hotel in Manhattan for my family's visit. After weeks of looking, I found the Roger Smith. When we arrived at the hotel, the very friendly staff member offered us a free upgrade to a king suite! We couldn't believe our luck, but I also thought it would be a poor excuse for a king suite. Boy, was I wrong. We had a beautiful hotel room with full size living room and kitchenette. The hotel also offered a free small breakfast of granola, yogurt and apples. The only thing missing from the hotel was a restaurant, which wasn't a big deal for us. The location is conveniently right off the Lexington Avenue entrance of Grand Central Station. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henb
Business
Baltimore
3 Dec 2012

Old school, great location

Very nice older property, clean, smallish rooms but nice layout. Shower temps a bit quirky. Perfect for rock center and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Holiday purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Citizen403
Business
New York
18 Nov 2012

Roger Smith Hotel

Old building not updated. Mangy carpeting all over. HVAC was awful. I turned on the heat and went to relax. After a while I thought, oh no, it's raining very hard. But it sounded too loud. I got up and there was water running all over the floor from the HVAC unit. I had to turn it off and had no heat that night. They fixed it the next day but the temperature could not be adjusted. I'd rather have no heat than be hot. This place should be avoided. Shower water temp varies. Lobby is awful. The Roger Smith is beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Holiday purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nino's Positano good Italian food

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee super hubby
Business
Northern VA
30 Oct 2012

nice place, not nice a/c

nice hotel, clean room, interesting shower, great location, nice staff. the problem was the ac that did not work and the room was hot. the street was too noisy to open the window. the staff tried. but ... (no noise problem with the window close) i would still stay there again. and they closed lexington on saturday morning for a huge flea market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Holiday purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you can not get a taxi to take you uptown, don't tell them, just get in the cab, once you are in the cab, they have to take you. and leave early if a hurricane is coming.

Back to menu Return to top
  • * includes taxes