"Not a good start with rude reception staff and being told there is a $5 per bag charge for them to look after your bag until check in. Once we che ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 07 Oct 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the heart of New York, within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like Penn Station and Macy's. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant and a 24-hour business centre.

TVs with cable channels are featured in all 1705 rooms, and you can enjoy WiFi, hairdryers, and irons/ironing boards.

The restaurant, Statler Grill, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Other amenities include a fitness centre, WiFi in public areas, and a coffee shop/café. Each morning buffet breakfast is available. There's also valet parking, along with the convenience of car rentals on site.

Attractions within a 15-minute walk of this Midtown hotel include Empire State Building and Times Square.

Classic Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
€84 per night

Classic Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Double Beds (Penn 5000)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Classic Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Classic Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Classic Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Hotel Pennsylvania ratings based on 408 verified reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Expensive hotel with low standards.I never recommend to my friends.

Posted by on 8 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Apr 2018 by Charlie Kim

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to par. We appreciate the feedback and will utilize this to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your time and have a great day!

1 out of 5

Just don’t do it

This place is like a tramps shoe, it is disgusting, mucky, worn out and dreadful.

Posted by , from uk on 4 Dec 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by Front Office

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2 out of 5

Poor

Tv wouldn’t work dirty shower, only super hot water would run so couldn’t shower and then we were advised against using the water as it was apparently contaminated.

Posted by on 23 Nov 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by Front Office

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4 out of 5

Basic but clean hotel in great location

Not a good start with rude reception staff and being told there is a $5 per bag charge for them to look after your bag until check in. Once we checked in lovely lady gave us info and large bed. Then found room was basic but clean with comfy bed and strong hot shower. Great location 15 min walk from Times Square and 1 min walk from subway where you can get to anywhere in NYC for $2.75. Would recommend staying here for cheap room if your out all day exploring like we were.

Posted by , from Essex, England on 7 Oct 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

3 out of 5

Booked for location

Booked a Penn 5000 room not convinced that is what we got but had nothing to complain it to if this was a up grade hate to think what standard rooms were like

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

4 out of 5

Ok

Second of two nights got the correct room this time

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback with us! I will sure to share your kind words with our team as well. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

2 out of 5

No room available

Just returned to this hotel after trip to Washington booked a pen 5000 room none available even though booked way in advance ended up in bad twin

Posted by on 28 Sep 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Oct 2017 by C. Garcia

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We're glad to see that you noticed our convenient location, and hope you were able to take full advantage of that. Again, we welcome your feedback and hope to see you soon! Hotel Pennsylvania

1 out of 5

broken window with terrible ice cold draught DIRTY

Pros: LOCATION
Cons: GOOD CLEAN AND PAINT JOB
Location: MINS FROM TIMES SQ,
Our bedroom was on the 11th floor, all over us to book in but guy serving his sleeves and cuffs were actually black with ingrained dirt , Their friendliness ends once they get payment after that forget it...... the location was ok suited us but FILLED SWAMPED INFESTED WITH VERY VERY AGGRESSIVE AND HOSTILE BEGGING..... Our room was on the 11th floor with a broken window in DEC with ice cold wind blowing in that despite asking for it to be fixed I had to block it with rolled up towels.and I ended up going in their door fit and healthy left with a nasty flu and then chest infection..... The bathroom for such a hotel was disgusting... old gone yellow what was white paint work chipped... dirt ingrained around the edges, I was just waiting for cockroaches or similar to crawl out..... It was lucky we got a discount by booking on ebookers due to the fact we also booked fliughts otherwise our stay would have been close to 1600 dollars To be 100pc honest I have stayed in better travel lodges that were cleaner cheaper friendly helpful and actually cared about their guests...WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

Posted by , from Ireland on 6 Jan 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Apr 2017 by C. Garcia Santiago

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Pennsylvania Hotel. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. Again, we welcome your feedback and are very sorry for all inconveniences you experienced. Thank you, Hotel Pennsylvania

1 out of 5

very very very.... disappointing (filthy)

Pros: The central location, the doors of the room (original design)
Cons: Refresh the hotel, paint, carpet, smell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'll pass over the not so friendly reception staff... and only focus on one thing : the filthy aspect of the hotel. I am not talking about clean bathroom, clearly the staff seems to do their work properly, toilets are ok, linen seemed clean, but ....the carpet, the all painting, the artificial smell (to cover something?) ... my goodness that is 1950 too....... Frankly keeping the style of the hotel to it's original look I respect, but clearly no investment has been made to bring it to a decent standard, honestly for the price I was really disappointed.... if not shocked !

Posted by on 20 Nov 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Apr 2017 by C Garcia Santiago

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Pennsylvania Hotel. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. Again, we welcome your feedback and are very sorry for all inconveniences you experienced. Thank you, Hotel Pennsylvania

5 out of 5

Family trip

the hotel was in a good location and the room was small and clean all the staff were very friendly to us I had a good time and would go back

Posted by on 22 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Hotel Pennsylvania

Location 401 7th Ave, New York, NY 10001

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. A computer station is on site and WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Business amenities include A 24-hr business centre and meeting rooms. A fitness centre, tour or ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly Hotel Pennsylvania. Parking is available for a fee.

  • 1705 guestrooms or units
  • 26 levels
  • 10 conference rooms
  • Dining venue
  • Coffee shop
  • Business centre (24 hours)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • On-site shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Lift

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Newark, NJ (EWR-Liberty Intl.) (27.4 km / 17 mi)
  • Train station: New York W 32nd St. Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Metro station: 34 St. - Penn Station (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Hotel Pennsylvania offers 1705 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit and complimentary toiletries. New York's hotel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily.

Statler Grill – This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

City Perk – This café only serves light fare. Open 24 hours.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness centre. The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 12 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 25.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets: USD 25.00 per pet, per stay
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD100 per stay

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • Resort fee

The resort fee includes:

  • Breakfast

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD10 and USD20 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 14.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 20 per night (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD53 per day
  • Pet fee: USD25.00 per pet, per stay
  • Refrigerator fee: USD35 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD25.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Pennsylvania New York
  • Hotel Pennsylvania
  • Pennsylvania New York
  • Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
  • Hotel New Pennsylvania York
  • Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
  • Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc

You should know

  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.
  • Children 12 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply (please see the Fees section for related charges). To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.